We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killinchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Killinchy B&B and Inns
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a place!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

A fantastic house with beautiful views!!!
Jenny looked after us really well nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was lovely home made Wheaten Bread Delicious.
If you are visiting Belfast it is only 20mins away, you eill not be disapointed
We will definatley be back!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. Hope we will see you again, many thanks, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for one night in June 2014 and were warmly welcomed by the Host, Jenny. She gave us sound advise on activities in the locality and treated us with a very personal touch...thanks for the chilled bottle of Vino on arrival!! We ate in the highly acclaimed 'Balloo House Restaurant (chef has won National and International awards including the Great British Menu and is trained to Michelin Star standard) which is just a stones-throw away from Hunters Lodge. The setting is beautiful along the shores of Strangford Lough, a perfect location for a perfect Romantic getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PTT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay, and I am delighted that you had a good time. Many thanks, Jenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had the pleasure of spending one night here for the bank holiday weekend. Jenny gave us a great welcome and nothing was too much trouble. This B and B is perfect for golf lovers as there are so many courses close by. The views from the house are amazing and in such a tranquil spot.
We were sorry only to be spending one night. we will definitely return :) especially after such a gourmet breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the room with the view - it is worth it to wake up and see the lough from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
You are do right about the golf, and I am glad you managed to get the nine holes at Mahee, such a pretty course. Thank you so much for taking the time our of your busy schedule to review your stay, delighted you had a good time. Jenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed here twice as part of the Balloo House Luxury overnight stay offer. Jennifer is a great host and the property is lovely with great spacious bedrooms. The breakfast was perfect with fruit and yoghurt, breads and of course a tasty irish fry (not greasy). I would strongly recommend Hunters Lodge and indeed bought gift vouchers for the same package from Jennifer for my parents-in-law on a previous visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JAG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. It is true praise indeed when someone has enjoyed their stay enough to send me their nearest and dearest, (I love meeting families). Once again many thanks for reviewing your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Sometimes you go to a hotel, B&B, restaurant or whatever and when you go back for a second time it just isn't as good. Not with Hunter's Lodge!!

My wife and I went there back in November 2013 for her birthday and decided to go back again at the end of May for mine. We hoped that our stay would be as good as the first time, which was truly excellent, and we were not disappointed.

From the moment we arrived, with a welcome that you simply would not get anywhere else, we knew that this stay would be as special as the last one. Everything about Hunter's Lodge is perfect, from its beautiful setting to the exquisite bedrooms to the fantastic selection of food at breakfast time.

If you haven't stayed here it is time you did!

Jenny, thanks again for yet another fabuluos stay and I hope we get to come back again soon!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Gosh, I am overwhelmed by your comments. It was a delight to see you both again, and hope to see you next time you need a little break. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay at Hunters Lodge, it is much appreciated. Many thanks Jenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here on Friday night as part of the Balloo House Luxury Overnight stay offer (which we have done at least a couple of times before) however this was our first time staying at Hunter's Lodge. The setting at Whiterock was lovely with lovely views. We were greeted warmly by the host Jenny who welcomed us to her home and had kindly pre-arranged taxis for dinner which we shared with other couples staying at the B&B who were also dining in the upstairs restaurant at Balloo House. Following our arrival and a quick explanation of health and safety/ fire exits which was helpgul, Jenny showed us to our room which was spacious with a large king size bed and it also had a single bed in it and large ensuite bathroom with a freestanding bath and a separate shower unit. The only small point we noted was a lack of shower gel, shampoo etc in the bathroom- and I had forgotten most of mine on assumption that we could just use whatever was there for the sake of one night. There was a very small bottle with some shower gel in it, however I have no doubt that we could have got some more if we had asked. The room and bathroom were both very spacious and tastefully furnished. Jenny also explained that they had an honesty bar if we fancied a drink during our stay which was lovely- especially on a sunny summer evening. As it turned out, we had a lovely bottle of chilled prosecco whilst getting ready to go out which was a lovely aperitif before heading for dinner at Balloo House. On the Saturday morning, we were again greeted warmly by Jenny when we arrived down to breakfast and she talked us through the lovely spread of bread, home baked wheaten, cereals, juices, a lovely fresh fruit platter with natural yoghurt and a rhubarb compote- as well as bringing us some lovely fresh coffee and offering us a cooked breakfast. We both opted for the cooked breakfast which was great and thankfully not greasy. We also enjoyed the rest of the breakfast spread on offer in the lovely dining room with a stunning view over Whiterock bay. Would definitely recommend this B&B- especially if dining at Balloo House or any of the other restaurants in the area. We do not live that far away from Killinchy and would dine in the area frequently, however we really enjoy getting away for the night and making a bit more of a break of it so this kind of option is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, and your extensive review, it is much appreciated, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your comments, and will display toiletries more promenently in future. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Truly wonderful experience in every way. Location, welcome, breakfast all perfect. Jenny was a great hostess and provided everything we needed. View of the lough from our room was beautiful and the Ulster Fry breakfast a treat

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
I would just like to thank you for your kindness in taking the time to review your stay with us. I hope we will see you again when you next visit Northern Ireland. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinchy
8.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
3.4 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#2 of 2 in Comber
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B

Property: Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Address: 18 Inisharoan | Whiterock, Killinchy BT23 6QF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killinchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Killinchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Lodge B&B is situated on the shores of Strangford Lough, and offers outstanding views from each bedroom. Within 30 mins of Belfast City Airport, it offers quiet luxury in this area of outstanding beauty. Perfectly situated to experience the "Ulster Way" for walking and cycling and never far from a golf course or two. Fine Dining is available within a couple of miles, and local Pub within walking distance. Northern Ireland Tourist Board approved. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B Killinchy, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing