We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant boathouse stay”
other travellers have booked this property
View from main bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from main bedroom
The Glen, moored in front of the house Trasnagh -  the island in front of the house. Picnic here after a boat trip.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
View from main bedroom
The Glen, moored in front of the house
Trasnagh -  the island in front of the house. Picnic here after a boat trip.
View from the deck
The Kitchen
View from the Sitting Room
The Main Bedroom
View from Main Bedroom
The Garden with dry stone wall
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
View from the Main Bedroom
The Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
View from second Bedroom
The Sitting Room
The Sitting Room
More of the Sitting Room
View from the Sitting Room
Looking onto the Deck
Fireplace
View from the Sitting Room onto the Deck
The Kitchen
The Deck
The kitchen
The kitchen
A good place to sit
Some flat stones on the deck
The Beach
A wee seat
The Beach in front of the house
Aerial view of The Boathouse
The Boathouse from the Lough
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killinchy, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew M
2 reviews
“Brilliant boathouse stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

An amazing place - superb accommodation in an idyllic location. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay here and will definitely return. Lindy and Henry were really friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you for your fantastic review we loved having you to stay and hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sollers73
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loughside bliss”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at the Boathouse to be close to local friends. Our boys (6 & 4) were in heaven. They spent hours pottering in the water collecting all sorts. The views are stunning, even on the one rainy day we had and the house itself is really comfy and spacious. Lindy was a great host answering our questions swiftly. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Lovely guests and it was a delight to see the boys enjoying the beach in front of the cottage and its secrets ! We hope you will come back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie36
Verbier, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly delightful self contained house with a view”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Right on the shores of the lough, the Boathouse was a real gem. The décor was elegant, there was lots of information on things to do in the area and boardgames to play while enjoying the perfect view. I highly recommend this property as a base for touring a beautiful part of Northern Ireland. We stayed with our 2 children who adored it also.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you loved your stay at The Boathouse and I hope you'll come back and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zippy-fre...
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, idyllic and very relaxing! ”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was beautiful: very grand, with everything you need for your stay. One of the bedrooms has huge bay windows looking out to the Loch... at night we seen shooting stars and woke up to the sun rising in the morning which was completely breathtaking! There really are no words to describe it! It was all idyllic! We had such a relaxing time! You could not get a better location and it couldn't have been more perfect! Feels like a dream now, I'm so glad we took photos to remind us it truly was as amazing as we remember!!!!! We will treasure these memories forever!!!! Thank you so so much!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
How lovely.. thank you for your very kind review and for leaving everything looking so well. Hoping to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an incredible cottage! The views are just unbeatable - waking up in that super comfy bed to a full picture window looking straight onto the loch was incredible. The owners were lovely and very accommodating. We hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you to stay and hope you will come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely house! Spacious, comfortable, and stunning views over Strangford and wonderful sunrises. We had a lovely week. Henry and Lindy were perfect hosts, and even their little springer spaniel made us welcome. There's a lovely walk from behind the house. Go through the gate at the back of the courtyard; cross the field diagonally to the gate at the far side. Then: if you take the path to the right, this will take you right round the island edge to Daft Eddies; if you take the path to the left, then right at the next fork this will take you via a short to Daft Eddies. A trip to Mahee Island and Nundrum Monastic Site is very picturesque, and Castle Espie is well worth a visit. Excellent and deceptively large shop with butcher at Balloo that also sells a selective Gluten free range of foods and coconut palm sugar! Thanks again for a wonderful visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: It didn't bother us, but some might need to be aware that the property is on varying levels and there are small steps from room to room in various places
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Carolyn what a lovely review thank you! We very much enjoyed having you to stay and hope you will come and see us again very soon Minstrel ( spaniel) misses her treats on the front deck with you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin r
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and setting. Suited everyone's needs”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The first appearance was deceptive. As a previous writer said, opening the front door was like entering Dr Who's Tardus.
The view of the lough was hypnotic at times and so varied. A different day a diferent picture!
All the rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable.
The house was a great base for my family to visit Portaferry, Downpatrick, Donaghadee, Mount Stewart and a number of other places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed your visit and hope you will come back to see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing