We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killinchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Killinchy B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A special place to stay in the beautiful Co Down countryside. Stunning views over the lough (even from bed!) Jenny, a natural hostess, makes you feel like your at home - friendly, hospitable (nothing seems a bother) with great ideas for things to do in the surrounding area . The accommodation was spotless, modern and very spacious.
Would have no hesitation recommending this B&B

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEAS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us, it is much appreciated. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The title doesn't even do it justice! This is simply the best place to stay in Northern Ireland, bar none!

I found Hunters Lodge when looking for somewhere close to Balloo House Restaurant and I have to say it is a pure gem. It is situated less than 2 miles from Balloo House, nestled in a quiet corner of the Killinchy countryside. From the moment you approach the house along the driveway you know that you are in for a real treat.

The house is exquisite, and I cannot stress that enough. Beautifully decorated and full of charachter. The photographs on the website cannot even begin to porttray how beautfiul it is.

We were greeted by the owner, Jenny, who has got to be one of the most charming people I have met for a very long time. She welcomed us and instantly made us feel "at home". Our room was incredible. It was large, extremely well finished and had breathtaking views over the lough.

Every little detail has been thought of. From the "honesty bar" just outside our room to the fantastic selection of DVDs that was available it seemed that nothing had been overlooked.

Next morning at breakfast we were again greeted by Jenny with a stunning selection of fresh breads, homemade jam and other tasty goodies. A selection better than most five star hotels.

Our stay was for my wife's birthday and Hunter's Lodge made it a very special one. We have stayed in numerous hotels and guesthouses all over Ireland but not a single one of them is in the same league as this.

A credit to its owner Jenny and definitely a place that we will return to in the very near future

Room Tip: You will understand when you get there. They are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind praise. It is always heart warming to hear that people have enjoyed their stay, and I so appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My husband found this little gem after searching the Internet, and what a find!!
The lady that owns this fabulous B&B was away enjoying this joys of a new born relative, leaving a very charming Garreth to welcome us. We arrived, typically in a very wet and grey N.Ireland but Garreths welcome soon chased the grey clouds away. He was very informative showing us to our superb Strangford Lough facing room that was beautifully and contemporary decorated. Each morning we were served a lovely freshly prepared cooked Ulster fry with side orders of home-cooked bread and homemade preserve.
Garreth was always willing to meet our needs …although I was rather tempted to ask for Eggs Benedict for breakfast just to be little cruel ;) Garrett was a mind of knowledge of local tourist attractions and coastal towns to visit and was very willing to spend time to chat...he was a pleasure to meet......Jenny he did you proud. Thank you for a fabulous stay well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midge1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
So glad that my "Stand In" Garreth was such a hit. Of course I think he is rather special, being my nephew, and felt happy that I was leaving Hunters Lodge in very capable hands. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is much appreciated. Jenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for the Balloo House meal & accommodation special. It sounds quite difficult to find this spot but follow the instructions and its straightforward enough. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and we were greeted by the charming Garreth (Jenny was away). He showed us around the wonderful property and the absolutely stunning views over Strangford Lough and some islands. For late September the weather was also great, which added to the super atmosphere.

The meal at Balloo was amazing also - very a la carte - and 5 proper food courses (not a tea & coffee course!!).

Back to the house after and relaxed with a glass of wine in the garden; up next morning to a great breakfast - really making the most of local produce (Clandeboye yoghurts, etc) and lovely fresh breads. The cooked breakfast was delicious overlooking the lough from the mezzanine dining room.

Altogether a really wonderful trip, a gorgeous house and Balloo was great too - I would 100% recommend Hunters Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnnythunders18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
I think I will need to go away more often, your review was great to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that Garreth got such well deserved praise. thank you for your kind comments. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for one night on 13th August as birthday gift coupled with dinner at the Balloo House.
Wonderful Jenny welcomed us at the door with the waft of baked bread coming from the kitchen.
This we sampled the next morning with great relish, along with a fantastic cooked breakfast which would put many a top class hotel to shame. The freshly prepared fruit salad was a work of art, and my wife was sorry not to have taken photos to show our friends.
The room was excellent, and on opening the internal window shutters in the morning, the sun shone across the lough into the room, with a brilliant view of Conley Island.
We would not hesitate to recommend this superb B & B.
Jenny you are the ' Hostest with the mostest'
John & Kate, Bangor

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murray_john17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Oh, thank you so much for your kindness, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights while visiting family nearby. The views from the spacious room were fabulous...room tastefully decorated, with all amenities. Jenny was a marvellous host and catered for all our breakfast needs. Homemade bread and jams were delicious, and we enjoyed being guinea-pigs to new jam recipes! All in all, it made for a relaxing stay - thank you Jenny!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 999MaryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Your review made my laugh, thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed Saturday 7th September in this incredible (in every way) B and B. Greeted by Jenny and shown our fantastic room with an even better view. Jenny is a truly natural hostess....and has thought of everything from home baking (the wheaten is to die for!) to the honesty bar for our use in the reading area. Complete tranquility at this beautiful location. We went to Balloo house for dinner.....Jenny organised a taxi and assured us she would drop us over if there was any problem (there wasn't). Best nights sleep in this tranquil setting....only to be treated to a breakfast fit for royalty!! Freshly prepared fruit salads, and really whatever you wanted as a cooked breakfast, which was served with a range of juices/coffees and teas. The homemade preserves were delicious...and the homemade bread too (it's second mention in this review for good reason!!!!) We were given a detailed explanation of the attractions in the surrounding area (Jenny using her framed map of the locality) and have to say....we will definitely be back. There are many 'great' hotels that could learn a lot from a nights stay at Hunters Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilrigger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, and for taing the time to review your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinchy
7.8 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
11.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#2 of 2 in Comber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
0.9 mi away
Bayview House
Bayview House
#4 of 4 in Killinchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B

Property: Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Address: 18 Inisharoan | Whiterock, Killinchy BT23 6QF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killinchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Killinchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Lodge B&B is situated on the shores of Strangford Lough, and offers outstanding views from each bedroom. Within 30 mins of Belfast City Airport, it offers quiet luxury in this area of outstanding beauty. Perfectly situated to experience the "Ulster Way" for walking and cycling and never far from a golf course or two. Fine Dining is available within a couple of miles, and local Pub within walking distance. Northern Ireland Tourist Board approved. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B Killinchy, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing