We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break”
Review of Glendavan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendavan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dinnet B&B and Inns
St. Andrews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We booked in to Glendavan House for a weekend retreat. Looking at the information on the internet it looked like a nice place, and on arrival it certainly did meet our expectations and more. We were treated with the utmost of hospitality throughout the duration of our stay and it was certainly the most comfortable and relaxing of weekends. We stayed in the Ogston suite and found the coal fireplace, whirpool bath a delightful treat on the first night. The conservatory and decking area were both superb, but the only shame was the weather was not conducive to enjoying the decking area fully. Of the area, there are plenty of wonderful scenic walks that can be enjoyed even in the autumn rains.
All in all we had a wonderful time, at a well run hotel that provided us with 5 star luxury without the 5 star price. Many thanks to Rebbeca and all at Glendavan House for making our stay so enjoyable and we would reccomend it to anyone thinking of going and we shall return for a longer stay in the future.

Room Tip: Ogston Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providenciales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I found this B&B on an Internet search and WOW what a find. The attention to detail and trouble taken was outstanding. It is family run in a beautifull nature reserve surrounded by woods and a lake. The bed linen, towels are of the quality found in a top 5 star boutique hotel. Lovely soaps and toilettries. My breakfast was freshly squezzed orange juice, homemade jams and fruit compote,boiled eggs from thier chickens with butter soaked brown bread soldiers. All immacuately presented. Next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: They all looked fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickaroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the Glendavan for one night on our driving tour through Scotland. When we arrived, we were greeted like family from Rebecca, offering tea and insights into our trip. The rooms were beyond spacious and comfortable, as were the bathrooms. The breakfast was unbelievable, and cooked to order (no standard Scottish full breakfast here!). The suite allows ample room for relaxing and conversation, and the unending supply of yea and shortbread available is equally comforting. I was said that we had but one night to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeh141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

What a fantastic place to stay! We were welcomed warmly by Rebecca and shown to the beautiful Davan Suite. It's the only suite without a bathroom (which we knew when we booked) but there are gorgeous fluffy robes within the bedroom. The seating area in the Davan Suite has a fantastic view and we saw red squirrels scurrying around in the heather.

As we were arriving after a long journey, Rebecca was able to arrange a hamper of fantastic food from a local delicatessan which was waiting for us in our room. A really super added extra which was very welcoming. It meant that we could just crash out at the end of a long day!

Breakfast was another delight. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast, croissant, local jams and honey and a good choice of cooked breakfast freshly cooked to order. Divine! In fact, nothing was too much trouble. Within a minute of asking to use an iron, there was one waiting for us outside our room.

We were in Deeside for a wedding and Rebecca had arranged a local taxi to pick us up at the end of the evening and given us an approximate cost which was absolutely spot on. The following day, Alan helped us to retrieve our car. Supreme customer service. We would have loved to have stayed longer, but work dictated that we couldn't. A great shame.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have travelled to this area of Scotland many times and have stayed in most of the local hotels and B&Bs but have now found a real gem.
I travelled with my wife and two children on this trip and we had the use of the two up stairs suites. They were huge with the biggest bathrooms you have ever seen both with free standing role top baths and separate power showers. The main suite has a lounge area with an open fire which was lovely in the evenings they have thought of everything at Glendavan the warm welcome, first class furniture, sky TV, fantastic breakfasts the list goes on but above all these is the way you are made to feel at home. Rebecca, Moira, Alan and Angus made the trip very special indeed. We will be back!

Room Tip: Trantor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marknat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Just back from a short stay at Glendavan House. Fabulous house, fabulous surroundings and extremely pleasant and accommodating hosts. Exceeded our expectations in every respect. We stayed in the Trantor Suite and we were very comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. Hope to be back sometime.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186402Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed one night in the Trantor suite and it was worth every penny, a large sitting room with open fire, bedroom with 4 poster bed, ipod dock, large bathroom with seperate room containing the bath and shower. Great view of the red squirrels which are just metres away. They also have a room downstairs containing a large selection of drinks including beers, spirits, tea, coffee and food items.A huge selection of breakfast foods available also, cooked to perfection. Altogether a very friendly place which i would recommend to anyone, it really does deserve the 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
0.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
0.0 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendavan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendavan House

Property: Glendavan House
Address: Glendavan House Road B9119, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glendavan House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendavan House is a 5* Gold Bed and Breakfast offering quality accommodation in spacious and luxurious suites of rooms. Each suite comprises large bedroom, en-suite bathroom and en-suite sitting room with real coal fires that will be lit for you in the evenings. The Ogston Suite also comprises a lovely conservatory from which you can watch the army of red squirrels and birds that play on the decking outside. Situated in glorious and peaceful countryside fringing the Muir of Dinnet Nature reserve and within the Cairngorms National Park, Glendavan House offers a fabulous retreat from busy life. Peace and relaxation guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glendavan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendavan House Dinnet, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing