We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Walnut Tree Cottage - welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walnut Tree Cottage - welcome
Walnut tree cottage with the famous Walnut Tree Roses around the door!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Walnut Tree Cottage - welcome
Walnut tree cottage with the famous Walnut Tree
Roses around the door!
Entrance hall
Lounge with charentaise fireplace.
Kitchen area of the Sejour
Dining area of the old sejour
Master bedroom
Twin Bedroom, we use linen to suit age and gender
Shower room
Original basin, not now in use!
Solidly built! Ensuite loo window.
The garden with plenty of room to play.
The pool may differ,may be in another position. We replace sometimes and can't always get the same.
The Hamlet of Mons Colas
Take a stroll to Bessac monastery.
View from the twin bedroom.
Chalais - enjoy watching the world go by.
Not for the faint hearted!
Chalais in August.
Local Marche de Pays
Fun in the sun.
Restaurant at Beautiful Brossac Beach (15 mins)
Futuroscope - a really good day out
Visit this relaxed event the third weekend in Sept
Enjoy time on the river
Local Market
Monolith Church - Aubeterre
Aubeterre Beach
Chateaux and Vineyards are plentiful
Angouleme murals abound. City of Comics  festival in January
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Barbezieux-Saint-Hilaire, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert H
Prestwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magic holiday”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Had a great stay here. We didn't know what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. The cottage is in a great location with easy access to everywhere - although a car is necessary. The cottage has loads of rustic charm and, as in the previous message, is so very 'French'. We slept really well and felt very safe - something we not always felt in places with more than one gite. Do go to the lakes - we tried them all - couldn't keep the kids away! The local markets are great just like the pictures show. All in all really good and excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you had a great time and that you loved the cottage as much as we do. Thank you also for the comments you posted by email: you are very welcome if you do indeed decide to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycott...
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxed experience”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Just returned from a truly relaxing winter break at Walnut Tree Cottage. It was so warm and cosy that sometimes we didn't want to leave to explore!
We are so glad we did as there was plenty to do, even in winter; we can't wait ti return in the summer.
The house was spotlesslly clean and well equipped even down to s melon baller and garlic crusher.
The welcome car and winer were also a nice surprise - can't fault it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2013
Hi thank you for your kind comments. The countryside in winter can be magical. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and the card and found exploring the area worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, typically French, away-from-it-all hideaway”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in May 2012

This is a beautiful cottage, with a typically French feel. The experience of staying there is very relaxing. The house is clean, and dealing with the owner was easy and hassle-free. Suitable for singles, couples or families alike. A good value option for anyone seeking to recharge their batteries. A pretty house in a pretty area of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The French-style ambience
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing