We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Vale Resort(Hensol)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Village Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel(Caerphilly)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
225
138
96
76
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
138
96
76
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiskin manorafternoon teawedding venuecakeswedding receptionhealth clubevening meallovely groundsfour posterservice was excellentlovely roomfrom start to finishlast weekendwedding breakfastfood was lovelya lovely staybridal suite
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It would appear from my own recent stay plus reading other reviews that your experience at this hotel is totally dependent on your room allocation. When staying overnight with a friend recently we were unfortunately enough to have a room that had an overwhelming smell of drains. There were many niggling problems but the worst issue was the toilet only flushing intermittently then stopping flushing altogether the following morning. I emailed my concerns as soon as I got home but apart from an automatic acknowledgement, I have heard nothing. I think this sums up the total lack of interest or regard for people paying 4* prices for rooms that are patently not 4* quality and owners/managers who don't care.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 454Cardiffborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I visited the Miskin Manor Hotel on 13th May last to celebrate a friend's birthday with an afternoon tea. I must own that I approached the afternoon with some trepidation having read reviews of the afternoon tea at Miskin Manor on TripAdvisor. The welcome was very warm, and we were shown straight to our table where everything was prepared for our arrival. The tea was served as soon as we requested it. The sandwiches were very fresh, cut into fingers with crusts removed and served in good number and variety. All the cakes were home made, and of excellent quality, topped off with plain and fruit scones. There was a generous portion of clotted cream and jam to accompany the scones. One of the party was a vegetarian, and was very well catered for, in terms of both sandwiches and cakes, which were served on a separate 3-tier cake stand. We refilled the tea pots 4 times, and spent a leisurely 3 hours eating, drinking and chatting. The service was excellent - I could not fault it. It was unobtrusive, but as soon as you needed anything, there was a member of staff at your elbow to attend to whatever was needed. We only just managed to finish the sandwiches, but had to have a doggie bag for the cakes that we could not finish. For £15 per head, this was excellent value, and I would commend this experience to everyone celebrating a special occasion. If you were unlucky enough to experience some of the poorer quality teas as reported by other contributors, you would be very unlucky, as I feel that they are going to great lengths to make the experience memorable for the right reasons, and have seemingly taken all the negative comments on board. This is the second time that I have taken tea here within 18 months, and both occasions have been of a very high standard, and thoroughly enjoyed by all members of the party. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

When the owners acquired this place it was certainly run down [there are photographs of the place in a very distressed state] and they have invested a great deal of effort, time and money in bringing to life this lovely old building. The gardens are beautiful and the view from most of the windows is rural and verdant.

The old house is spread-out and rambles around, however it does offer a selection of rooms in which one may have a party, get-together, wedding reception or celebration. The potential was easy to see.

There's a Conference Centre nowadays, and a Health/Sport Centre. Everywhere, the staff are friendly and relaxed.

Maybe a little too relaxed, there is no sign of professionalism: no urgency. No sign of caring - just an assumption that all is well and that anyone who matters will be content.

In the bedroom [there is a choice from many types and styles of room] one takes chances.

Magazines to while away the time perhaps, should the minuscule television not attract? Well, a previous month's edition of Cardiff Life sat on the dressing table, next to Garden of June 2008 and one of February 2009.

The underside of the window cill shows plenty of resistance has been offered to intrusive damp: sadly the resistance has failed and corrective redecoration is long overdue.. The view through that particular window is one of grey slate: just grey slate.

The most uncomfortable bed offered a tired mattress collapsed on an oddly-configured slatted-base. The aged pillows have suffered long enough. The garish and soiled red cushions atop the bed are in dire need of attention from the housekeeper: too many hands and heads have rested thereupon.

The bathroom offers no toilet tissue holder, and only a basin-plug with a broken chain. The ancient leaded window has no catch and is moved by gusts of wind.

Oddly, in 2014 just a few miles from the capital city of Wales [i.e. Cardiff] there are signs warning that the tap water is not drinkable. Non-potable water is usually a sign of undeveloped areas, not of a modern, efficient hospitality operation.

The trouble is, the owning family obviously spent a lot when they bought it but not enough on maintenance and general upkeep. Management is/are not paying attention. The washroom facilities around the various function rooms are other areas needing urgent attention from the Housekeeper and the Maintenance team.

By the way, the Toaster in the breakfast room wasn't working. I could see this even though there were far too many non-working light bulbs.

Room Tip: Get one of the Cottage Rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jethro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed overnight at this establishment as we were attending a birthday party. I won't bore you with the details of the problems we encountered, apart from the fact that the toilet in our room would not flush and smelt very strongly of drains, as these were fairly minor compared with the total lack of interest in anyone at the hotel as to our dissatisfaction. I accept problems can occur but when a hotel shows absolutely no interest in trying to resolve anything, it should never have a 4-star rating. I am still waiting for a reply to my email 12 days after writing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from a nights stay for my husbands birthday. This was our 2nd visit to the Manor and we were not disappointed. The food here is fantastic, i really don't understand negative comments re the food. I would love to know if the posters of these comments eat 5 star food at home every night? We had a lovely room, clean and very well decorated in fashion with the Manor, albeit a few issues with a broken flush for which were addressed. We have stayed in 5 star hotels worldwide so am well aware of what to expect and left a more than satisfied customer. we have used the Manor for corporate functions and for worldwide clients to stay,and have never had a complaint. We have stayed in the Celtic Manor too which is very modern and polished but if you want traditional and a bit more of a personal experience, you cant go wrong at Miskin Manor. A little tip - visit Llanerch Vineyard the other side of the M4 from Miskin during your stay to sample some Welsh wine, the Cariad sparking is better thank any champers i have tried.
If it wasnt for the toilet issue and slow bar service ( but in all fairness there was 2 wedding parties also staying) i would have given 5 star on my review.

Room Tip: Request one away from the wedding function rooms, otherwise you wont sleep before midnight.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasha126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews