We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy dine in kitchen with open fire and modern appliances Open fire in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cozy dine in kitchen with open fire and modern appliances
Open fire in the kitchen
Upstairs bedroom
Triple bedroom
Double bedroom
Cosy lounge with cable TV games, DVD's or just relax
Christmas at Barneys
The stunning Mourne Mountains in Winter
Nearby Tollymore Forest Park
Tollymore Park
View to the private garden
Private garden great sunny spot
View from first floor
Close to the beach
Newcastle
Game of Thrones Country
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dundrum, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
4kids2015
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Such a lovely place to stay. Quaint but modern. So close to amenities but Felt like we were in the middle of the countryside yet a few minutes to Dundrum & Newcastle. Lots to do close by. Owners very accommodating, travel cot & highchair all set up on arrival. Enclosed garden, with lovely picnic table & views of the mournes. A real escape. Thank you for allowing us to stay, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your review we love to get feedback. We hope you choose to come back soon and we hope to earn an extra star next time best wishes Chris and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroline...
1 review
“beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

lovely cottage nice relaxing time for all the family cottage was clean and kept beautiful had everything we would need for our stay will be back for another visit soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffSouth...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed stay in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Barneys Cottage is set in a delightful and peaceful location with views towards the Mourne Mountains.
The traditional cottage is very comfortable, and well equipped.
The garden area is perfect to enjoy a coffee and admire the views.
We are already planning our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you for your review we are so glad you had a relaxing time. We look forward to welcoming you back , Chris and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
80saction...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idylic cottage with the perfect backdrop”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We took this cottage for a weekend break for six of us, including two under two. The cottage itself is just outside of Dundrum and Newcastle, in a lovely position with the Mourne Mountains as a backdrop. Stone constructed but very nicely restored internally, with wifi and all the mod cons to keep everyone happy. This really was a fantastic place to stay for a couple of nights and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to spend a few peaceful days in a wonderful part of the world, whether you're a free and easy couple or a family of all ages. We'll certainly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of soap in downstairs bathroom, but that's such a small quibble.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beanysass...
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, we'll be back”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We came to Barney's cottage for a weekend stay in the area to visit friends. The cottage was so lovely, we were pleasantly surprised as it was also very reasonably priced. The cottage was in a good location, we were lucky enough to have some sun and so enjoyed sitting on the picnic bench outside. The only thing we weren't sure of was where to put the recycling. We will hope to stay in Barney's again next time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonne155
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Love this cottage so relaxing”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a lovely stay at Barneys.This is our 6th time.The weather was lovely and the front garden is a sun trap.Very quiet location but near beach and plenty of places to eat.Thankyou again Julie

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing