We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Masons Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryncethin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masons Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Bryncethin B&B and Inns
Armagh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really good one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 Night on Business. From the front the Masons looks like any other small Pub. However, it has a really nice Lounge and a fantastic spcaious Restaurant through to the rear. The Bedrooms are all en-suite and are very comfortable and well finished with modern bathroom and Shower. The food is excellent as is the Breajfast. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmaghArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

As always a pleasurable lunch at the masons. We have been coming for years and we have never been disappointed. Food excellent and service always first rate. Always lots of choice and delicious. Surroundings very nice and tasteful. We Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently went to the restaurant at the Mason's Arms for a family birthday celebration. The decor and setting of the restaurant was good. Staff were also friendly and helpful. Food was quite expensive for the quality. Portions were generous and there were some dishes of chips and sautéed potatoes untouched.

The food was nice but not fantastic. My only issues was the starter. I had tomato soup which was not good. It was watery and bitter.,

Overall, food was fine but it wasn't good enough to make me rush back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgendrachel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Plenty of beef on the plate, though not as many vegetables as I'd hoped for a family of 4 adults. Despite this, the food was absolutely delicious and piping hot. Service was very slow though and we had to ask for gravy. The staff seemed to be run of their feet, though they were always polite.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were a party of five and I was particularly keen to visit this pub as it was a Favorited haunt of my father's and my Uncle Peter in the early 1950s.

Parking is a bit of a problem but we found somewhere near enough. Maybe there is a car park we could not locate so sorry if I missed it.

Again the most striking thing here as in all of the pubs and restaurants we have visited in the area is the exceptional and very real warmth of people's welcome and the service.

Prices first... Very good. We are used to eating in Monmouthshire where prices are completely silly. Such a nice change to feel like you are getting value for money and a good meal. Here you get both.

The food is very good at the Mason's Arms. I was a little disappointed that they had 'run out of' the T Bone even though we were dining early but there was plenty of choice. Portions are generous though I don't really rate quality of a dining experience by size it is nice to have enough.

I like also that the place is welcoming to children Ours are grown now but it is always nice to see families with well behaved children eating out together.

Only one criticism really... The whole fish knife thing.... I have to say there are three things that really, really annoy me in life... The first is Nuclear Proliferation, the second is people who hold their knives like a pen and the thirds is being given what is commonly referred to as a 'fish knife' with any meal even remotely connected to sea life.

I had scallops (the first 'a' incidentally is pronounced 'o')... There were absolutely delicious but why the fish knife??? It's the same with smoked salmon.... Have you ever tried to cut smoked salmon with a 'fish knife'... or scallops for that matter?

Please Mason's Arms stop with fish knives for prawns, scallops etc... fine with a bit of trout or sole or anything wot needs taking off the bone.... That is what it is for... I mention this only becasue when given a fish knife by the very nice waither I asked for an ordinary knife only to be told I should use the fish knife. I hadn't the heart to correct him.

I'd certainly eat here again... If they will have me back. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f04222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Visited family and at the last minute we all decided that we would go out for a meal and phoned the Mason's Arms and booked a table. When we arrived we were disappointed by the exterior of the building and the very small car park but parked the car over the road in the lane. We originally walked into the bar and thought what had we come to (our family who lived here had never been to the hotel before either),the lounge was a little better with friendly people sitting and chatting but when we reached the restaurant we were really shocked at how smart and elegant the room was. A very friendly waiter showed us to our table and came back for our drinks order while we read the menu, we later ordered our food and waited and chatted. The dining area was full with couples, families, and a couple of large parties. There was a wait for the food as it's cooked to order but it's well worth the wait the portions were bigger than normal and was really hot.The staff are all very polite and are constantly on the go, asking if you need anything, or if everything is all right, by the time we left they all looked exhausted. We would have another meal here but the owners should consider smarting up the outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trandy1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I keep going to this pub because the food is excellent, i don't know what the rooms are like but judging by the staff and well presented food and clean well managed restaurant, I would predict them to be in good order, I am struggling to find somewhere that is better than mason arms, because this place is the best around

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffour_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryncethin
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
2.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms Hotel

Property: Masons Arms Hotel
Address: Bridgend, Bryncethin CF32 9YR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bryncethin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bryncethin
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing