We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Groes-faen
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“tired decor”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed one night in room 21. The room was a good size, bed was firm but comfortable, no lumps & bumps.
The kettle was on top of a tall chest of drawers & nowhere near a socket, so making tea was a bit of a problem as the kettle had to stand on the floor! The room locked with a traditional key, so had to remember to re-lock on leaving.
The staff were without exception cheerful and polite.
The breakfast selection was good, plenty of choice.
I was disappointed with the decor, faded stained carpet, cheap framed prints, peeling paint on the woodwork and bedside tables long overdue a trip to the tip or french polishers (see photo's). I found the fake block walls in the hallways a bit strange, but that's probably a matter of taste.
The building itself and it's surroundings were fabulous.

Room Tip: room 27 - lovely suite with four poster bed. Room sizes vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    128
    86
    75
    61
See reviews for
130
188
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Having booked one of the Cottages - slightly disappointed to find a standard double room with bath. Room 42 - none of the windows opened, hot water tap broken, and paint drips in the bath, television not tuned to all the channels advertised.

£5.00 charge for having breakfast in your room - never had this before in any of the hotels we have stayed in around the UK. Once the breakfast arrived, coffee was cold, toast was colder and the full english breakfast differed each time.

No direct access from the "Cottages" to the main hotel which is okay if the sun is out, but with our typical bad weather not easy to get into the hotel and keep dry.

Rates charged per night do not unfortunately match the standards on offer.

Room Tip: Unfortunately the Miskin Manor is close to the M4 - constant noise even if you were able to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueyoung12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Having booked into the hotel, we were told on arrival that we'd be in one of the lodges. Which would have been ok if it had been habitable. It was in disrepair pretty much throughout the lodge. Window fittings were missing and it just needed going through and finishing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickbailey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groes-faen hotels

Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked a family room and a double bedded room for the weekend just gone. We went down for the rugby and were met in the evening by very welcoming staff after getting soaked in Cardiff. The lady on reception was very welcoming and booked us in quickly. Our room was number 30 which was lovely and big with plenty of room and two large beds, tea, coffee and biscuits waiting for us. There was a wedding going on in the main part of the hotel, but we didnt hear a thing and slept soundly in comfy beds. Lots of nice clean towels and a lovely large window to look out of in the morning. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning and they even cooked us fried eggs. All the staff were extremely helpful in the breakfast room and nothing was too much trouble. We had a delightful time and will be going back down to Miskin Manor again on the 21st Feb and I am hoping for good results once again. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, we first stayed there a year ago and although the price of the rooms had gone up by £40 for our stay this year, it is more or less the same cost for hotels in Cardiff city centre during rugby events. The rooms were very clean and very well equipped although the TV did keep going off after ten minutes watching, but that was no big deal..... We had full use of the spa if we wanted it, but sadly we didnt have time to take advantage, but I will next time. We were very happy with our stay there and thank you to all the staff that were on at the weekend, for making our stay enjoyable. No complaints from me, we were very happy.

Room Tip: Room 30 is also for disabled people. Plenty of room to move around and a disabled bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miskinmanagement, Front Office Manager at Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks JulieD for your very kind and complimentary review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and Number 30 is a lovely large room over looking the gardens with a splendid wet room.

Hopefully you enjoyed your next visit as much

Thank you again for your great reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location and staff are friendly. However, we stayed one night in early Feb and won't repeat the venture. Our room was very cold, despite heating being on, largely due to significant draughts from the windows; it also had stains in the ceiling presumably as a result of a leaking roof at some time. This was also the case when we were seated by the window in the dining room and we had to ask to be moved in order to escape the draught. The food was passable, although the bread rolls were very dry. When we mentioned being cold, different staff replied the same thing - "it's an old building". We have stayed in many buildings this old and this was certainly one of the coldest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miskinmanagement, Front Office Manager at Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you AlanR for your review, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We had experienced some very heavy weather during February as had the rest of the country and had sustained some damage.

This was in the process of being rectified when you stayed, if you were not happy with the bedroom I do wish that you had let us know and we would have gladly moved you.

I do hope that you will return to the Manor in the future maybe in the summertime when the gardens are glorious! WE do look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Was a ok room but in drastic need of a referb. for the price i expected a lot more. the bathroom was small. tolet seat was broken. The room looked nice but had we much nicer room at the vale hotel a few months previous for a lot cheaper. the miskin manor realy dosent live up to the £90 they charge per room

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ieuanb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miskinmanagement, Front Office Manager at Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for the review, however, I do wish that the guest would mention any issues with the hotel during their stay or on departure as we aim to rectify problems immediately.

Whilst we appreciate all comments be they positive or negative it can be difficult to act on the after the fact.

We thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I wrote to Miskin manor recently to let them know about our Christmas experience, but they did not have the courtesy to even reply or apologise.
Stayed at self-catering Lodge 3 over Christmas 2013 – paid £500 in advance for the lodge accommodation and also £440 for the Christmas Day lunch for 5 people. We stayed at Lodge 1 last year which was very pleasant.

We were very disappointed with our stay this time and level of service generally,unacceptable, not only because the lunch and accommodation is expensive, we expected a level of service and quality to match the amount charged. We also felt that we did not get what we paid for, it was not good value for our money and being over the Christmas week, which is a really special week, it actually ruined our Christmas break.
no quality control - we do not complain just for the sake of it. Lunch on Christmas Day - mediocre, nothing special,not up to the standard of an £88 per head dinner – it was similar to an average roast dinner served at a pub, not a gastro pub. The bottle of wine dumped on the table. This was really disappointing as it is up to the management to ensure you staff are trained - it was Christmas Day with no atmosphere at all.

When we came back to the hotel bar later to have a few drinks, my husband went over to the bar, it was not busy at all, when my husband asked for gin and tonic, he poured what looked like a brown drink into a glass to which my husband said politely, that’s not gin...the bar man wondered off and was doing something at the till for 20 mins and just ignored my husband and then left ...with my husband still standing there, then he realised and came back to serve him. shocking all round to be honest and we have a lot of visitors coming over this year from Africa and I won't recommend this place now.
very disappointing stay - what is worst, none of the staff seem to care, much more interested in taking customer’s funds asap, in advance and do not give back an appropriate service. It seems their main focus is on weddings at the expense of their other paying guests and those staying in the lodges are neglected, it is a great pity how the overall service and lack of warmth has let them down. We won't be back again.

Room Tip: Lodge 3, but check boiler works before checking in and unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miskinmanagement, Front Office Manager at Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your frank and detailed review.

Firstly I would like to apologise that you felt that you were neglected whilst staying in one of our Lodges. These are let purely on a self catering basis to afford the guest a little more privacy and freedom.

Regarding taking payment in advance it is normal practice to take full payment for self catering stays and also for lunch on Christmas Day and you would have been informed of this at the time of booking.

I apologise for the service that you received on Christmas night, I myself was on duty and should you have raised your issues at the time then they would have been dealt with promptly the same as with lunch on Christmas Day. We did receive a lot of complimentary comments from guests regarding their stay and lunch at Christmas.

We did have weddings going on on certain days during your stay, however, we always endevour to accommodate guests for lunch and dinner and being in a Lodge you should not have been disturbed by any noise.

Unfortunately the boiler in the lodge broke down on the first day of your stay and we moved you to another lodge for the night whilst it was repaired and then back into the original lodge once the repair was made.

We are sorry that you feel unable to return, however should you wish to then please do not hesitate to contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groes-faen
5.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
468 reviews
7.0 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
411 reviews
6.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 73 in Cardiff
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
2,330 reviews
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club

Property: Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Address: Pendoylan Road, Groes-faen, Pontyclun CF72 8ND, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun > Groes-faen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Groes-faen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miskin Manor is a hidden jewel in the crown of the Principality. Nestled in the heart of the Welsh countryside, yet just a few miles from the coast, the Manor is less than a mile from the M4. This stunning house, set in 22 glorious acres and blessed with a timeless ambiance, makes a delightful rural retreat in which to while away a peaceful and relaxing few days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miskin Manor
Miskin Manor Hotel
Miskin Manor Groes Faen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing