We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, lovely owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smokey Cot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groes-faen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smokey Cot
Ranked #1 of 1 Groes-faen B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent stay, lovely owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

After reading the great reviews we stayed at the Smokey Cot for two nights in July as we had a wedding to attend at the nearby Miskin Manor. Much like others we had a lovely stay. The house is very nice and set in a nice little village. Silent nights, fantastic breakfasts and lovely, friendly owners who even dropped us off at the Miskin Manor on their way into town. If you are heading to Miskin Manor or visiting Cardiff but don't want to stay in the centre, then you will not go wrong booking here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just stayed for two nights at Smokey Cottage we had a huge en suite room in a beautiful house with an excellent breakfast cooked and served by the very pleasant owners. It is fantastic value and l can recommend it!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights to see the Rugby League World Cup. All of the town centre places were booked, so we plumped for the nearest available accommodation with transport options, and were very glad to have found here. A lovely house in a quiet village, but it has a very good bus link into the city should you want to go; if you ask nicely, the driver might drop you off at the door!
The stay itself was great. We were welcomed even though it was late in the evening, and shown to our large room with a beautiful bathroom and rainfall shower. Spotlessly clean, and perfectly comfortable for a good night's sleep. Huge wardrobe. Breakfast in the mornings was tasty and filling.
Worth a stay if you're in the area, and don't be put off if you're heading further into Cardiff as it's no hassle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrIMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed there as we went to a wedding at miskin manor which is only a short 3 or 4 minute drive away. The rooms were very clean and the people lovely - even giving us a lift to miskin manor to collect or car which we left there b4 the wedding. The breakfast was also very good as stated by other reviews. I'm rating this taking into account the price-it is about half as much as that at miskin manor and having seen the rooms our friends stayed in there -just as good!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnisBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed early July when visiting family in the area. Easy reach of Cardiff 15/20 mins. Can confirm previous reviews. Breakfast was great. When visiting for the first time get directions from the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optiontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

A lovely welcome from elizabeth and stuart.This is a beautiful house that although looking brand new is in fact about 20 years old. It was fascinating to hear stuart recalling how he and his father built it. As a single traveller,I had the smallest room ( about the size of most peoples lounges ) that was spotless. I can only reiterate the comments from the other reviewers regarding the breakfast. SUPERB!!

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This B&Bs is of an absolute excellent quality with spacious rooms, delicious and hearty breakfast and friendly owners! Smokey cot was quite difficult to find especially if you use a satnav as it leads you way off track, but it was well worth the 15 min search for it. The room we stayed in (family room) was top quality, with lots of space (no chance of feeling claustrophobic!), ensuite bathroom (with a bath!) and walk in closet. Small considerations such as a hairdryer, family magazines and different teas and coffees were all taken care off. The breakfast was more than ample and with a wide variaty of choice. Overall we had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Family room is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saifah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groes-faen
1.4 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
3.2 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
2.7 mi away
Vale Resort
Vale Resort
#1 of 1 in Hensol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smokey Cot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokey Cot

Property: Smokey Cot
Address: Tynant Road, Groes-faen, Pontyclun CF72 8NG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun > Groes-faen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Groes-faen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing