We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Function Venue that doesn't actually function very well.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Groes-faen
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Function Venue that doesn't actually function very well.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

When the owners acquired this place it was certainly run down [there are photographs of the place in a very distressed state] and they have invested a great deal of effort, time and money in bringing to life this lovely old building. The gardens are beautiful and the view from most of the windows is rural and verdant.

The old house is spread-out and rambles around, however it does offer a selection of rooms in which one may have a party, get-together, wedding reception or celebration. The potential was easy to see.

There's a Conference Centre nowadays, and a Health/Sport Centre. Everywhere, the staff are friendly and relaxed.

Maybe a little too relaxed, there is no sign of professionalism: no urgency. No sign of caring - just an assumption that all is well and that anyone who matters will be content.

In the bedroom [there is a choice from many types and styles of room] one takes chances.

Magazines to while away the time perhaps, should the minuscule television not attract? Well, a previous month's edition of Cardiff Life sat on the dressing table, next to Garden of June 2008 and one of February 2009.

The underside of the window cill shows plenty of resistance has been offered to intrusive damp: sadly the resistance has failed and corrective redecoration is long overdue.. The view through that particular window is one of grey slate: just grey slate.

The most uncomfortable bed offered a tired mattress collapsed on an oddly-configured slatted-base. The aged pillows have suffered long enough. The garish and soiled red cushions atop the bed are in dire need of attention from the housekeeper: too many hands and heads have rested thereupon.

The bathroom offers no toilet tissue holder, and only a basin-plug with a broken chain. The ancient leaded window has no catch and is moved by gusts of wind.

Oddly, in 2014 just a few miles from the capital city of Wales [i.e. Cardiff] there are signs warning that the tap water is not drinkable. Non-potable water is usually a sign of undeveloped areas, not of a modern, efficient hospitality operation.

The trouble is, the owning family obviously spent a lot when they bought it but not enough on maintenance and general upkeep. Management is/are not paying attention. The washroom facilities around the various function rooms are other areas needing urgent attention from the Housekeeper and the Maintenance team.

By the way, the Toaster in the breakfast room wasn't working. I could see this even though there were far too many non-working light bulbs.

Room Tip: Get one of the Cottage Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jethro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    121
    84
    74
    59
See reviews for
125
182
12
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed overnight at this establishment as we were attending a birthday party. I won't bore you with the details of the problems we encountered, apart from the fact that the toilet in our room would not flush and smelt very strongly of drains, as these were fairly minor compared with the total lack of interest in anyone at the hotel as to our dissatisfaction. I accept problems can occur but when a hotel shows absolutely no interest in trying to resolve anything, it should never have a 4-star rating. I am still waiting for a reply to my email 12 days after writing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groes-faen hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from a nights stay for my husbands birthday. This was our 2nd visit to the Manor and we were not disappointed. The food here is fantastic, i really don't understand negative comments re the food. I would love to know if the posters of these comments eat 5 star food at home every night? We had a lovely room, clean and very well decorated in fashion with the Manor, albeit a few issues with a broken flush for which were addressed. We have stayed in 5 star hotels worldwide so am well aware of what to expect and left a more than satisfied customer. we have used the Manor for corporate functions and for worldwide clients to stay,and have never had a complaint. We have stayed in the Celtic Manor too which is very modern and polished but if you want traditional and a bit more of a personal experience, you cant go wrong at Miskin Manor. A little tip - visit Llanerch Vineyard the other side of the M4 from Miskin during your stay to sample some Welsh wine, the Cariad sparking is better thank any champers i have tried.
If it wasnt for the toilet issue and slow bar service ( but in all fairness there was 2 wedding parties also staying) i would have given 5 star on my review.

Room Tip: Request one away from the wedding function rooms, otherwise you wont sleep before midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed overnight as wedding guests. This is a review of the room rather than the event itself (which was excellent - venue is lovely, great weather, good food - just a nice place to do it!)
However, the room itself was disappointing. It's a shame, as the room was huge and has so much potential being an old building with lots of character. The bed was creaky (you couldn't turn without a noise), the decor was tired and water marked, and the bathroom huge again - but having mouldy sealer is just not good enough for a £115 room. Tea and coffee facilities basic, and although i'm sure we could have asked for more there were only two milk portions.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
Think next time i'd get a taxi and stay in the travel inn down the road and be quids in!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chepstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited for afternoon tea on 9th April. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel lovely, and the drawing room where we were seated a lovely space to sit and chat and enjoy the afternoon.

We were looked after by Avril and the duty manager who I think was called Darren or David. Both were friendly, attentive and very helpful - 5 out of 5 for staff.

The spread was lovely, and they'd asked in advance if there were any special dietary requirements, We had a vegetarian in the party who had a separate plate of vegetarian sandwiches, which was a nice thought. The selection of cakes and sandwiches per person was generous.

I rated this four out of five for two reasons though. Firstly, although the tea was hot, fresh and plentiful, the choice of drink was between 'tea' and 'coffee'. It would have been nice to have had a choice of tea, even if if was a small choice between two or 3 fairly 'standard' teas.

Secondly, the scones were not at all fresh, I suspect they were at least a day old.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardifflassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The site itself is very nice and the hotel/bungalows outside are very nice and accommodating. The staff was friendly and catered to most needs on what was a very busy weekend. Would recommend for a nice big family gathering.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I know people can only go on what they experience but I honestly do not understand some of the reviews on this page? This place is wonderful. We visited on Sunday 23rd March for an early Mothers' Day Sunday lunch and were treated like royalty. As soon as we drove up outside our first impressions were that they place is magical.

The service was exceptional, the food exquisite and the surroundings were absolutely beautiful. We were even treated to a sneaky peek at a few of the rooms after simply asking the receptionist about a potential future booking - very kind. I would highly recommend the Miskin Manor for lunch or a stay as the rooms we looked at looked wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treblar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groes-faen
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
6.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#5 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.0 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club

Property: Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Address: Pendoylan Road, Groes-faen, Pontyclun CF72 8ND, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun > Groes-faen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Groes-faen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miskin Manor is a hidden jewel in the crown of the Principality. Nestled in the heart of the Welsh countryside, yet just a few miles from the coast, the Manor is less than a mile from the M4. This stunning house, set in 22 glorious acres and blessed with a timeless ambiance, makes a delightful rural retreat in which to while away a peaceful and relaxing few days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miskin Manor
Miskin Manor Hotel
Miskin Manor Groes Faen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing