We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Trip”
Review of Daft Eddies

Daft Eddies
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Killinchy
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

On a recent day trip in North Down we called into Daft Eddys. On previous visits we have never been disappointed and this time was the same. We were met by very enthusiastic staff and shown to our table.the menu was varied but we both decided on the steak and Guinness pie and it proved to be an excellent choice,the steak was tender and the gravy was perfection,we declined on the sweet menu and finished an excellent meal with coffee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 488BenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    150
    63
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely for fish...”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having heard improved reports about Daft Eddie's we returned after a long absence. Quickly seated by friendly staff we were given a choice of two tables, drinks, and just enough time to make our selection. The bream was beautifully executed and well balanced, with a light flavorsome sauce, and gorgeous buttered samphire which complemented the dish perfectly. The tiny prawns could have played a more significant role but added to the dish nevertheless, and other fish dishes that passed by looked extremely appetizing. The reasonably priced steak special with pepper sauce was fine but might be a disappointment if you love a good steak, and while the chips were fine too they were most likely bought in.

The puddings looked good, but with our preferences no longer available we decided against. It had been a busy night and was now towards the end of the evening so it was understandable, but that two of the five were no longer available, and that we weren't told until we placed the order, was disappointing.

This restaurant has a long history of variability, and the recent reviews regarding service problems are hugely off-putting, but we enjoyed our visit and look forward to going back again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheelagh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norn Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food at lovely location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from an anniversary meal here. We love fish so the menu here suits us well. My husband eats gluten free food and although the menu did not specify any food allergy info the waiting staff went out of their way to help accommodate him. Lovely evening, couldn't fault it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rustieNornIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Daft Eddys”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Was there the other Sunday for a Family Lunch, we all had a Great Roast, the Beef was Very tender & flavorsome, Fab gravy and Nice Veg, a couple of us even managed a Pud (only just) as the portions are generous, all in all a Good time was had by one & All, the Craic was Great, the views as always were breathtaking,the Staff were Polite & the Service was Good, We will be Back !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMcKeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good - but not excellent”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staff are friendly and the food is ok. I had the fish supper and the wife, the venison burger. My fish was a bit greasy but the burger was very good. The locations is excellent and hard to beat. Reasonable price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank belfastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daft Eddies also viewed

 

Been to Daft Eddies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing