We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely dining experience.”

Balloo House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Killinchy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Really enjoyed our meal here. We had booked as part of accommodation package and thus had to choose from a limited menu. Nevertheless there were interesting options which were beautifully executed and presented. Service was warm and attentive without being overbearing. Have also eaten in the downstairs bar which offers a less complicated fare but without sacrificing any of the quality or tastiness.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    31
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food Upstairs, Will Go Again”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having eaten in the bistro before, we booked upstairs as a special treat for our birthdays. Unfortunately the Valentine's tasting menu was operating all weekend and so we didn't feel that we got to expereince the restaurant as we wanted - I was rather restricted due to a shellfish allergy and not being a fish eater. That said, the food was very high quality and the menu was priced reasonably. Think atmosphere in the bistro is better, so will stick to it in future.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!! Food,wine everything A**”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I went to Balloo house last night for the Spanish evening with wines.A great night from start to finish-lovely fire,wines all specially chosen to suit each dish,food to die for in lovely sized portions,staff very attentive-booked taxis too-what more can I say! Thank you.
U have to try it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KerryM343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carryduff, United Kingdom
1 review
“BAR BRAWL”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and i called into Balloo House last night after a trip to the cinema,
I have heard the food is exellent so we called in for a drink and to check the place out !!
We were only waiting at the the bar to be served when a fight had broken out !
I turned around and two men were wrestling on the floor !
defenetly not the atmosphere i would want my kids to suffer !
Wont be back !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Upstairs - Awesome”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Ate upstairs for the first time there recently, food was absolutely lovely! food downstairs is lovely too but upstairs a different style of food (fine dining).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balloo House Restaurant also viewed

Killinchy, County Down
Killinchy, County Down
 

Been to Balloo House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing