We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, exceptional attention to detail, a wonderful night”
Review of The Mill at Balloo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killinchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mill at Balloo
Ranked #2 of 4 Killinchy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Mill as part of a a break with dinner at Balloo House. We had the river room which we could not fault. Great hosts, the best breakfast we have had in years and the most comfortable of rooms with candelight, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try the River room, you won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bear8618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for The Mill at Balloo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Mill almost a year ago and absolutely loved it. We had been meaning to stay again and combine it with another visit to the upstairs restaurant at Balloo House....this lovely B&B is only a short walk away from Balloo House. We had recommended it to friends who also stayed in the B&B at the same time. We all had a thoroughly enjoyable stay- both the Beam Room and River Room are stunning= tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. We have stayed in the Beam Room the last two times so I think we will book into the River Room the next time. Breakfast was great and as before, Paul and Janice were excellent and welcoming hosts. We would dine at Balloo House frequently (upstairs and the bistro downstairs) but combining this with a stay at the Mill makes for a perfect break away , as well as saving us the hassle of taxis or one person having to drive. Apart from that, there are various options to be explored in the surrounding area. Highly recommend a stay at this beautiful house.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed for one night and cant wait to go back....like nowhere else we have ever been, lots of personal touches in the most wonderful setting. Paul and Janice great hosts. Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I recently had a one night stay with Paul and Janice and were sad we could not have stayed longer. We had the River room - beautiful ensuite and seating area overlooking the babbling race. Very comfortable bed and plenty of space for luggage. Paul very kindly booked us a table at the nearby Balloo House for dinner -well worth a trip for excellent food at very keen midweek prices. Breakfast next morning was equally expansive with an array of fresh fruit/cereals and of course,a great cooked option of pretty much whatever you wanted! The history and the restored waterwheel give an added interest and this little top class b&b deserves continued success and greater public awareness. We have been extolling its virtues to anyone who will listen! Treat yourselves to a real hidden gem in Killinchy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 913Ntweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

It's a pure treat for yourself and your loved one to stay at The Mill at Balloo. The setting is very private and rural although you are in walking distance of one of the best restaurants I've ever had the chance to dine at, The Balloo House. In fact, I made the delightful mistake of thinking they were one and the same as they hold the same standards of excellency. But back to the B&B; the owners Paul and Janice, make you feel as though you were friends coming for a stay. Friends whose privacy is respected and every need met. Our room, the front room with the mechanical dealings of the mill hanging in the rafters above us, was no less than awesome. I lay in bed simply admiring the beauty of the room and reminiscing the workings of the mill, as well as the thrill in remodeling the old mill into a lovely B&B. See the photographs included of our room (with red bedspreads). Breakfast is included and Janice is on morning duty. With a friendly smile she serves up a scrumptious and hearty breakfast - and we had the pleasure of being the first guests to enjoy, what I dubbed, Breakfast with Moo (a painting by a local artist - also included in photos). We have family in the area and no doubt, this will be our stay when we head to Killinchy. But with its location, if I were headed to Belfast or anywhere in the Ards, this is where I would toss my hat and kick up my feet.

Room Tip: try them all!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacD-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I feel so lucky to have stayed here. The old mill building has been renovated to perfection with the wheel and its workings still on show and beautifully integrated. Paul & Janice are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was dreamy, so was the bed. If the afterlife is not like this I shall be eternally disappointed. I want to go back. I have to go back. Please.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Beatiful b&b - perfectly renovated mill with mill wheel and mill works on display. Comfortable beds and a delicious breakfast. Just stayed one night. A bit off the beaten path - Paul and Janice were very gracious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingFeet26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinchy
5.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
278 reviews
10.3 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview House
Bayview House
#4 of 4 in Killinchy
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#2 of 2 in Comber
65 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
10.4 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Balloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Balloo

Address: 9a Mill Road, Balloo | Ballyministragh, Killinchy, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killinchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Killinchy
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Mill At Balloo Killinchy, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing