We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do as little or as much as you like - perfect!”
Review of Casale Monticchio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sant'Apollinare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casale Monticchio
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do as little or as much as you like - perfect!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Casale Monticchio back in the summer of last year and we loved every moment. Every detail about this property has been well planned and thought out, we spent many hours lazing by the luxurious infinity pool, playing cards in the shade on the croquet lawn and had magical evenings dinning with our friends under the Umbrian sky. Family and friends had recommended Monticchio to us and we are so grateful they did, we have traveled to Italy many times from Melbourne, Australia, however we have never stayed anywhere like this. So relaxing but also so much to see and do within a short drive of the villa's. So taken were we with this beautiful place that we are taking a bunch of friends back there next year to celebrate our birthdays. I can't wait to see how our friends react when they see the place, it is truly unique and I know they will all go home raving about how wonderful it is. Andrew and Hugues ensure that every detail is taken care of, they are truly the most wonderful hosts I have ever encountered. I would recommend Casale Monticchio to anyone, fabulous holiday destination!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What more can be said about this little gem of a retreat!!

Myself and my Husband stayed in June of this year for our honeymoon, after being married in Tuscany the previous week.

Hugues & Andrew were the most fabulous hosts, making us feel so very welcome. Everything you could think of was catered for and thought about and the cottage itself was simply stunning.

The location is quite remote - so dont visit expecting to walk to the local shops - but if you have read anything about this fantisic place then this should be no suprise.

The grounds themselves were beautiful with a fantastic pool and view! (see the pictures)

Quite honestly i cannot recommend staying @ Casale Monticchio - i cannot see how anyone could be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have just returned from a week’s Holiday at Monticchio. Our second time at Monticchio and the only place I have ever returned to on Holiday. It's an oasis of style and charm with a personal approach that is unmatchable. It has to be the perfect location to relax and absorb the atmosphere of Umbria. The pool is so inviting that you can’t resist taking a dip.

There so much to do, sun bathing on the patios, the pool, the cabana, local vineyards to medieval towns, whatever your style of holiday Monticchio offers something for everyone of every age.

Andrew and Hugues offer you a warm and genuine welcome and cannot do enough to make sure your break is everything you want it to be.

We loved it so much we have already booked for next year and are taking friends with us as its a Gem of a location whose specialness should be shared.

I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm-MCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoeterwoude, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

there are no words to describe the beauty and serinity of casale monticchio. The rooms, the hosts (Andrew and Hugues ARE incredible!) the pool. the view, the atmosphere. Just go there. Worth every pennie! Thanks guys for the great experience, and all you did!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansZoeterwoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Have just returned from our 2nd visit to Casale Monticchio and it was just as wonderful as we remembered from our visit last summer. Had great weather and spent the week walking around the beautiful countryside and villages. If you enjoy nature including birds and butterflies you will be truly spoilt. If you have a busy and stressful lifestyle and are looking to really relax and re charge your batteries, treat yourself to this wonderful experience. Andrew and Hughes are special guys who have created a unique experience. The animals are equally as friendly and fanny the dog is always happy to accompany you on your walks. Monticchio will be somewhere you will want to return to time after time

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This was the 5th time we came for our special week's summer holiday to Monticchio - just the best place to relax, unwind and also have fun as a family with our young children.
Our 3 children would spend the whole day in or by the stunning pool with its infinity edge overlooking the quiet valley that surrounds it. The solitude only broken by the sight of the two donkeys wandering in the filed beneath or Fanny, the lovely boxer dog watching over....
...but we will get them back to the house to escape the sun for lunch and a play with one of the many board games ready waiting to be tried out or choosing their favorite music from all the CDs ...while I enjoy the well equipped kitchen or very comfortable bed for a siesta.
Every time we go, there are new beautiful additions of artwork and artifacts to discover, which fit so well in the amazing spaces of both of the two apartments, as well as the beautiful private terraces and gardens that blend into the Umbrian landscape.
But it's not only the unique setting, Andrew and Hugues are just the best hosts you can imagine. You can feel with every little detail the love, but also hard work they have and are putting into this so very special place. They always make sure that our holiday will be an amazing experience from the first evening welcome drinks and dinner to giving recommendations for trips whether to a tour of the nearby vineyard or letting us know about a local village festival.
So we better book our week for next year ...we can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is THE definitive way to tune out and relax. Monticchio is an experience you will want to repeat and you will never tire of the ambience that the hosts Andrew and Hugue work hard to maintain. I have visited many villas in Italy but none have compared to Monticchio - it is unique and makes you feel special. The artwork and sculptures provide a surprise wherever you wander. The days are never long enough, the evenings are full of laughter and then you climb under crisp white sheets and admire the ceiling. The infinity pool is unique - large, beautifully designed and overlooking the valley and mountains with not a building in view. Every detail in the entire place is well thought out - the beautiful lavendar gardens, the croquet lawn with a big shady tree for relaxing from the sun in the afternoon. Monticchio is superb and I have recommended it to many friends. It is the only location to which I return on regular basis - as do many others who experience what my friends and I call "Monticchio Magic". I could not recommend a better and more relaxing week for anyone. Most places do the minimum they can - Andrew and Hugue do EVERYTHING they can to improve the experience for you. It doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: Both apartments are very different. Smaller apartment has the nicest terrace. Big apartment has an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetS_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casale Monticchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Monticchio

Property: Casale Monticchio
Address: Vocabolo Monticchio 2, 06055 Sant'Apollinare, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Sant'Apollinare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sant'Apollinare
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing