We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Aberdeenshire.”
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Aberdeenshire.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. Friendly staff and excellent food. The rooms are amazing. I went to a function with work and the atmosphere was brilliant. The rural location adds to the atmosphere too. I recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    115
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
204
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a one night break with husband and 2 dogs - really easy and enjoyable. Lovely outside area to sit and look at the small garden in the evening sun. Dinner was very good - set price, good choice and very tasty. Dogs are allowed in bar, so we retired there after dinner with our wine. Very relaxed friendly feel to the place. Nice room - I think only 2 take dogs, so there are superior ones with better view available. Quiet location with access to lovely long walk from hotel. Would def go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Living in nearby Banchory we have never stayed at the Loch Kinord Hotel but we have visited many times while exploring Deeside and have found it consistently welcoming with a lovely atmosphere and excellent food.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryonieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated between Ballater and Aboyne if you wish to visit Royal Deeside.We had Room 25 on the ground floor which had a four poster bed and a twin shower which is a nice feature not to be missed. It is soon to have a balcony as well which will add to the room and be great for sitting out on nice days. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The food at the hotel is superb. I had the venison, sweet potato mash and hand cut chips which were amazing. We also had sweets which were well presented and tasted amazing.The whisky and orange bread pudding tasted divine. The staff were very attentive although somewhat nervous but they didn't need to be as there service was good. Overall this was a very good experience and I don't have any criticisms only one recommendation that breakfast hours are extended to between 7 and 10 as to have them to only 8 to 9.30 is quite a narrow window.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to drop into the Loch Hotel on our trip around Scotland It is a quaint little place with lots of atmosphere. The owners, Andrew and Jenny were fantastic. The accommodation is very clean and the food was excellent . Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank markrL2742TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have just returned from 4 night break at Loch Kinord Hotel. We had a fantastic time the room was clean, comfortable and very cosy. We ate in the Restaurant every night and found the food excellent, we ate most of the items on the menu between myself,husband and visiting son. The food was excellent value,tasty, well presented by great waiting staff. The breakfast was also delicious and a great filler for sightseeing and walking the beautiful countryside. We will definitely revisit when we visit our son again. Jenny and Andrew are doing a great job they made us very welcome and were very helpful. Keep up the good work and good luck to you both for your continued success.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsoy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just returned from a superb February 2014 family gathering at Loch Kinord Hotel.
Welcome was warm and check in efficient. All of our rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Dinner in the Restaurant was excellent. Selection was varied, expertly cooked and presented - worthy of 5 stars. Breakfast was also great. Service was excellent throughout our stay - Monica is a star !
We will be gathering at Kinord again next year and hope fully visit again before then.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Property: Loch Kinord Hotel
Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet
Loch Kinord Hotel Dinnet, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing