We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in stunning setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pillac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir de Longeveau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We visited Le Manoir back in August but felt compelled to write as we are looking to book again! We had a lovely stay split between two cottages our favourite of which was Les Jolie Arches. We have two smallish girls (3 and 4) at the time and we all really enjoyed it. My husband particularly enjoyed the social tennis and the girls had a great time with Lorraine in the crèche on a couple of mornings - such a treat to lie in the sun and read a book for a change!
Al the staff were helpful and were brilliant in arranging a dr's appointment for one of the girls.
I do have a few suggestions though that would really improve things for those with little ones such as ours and I do hope they might be implemented. Firstly the 'playground' near the bar area was seriously lacking. The see- saw was verging on dangerous and really needed to be replaced but more equipment in this area is really needed. It is great to be able to have a drink on holiday whilst chd play and this would be a real benefit to all parents if this area was properly equipped and maintained. I am not suggesting an adventure playground but some more low level equipment would be really appreciated. Secondly the larger playground area was also not brilliant and would benefit from being expanded to cater for those between say 4 and 8. The area was ideal as it was a little way from most of the cottages so play did not disturb the peace but it was not adequately shaded from the sun. I also know that the crèche suffered with sun problems too. Both areas would really benefit from a sail shade - easy to install, relatively inexpensive and easy to maintain but an addition of one for the crèche and one or two to shade the playground would be a real improvement.
Lastly it would be really wonderful if the bar would deliver meals to the cottages on request. So one could place an order from the menu and have it delivered to the cottage so parents can enjoy an evening off cooking without the need for a babysitter. This would surely drum up more business for the restaurant and benefit guests too.
This is a wonderful place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend it - in fact I already have a friend who has booked for the summer as a result of our reports but these few issues would make a big difference if implemented.
I could go on about its merits but have probably said enough. Just one more thing - if you have children the horse riding is not to be missed - inexpensive and pure bliss for 2 little girls on Shetlands just their size - really memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Manoir de Longeveau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good, quality accomodation in a very picturesque area. We visisted ib September 2012. The facilities are top notch, whilst having retained the French style. Although I know the area is overrun by the british, my only gripe is that absolutely everything is in English - from the signs on the wall, to the staff. Could easily have fooled someone to believe they were actually in the UK on a nice summers day!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzybee121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We returned this year to Longeveau after a lovely holiday last year and with one more child only 10 months old with us this time (making 3). The place has lost none of its charm and travelling a bit later we have beautiful weather for nearly all the time we were there, the resort had not changed greatly which is good as we loved it but it had had the addition of the main pool being heated and a vastly improved menu in the clubhouse. We stayed in the Etable gite and this was not as nicely configured as la Grangette we stayed in the previous year and lacked a washing machine which meant we had to use the communal ones, this makes it sound bad but it was still lovely with a nice big terrace to the side and BBQ which we used frequently and a lovely view from the upstairs sitting room which is now my screen saver! Once again the creche was superb with Ros and Lorraine providing a warm and friendly environment which my 3 children loved attending and lovely activities such as pony riding, castles and lakes only a short drive away. We are considering a third visit as you cannot get the combination of quiet villa/gite with such a child friendly environment for the cost of this holiday it still a real gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had our wedding reception at Longeveau in May (the next review down is from my Mam!) and it was simply fantastic. We both travel widely with work and have high standards and Manoir de Longeveau surpassed them all.

We had a vision for a wedding in a truly social atmosphere that would allow our friends and family to intermingle in a natural way and to spend quality time together and Longeveau was simply perfect for that. Our 105 guests took over the place - it was like having a tiny village all to ourselves and everyone seemed immediately relaxed and in holiday mode as soon as they arrived. Most guests stayed 3 nights but felt they were away for a week, but 12 guests stayed on for at least one extra night as they loved it so much. Guests naturally joined up and spent time chilling out and having BBQs on each other's terraces.

The gites are of excellent quality and really tastefully restored and redecorated. We wanted our guests to get a taste of real France but also knew many of them weren't accustomed to the rustic accommodation and service often found in rural France and Longeveau gave guest all the mod cons they expect back home in Ireland. That they were served in English and were served their beers in large pint glasses by the genuinely welcoming and helpful bar staff went down really well with many of our 'homebird' guests.

But that is not to say our guest missed out on a taste of true France. Longeveau is located literally 6mins drive from the absolutely beautiful hillside town of Aubeterre-sur-Dronne (http://aubeterresurdronne.com). The 12th century underground Monolithic Church where we had our wedding is truly epic and the village square where had a drinks reception afterwards is pure, quintessential French.

Then there is the top notch cuisine prepared by James' excellent catering team. The bar menu food is delicious and well above what you would expect on a bar menu and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. The bistro food is also excellent with a well-balanced menu including familiar favourites and local specialties - all at reasonable prices. The BBQ the night before our wedding went down a storm, as did the breakfasts. But they even managed to up their game further to deliver an exquisite 7-course wedding banquet of truly fine French cuisine that many of our guests said they were blown away by. The drinks provided under the drinks package we purchased were both delicious and provided with generosity.

We had our reception outdoors in the wonderfully picturesque courtyard and had our band play in the cool barn and then moved into the Clubhouse Bar for the late night festivities which worked out brilliantly and kept the momentum flowing. There's also lovely spots that look like they'd work well for having a wedding ceremony on-site. Knowing we could eat indoors in the Barn if it rained gave us a reassuring Plan B. Our wedding planner (Kate of http://www.getmarriedinfrance.co.uk/) was one of the best people I've ever worked with and lives nearby and made it all magical with zero stress.

Families with kids just loved the place and the kids and adults pools got plenty of use and the day after the wedding it was priceless to see friends and family enjoying impromptu games of tennis and football kickabouts with local kids joining in - that pretty much encapsulated the vibe at Longeveau: top quality in a chilled out atmosphere.

Longeveau is a great holiday location and we hope to go back someday to enjoy its beautiful scenery and great facilities on a holiday. But you would be hard-pressed to find a better venue for a picturesque yet highly sociable wedding.

We have no connections with Manoir de Longeveau or any of its staff, we're simply a truly delighted pair of customers. Feel free to PM me if you have anything you'd like to discuss.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OhPinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I attended the wedding of my son to his beautiful wife in the delightful Manoir de Longeveau and it was such an outstandingly wonderful experience that it is hard to do it justice in words. Over 100 guests were accommodated in luxury over a week in this rural retreat. The management and staff are friendly, courteous and adaptable. The food was top quality on all occasions. The golf, the various pools and play areas, the lovely open expanse of countryside, the exclusivity of having the place to ourselves, the comradeship which the hamlet afforded, the ability to pop in to visit in the many houses, play cards til dawn indoors, walk out the door at dawn and ramble where the whim took you or sleep all day; the big wide bar with pool table and piano was the centre of much fun til the early hours, the vast expanse of the venue made it a wonderful place to spend time in and all age groups were well pleased with facilities all round. Allow two hours from Bordeaux airport for comfort (use Bonne and St. Aulaye route)and go and indulge yourself in this idyllic hamlet in the rolling pastureland of Dordogne/Chartente beside the magical village of Aubeterre-sur-Dronne. The couple engaged the services of a wedding planner from UK who lives locally and is accustomed to working with Longeveau and every minute detail was executed with precision and efficiency so that the bridal couple could enjoy themselves to the hilt and guests were just quietly provided with every comfort and service in a happy, unobtrusive manner. I recommend Manoir de Longeveau to any bride and groom looking for value for money and a good time at a high quality venue where much of the staff speak English. The wedding banquet was held outdoors in the courtyard, and this was early May. The band in the evening were fantastic (as was the duo during the day) and the DJ kept the dancing in full swing til 5am when the bride and groom finally took their leave of the guests. I am so happy that the wedding abroad was such a memorable, enjoyable, positive experience. Thank you Longeveau!

Room Tip: Put the party-lovers in the houses nearest the bar! Bring earplugs if you don't like cooing pige...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Longeveau is situated in beautiful part of rural France and offers great facilities - tennis, swimming and a challenging 9-hole golf course.

Food is available from the restaurant but we can't comment on its quality as we chose to eat out at some really good value restaurants we found in the neighbouring villages of St Severin, Aubeterre and Riberac.

But the best part of our stay was the superb quality of our gite, la Petite Ferme. We gather that It had been fairly recently totally renovated and it had been done so to a very high standard. It has kept its rural feel whilst at the same time offering modern comforts (eg excellent en suite showers). The bedrooms and the open plan kitchenand lounge area were all very spacious.

Outside there's a lovely shaded eating area which we used every day for our breakfasts and for our late evening night caps.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: For your gites, try to get la Petit Ferme
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbeswetherick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had the wedding of our dreams at Longeveau. It is the most beautiful location, and I cannot rate it highly enough. I completely agree with everything written in the previous review. Everyone who works at Longeveau is so friendly and welcoming, which creates a lovely atmosphere. Particularly James and Olivia who were in charge of helping us create the wedding day.

The food produced by James and his wonderful team was always amazing, from salads and burgers to Oysters, and the wedding meal! He is also very good about catering to individual requests, and generally looking after us all so well, such as providing takeaway chips or tubes of tomato puree as required!

All of our guests in their individual gites were so happy and relaxed throughout the week, which helped to make it extra special for us. The most amazing thing about this wedding was that we had the wedding on the Saturday, which was beyond expectations. Then after this, we had a whole week of enjoying Longeveau and the surrounding area with our friends and family.

To visit locally, I can strongly recommend St Emillion, and Brantome as my favourite places. I went canoeing in Brantome, but if that is not your thing, it is still worth a visit.

Although we sadly had no children attending our event, Longeveau is extremely child friendly, and we are already planning future family trips with children involved! Just cannot wait to get back there as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Every property is beautifully furnished, so just get the size you need! Perhaps as a wedding guest...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StAlbans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pillac
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Vieille Maison
Hotel La Vieille Maison
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paul-Lizonne
88 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord
Hostellerie du Perigord
#1 of 1 in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
140 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Braisiere
La Braisiere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
#1 of 1 in Petit-Bersac
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Chalet De Luxe
Le Chalet De Luxe
#1 of 1 in Saint-Severin
16 reviews
10.1 mi away
Chateau de Clauzuroux
Chateau de Clauzuroux
#1 of 4 in Champagne-et-Fontaine
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Longeveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Longeveau

Address: 16390 Pillac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Pillac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pillac
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Manoir De Longeveau Hotel Pillac
Manoir De Longeveau France/Pillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing