We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
Walnut Tree Cottage - welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walnut Tree Cottage - welcome
Walnut tree cottage with the famous Walnut Tree Roses around the door!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Walnut Tree Cottage - welcome
Walnut tree cottage with the famous Walnut Tree
Roses around the door!
Entrance hall
Lounge with charentaise fireplace.
Kitchen area of the Sejour
Dining area of the old sejour
Master bedroom
Twin Bedroom, we use linen to suit age and gender
Shower room
Original basin, not now in use!
Solidly built! Ensuite loo window.
The garden with plenty of room to play.
The Hamlet of Mons Colas
Take a stroll to Bessac monastery.
View from the twin bedroom.
Chalais - enjoy watching the world go by.
Not for the faint hearted!
Chalais in August.
Local Marche de Pays
Fun in the sun.
Restaurant at Beautiful Brossac Beach (15 mins)
Futuroscope - a really good day out
Visit this relaxed event the third weekend in Sept
Enjoy time on the river
Local Market
Monolith Church - Aubeterre
Aubeterre Beach
Chateaux and Vineyards are plentiful
Angouleme murals abound. City of Comics  festival in January
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Barbezieux-Saint-Hilaire, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
julief196...
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed at this lovely cottage. Well equipped , comfortable, lovely location. Very quiet and relaxing just what I needed. Easy access to some lovely locations and restaurants. Will be back. Owner was very helpful on ideas to visit. Loved the character of this property, and was larger than I thought a good mixture of sun spots and shade, already thinking about my return next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you were able to relax and enjoy all our cottage has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossdeepi...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 February 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We travelled as a family of 3. The cottage was as described, with good amenities close by, really characterful and cosy. The beds were comfortable, kitchen and dining areas had everything we needed and we all enjoyed the peaceful location. We enjoyed some lovely days by the lake, with picnics of delicious local food. The owner been very helpful when we were booking. We will definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you to our cottage again.

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haldanesu...
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st class all the way”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Our daughter (who had previously visited) recommended this beautiful cottage to my husband and I when he was recovering from a life saving operation and we were both in need of some R&R.
it was so relaxing and within a reasonable distance to everything we required. Our daughter was able to join us for a few days and she pointed out that both bedrooms and the shower room had been refurbished to a lovely standard. It was so so quite and peaceful and the beds so comfy we slept past 9 o'clock most mornings. Just what the Dr ordered.
We enjoyed the beach, local countryside, and town.
For us the only down side was that my husband can not sit for any lenghth of time in a car and living in Scotland it took us three days there and back as a car is advisable once there. Thus four stars and not the five. we would very much wish to visit again once he is further down the road to recovery.
we were lucky to get a cancelled booking I suggest you book early so not to be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry that you found the travelling time difficult. If you do decide to come again please ask about airports and hire car companies - we will be pleased to help you with these.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darkie29
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic recommendation”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage was recommended to us by some friends and we were not disappointed. We stayed from the 29th of June to the 12th of July and so were luckily able to enjoy the house in the height of summer. The location is beautiful and the house itself was magnificently presented- we could not fault the presentation or the cleanliness Additionally, there was no fuss or complications in booking or gaining access to the cottage, which is always a plus when renting out holiday homes! It was very comfortable and relaxing, and frankly was the highlight of the holiday. The owner gave us lots of advice on what to do in the area, which was very friendly and helpful. We had a great stay at this cottage and we would recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and very comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are really pleased that you were recommended to the cottage by previous guests and that you weren't disappointed that you visited. We love hearing from so many of our clients often by email or telephone: it really justifies the hard work and care that my changoever people take. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value, great location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Understated property, the photos don't really do it justice. It is a very spacious 2 bed property and the pool was fantastic for our 5 year old who had hours of fun. The cottage was clean and tidy and had all the basics we needed. Definitely value for money and plenty of lovely beaches, churches and places of interest within a 25 minute drive .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased that you and your son enjoyed your stay. We love the cottage and are so happy to hear that others do as well. I will, of course, pass your comments on to my changeover people. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H
Prestwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magic holiday”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Had a great stay here. We didn't know what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. The cottage is in a great location with easy access to everywhere - although a car is necessary. The cottage has loads of rustic charm and, as in the previous message, is so very 'French'. We slept really well and felt very safe - something we not always felt in places with more than one gite. Do go to the lakes - we tried them all - couldn't keep the kids away! The local markets are great just like the pictures show. All in all really good and excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you had a great time and that you loved the cottage as much as we do. Thank you also for the comments you posted by email: you are very welcome if you do indeed decide to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycott...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxed experience”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Just returned from a truly relaxing winter break at Walnut Tree Cottage. It was so warm and cosy that sometimes we didn't want to leave to explore!
We are so glad we did as there was plenty to do, even in winter; we can't wait ti return in the summer.
The house was spotlesslly clean and well equipped even down to s melon baller and garlic crusher.
The welcome car and winer were also a nice surprise - can't fault it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2013
Hi thank you for your kind comments. The countryside in winter can be magical. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and the card and found exploring the area worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing