We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daft Eddies

Daft Eddies
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Killinchy
Cuisines: British, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dreadful Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Food was nice but the service was dreadful. We were a party of 7 and the only table available was right next to a door leading out onto the patio area. Didn't help matters when staff and customers were coming and going letting in a howling wind. Our meal was brought out in good enough time but after that the only member of staff visiting our table was clearing away dishes. No one asking if our meal was ok, did we enjoy it or would anyone like to see the dessert menu. Not even if we wanted tea or coffee. Don't think we will be heading back in a hurry. Got the feeling as though the restaurant was being refurbished but sadly needed some finishing touches. Taps in the toilets were lose and altogether a bit wobbly as were the door handles. This did not reflect the meal which was lovely. And hot....

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    137
    61
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great food been two or three times and will be back. The outdoor seating is great and lovely setting

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were lucky enough to be staying near Daft Eddies recently, so were able to enjoy both the breakfast and dinner experience. The breakfasts are delightful, there is a wide range of choices from croissants to cooked options. To sit outside overlooking the bay while having breakfast is lovely. The service is excellent, as well as the cooking. It opens at 9.30 in the morning, a great time to stroll along. The dinner options as always are fabulous, a good selection of fish dishes, in fact it is difficult to make a choice. All this and a Guinness, perfection.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on a recent trip to Belfast & were not disappointed.
The staff were very friendly, the food was lovely (the scampi & kriss cuts come highly recommended!) & the view, across the water, was amazing.
I'll definitely make a return visit if I'm in the area again.

Helpful?
Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a great spot for a casual dining experience as the view is serene and the service and food top notch. We arrived without a booking and asked if we could share a main course, as we were tired and not really hungry. We just drank water. Often such customers attract the ire of restauranteurs, but our waitress and the manager were so friendly and accommodating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank orgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daft Eddies also viewed

 

Been to Daft Eddies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing