We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woking in Aberdeenshire 8th to 11th June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Woking in Aberdeenshire 8th to 11th June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fantastic hotel. Great staff, great attention, great dinner and breakfast and very comfortable room and bed. Good shower!!

Staff and owner, Andrew can't do enough to make your stay very comfortable. Very pleasant Hungarian chap makes everyone welcome and anticipates your every need as do the other staff. Andrew the owner is on hand to ensure the smooth running of the hotel. I rate this hotel very highly!! Many thanks. Ken Madden.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    115
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
204
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in here for a spot of lunch as we were holidaying nearby and wanted to see what was going on all about us.
Ambience nice, staff friendly and the food good. Nice looking hotel from the road and inside it has an authentic old type feel to it.
However - £35 for 2 sandwhiches, 9 chips, a can of Irn Bru and a coffee.... ????
Really !!!!
Had we had a proper meal there we'd no doubt have had to take out a second mortgage and sell one of our children into slave labour.
We decided against this as we knew there were a lot of other places albeit within 10 miles radius we could go to that wouldn't break the bank.
And - be better value.
The place is a joke. But if you have more money than sense, by all means line up outside to be ripped off and fleeced.
On the positive it is dog friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Excellent menu at very reasonable prices (Two courses plus Coffee for £25). Attractive dining ambience, attentive service and a great meal. Having eaten in at least 10 restaurants in the area, this was easily the best dining experience in the Ballater - Aboyne area. Recommend booking to avoid disappointment. Next time, we'll stay the night and enjoy the comprehensive wine list!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank dunworkingforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a one night stay at the hotel with the wife and the dog, staff was very helpful asked them to get flowers and chocs in the room at the last minute, the staff did very well to get them before we arrived. Room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable got a good nights sleep. Had dinner at the hotel as well, menu was good, food was very good and service was good, will stay there again P Gatt

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. Friendly staff and excellent food. The rooms are amazing. I went to a function with work and the atmosphere was brilliant. The rural location adds to the atmosphere too. I recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a one night break with husband and 2 dogs - really easy and enjoyable. Lovely outside area to sit and look at the small garden in the evening sun. Dinner was very good - set price, good choice and very tasty. Dogs are allowed in bar, so we retired there after dinner with our wine. Very relaxed friendly feel to the place. Nice room - I think only 2 take dogs, so there are superior ones with better view available. Quiet location with access to lovely long walk from hotel. Would def go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Living in nearby Banchory we have never stayed at the Loch Kinord Hotel but we have visited many times while exploring Deeside and have found it consistently welcoming with a lovely atmosphere and excellent food.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryonieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Property: Loch Kinord Hotel
Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet
Loch Kinord Hotel Dinnet, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing