We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good exhibition let down by staff”

Blaenavon World Heritage Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Blaenavon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World Heritage Centre is situated in Blaenavon itself, within the historic former St. Peter’s Church School, founded in 1816, and is the starting point for your visit to the whole Blaenavon World Heritage Site. The former heavy industries left their mark on the environment, which is full of hidden treasures to be discovered after learning what this incredible valley has to offer. St Peter's School, founded by Sarah Hopkins for the education of iron workers' children was the first school of its type in Wales. The visitor (whether tourist or group organiser) will find information on the World Heritage Site, its history and how it can be viewed today as well as a Tourist Information Centre. The main exhibition follows the words of historical characters so that visitors can gain an insight into the daily lives of ordinary people and understand the changes that they experienced during the 19th century. Self-led visits to explore the Blaenavon World Heritage Centre are free of charge.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Having visited the Big Pit and Ironworks where the guides at both were excellent (friendly and informative with a real passion for their respective attractions) we went to the Visitor Centre. Unfortunately at the Visitor Centre the staff ignored us completely and seemed totally disinterested, preferring to chat between themselves. The exhibitions themselves are very interesting and of a high standard however from our experience I would suggest you are unlikely to get a warm welcome. In my opinion, as there is so much else in the area this is one attraction to miss.

Thank 235Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing the World Heritage Centre, I'm glad you found the exhibitions interesting.
I am very sorry you are not so happy with the customer service you encountered. If you could let me know via tim.davies@torfaen.gov.uk what date and time you visited I will investigate further as we are normally highly praised for our staffs' helpfulness. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

fun for all the family and very informative. gives the history of blaenavon in a well presented way. there are interactive screens through out and various things for all the family. I recommend making a day of it and going to see big pit, which is a free mining attraction with underground tour, and if it's dry going to see blaenavon iornworks to get more expirience and to see the industry's thaty were part of life in blaenavon. a full day out for all the family in blaenavon.

1  Thank williamskdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing the World Heritage Centre and I'm glad you thought it informative and suitable for all the family. We're working harder to make it more of a family attraction and most people seem to be enjoying the dressing up. Yur suggestion of The WHC and Big Pit is a good one, and the Ironworks is of course the reason that Blaenavon exists! We can help here with suggested itineraries either on the day or in advance of a visit. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Blaenavon is well known for the unique and exciting experience of going underground at Big Pit: National Mining Museum but did you know that there are many other adventures awaiting you in Blaenavon?

You can walk through the steam as you get on the train or feel the wind in your hair as you cycle across the hilltops. As you walk through the Industrial Landscape you may find remnants of the area’s industrial past, or see a Red Kite or paraglider high in the sky riding the thermals. If you stroll around the town you will meet friendly locals who love the area - many of whom have ancestors that helped build this community through the iron and coal industries.

No two visits to Blaenavon need be the same – there are events throughout the year as well as exhibitions, talks and walks to join. Here we are giving you some ideas of what you might explore

Thank IcanMakeYouRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the wider Blaenavon World Heritage Site. There is indeed a great deal to do here and starting at the World Heritage Centre will give visitors the chance to learn more about the history of the town and its development. We can then provide itineraries to see the sites of greatest interest, whether industrial remains or dramatic landscapes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a lovely little visitor centre. It has one purpose in mind, explaining the story of Blaenavon, its history and people, and it does that incredibly well. I found myself going round the room reading the timeline and events on the wall before settling down and playing with the interactive screens. And yes I couldn’t make ends me. A good hour well spent and much appreciate how abused these people were.

Thank 2Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the World Heritage Centre and we're delighted you thought it so good. We do encourage visitors to Blaenavon to visit us first so they can better understand the context of the other attractions in the area and the harsh life that many of Blaenavon's past inhabitants experienced. More interpretation is being installed in the next few weeks so we hope you will return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent a day in Blaenavon visiting the town and various attractions. This is the place to start for all the information you need, maps etc. However the only parking directly outside is for disabled persons. We parked up the hill at the Ironworks and walked down to the Heritage centre.

The heritage centre has a lovely cafe with great views, we had a light lunch here which was freshly prepared and excellent value for money.

It has an introductory film which explains all about how important the area was at the start of the industrial revolution, then there is a room with a timeline giving you information about the local history right up to the present day.

Thank karenjaynecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlaenavonWHC, Manager at Blaenavon World Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We strongly suggest that all visitors do start their tour of Blaenavon and its attractions here so the whole World heritage Site is put into context and aids enjoyment and understanding. Our cafe is always popular and especially so on sunny days with such stunning views!

More interpretation is being installed in the next few weeks so p,ease do come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blaenavon World Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Blaenavon World Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing