We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome on a freezing cold day!”
Review of The Victoria Restaurant - CLOSED

The Victoria Restaurant
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A warm welcome on a freezing cold day!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have recently moved into the Dinnet area and had yet to try the Victoria, so we booked for lunch on a really cold day with snow on the ground.
We were greeted warmly by one of the owners and seated in the very cosy dining room. He explained that they were in the process of changing the menu,(presumably for the start of the tourist season) and that the Home Made Steak Pie was not available. No problem as there were ample other choices available as well as a lighter lunch menu of Baguettes, Burgers and Omelettes. My wife chose the Home Made Tomato Soup and I went for the Deep Fried Brie which came with a salad. Both were delicious. We then both decided on the Haddock and chips which again did not disappoint, we thought we would have a glance at the dessert menu out of interest, and spied the Sticky Toffee pudding which we had heard from friends was excellent! Unable to resist, I can say that this is the best one that I have tried. We managed to force down a couple of Cappucinos and decided to head for home. The tab was very reasonable and the wine list fairly comprehensive. We would certainly give it a top mark, and intend to visit again as we have friends visiting this summer and know that they would love it too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Words fail me about how excellent this place truly is. It's a solid 10/10 and reasonably priced as well, and to think the chef wasn't classically trained!!!! My autistic son even found the food to his exacting standards. The five of us all had different dishes and we all agreed that we could have eaten any of the others and been delighted. Truly... A+ in every way!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Hind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My family and I dropped in at the Victoria for a late Saturday lunch. We knew nothing of the place and ended up there purely by coincidence, but what a lovely surprise we had! The kitchen was actually closed by the time we got there, but the chef was happy to oblige and we had an absolutely lovely meal. All of us, adults and children alike, were delighted with the food; and the wonderful service and cosy atmosphere just made everything perfect. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonne_rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My partner and I had lunch here. It was full which is always a good sign. We both ordered the small fish and chips which was delicious. It stated small portion but neither of us could finish our meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DizzieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish highlands
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Have eaten at the Victoria restaurant many times and is always our first choice for eating out in the local area.
Good quality food with great sized portions and I mean great!
Could maybe do with extending the menu a little ie: no steak or separate beef dish on offer. Service was surprisingly slow on our last visit with one young lad serving but this didn't diverse from a lovely evening out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Restaurant also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing