We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem on Deeside?”
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdour, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden gem on Deeside?”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stumbled across this hotel on the internet and booked for a 1 night stay in August 2010. And what a super experience we had. From the moment we entered the hotel we knew we had struck lucky.
The welcome was warm and friendly and we were shown to our room by the very helpful and informative owner. The bedroom and adjoining bathroom were both spotlessly clean with just the right amount of tartan to create a cosy and inviting atmosphere.
After refreshments in the garden we headed for a walk around the loch side which is just behind the hotel.
Had no idea when we booked a room at Loch Kinord Hotel that we would find a hidden gem of a restaurant on Royal Deeside.
Lovely, well lit and furnished room with very attentive waiting staff.
Food strong on locally sourced ingredients.
Dinner was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and good value at £28.95 for 3 courses excluding wine.
The starter of local mushrooms in a filo basket was very tasty but could have been a bit larger whilst the pigeon was sweet and succulent. The Aberdeen Angus steak was melt in the mouth and the lamb served two ways was also very good albeit that the loin, for my taste, should have been slightly pinker. The selection of Scottish cheeses were varied and the trio of whisky desserts were a delight for both eye and stomach!
The wine list is compact but varied with some interesting highlights - and well priced.
This is a restaurant to watch as its menu, style and cooking ascend to even greater heights in the future.
Following a peaceful nights rest in a gloriously comfortable bed we were once again in the dining room and being treated to a delightful breakfast – buffet style juices, cereals, yoghurts, breads and preserves followed by made to order full Scottish, poached haddock and/or continental meats and cheeses. And once again served by friendly and helpful staff.
A super stay and a very pleasant hotel made that bit special by the welcoming and helpful staff and excellent food.
We will most certainly be back and thoroughly recommend that you give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    116
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
205
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
92
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I like this place : it's quiet and cosy. The "table" is good. And the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so_sepia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Great place to stay if it's a relaxing time you're after. We will definitely be back to this very well run hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catya47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochkinord, Owner at Loch Kinord Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Thank You Catya47

Jenny & I have had the hotel for nearly 13 years after taking it out of recievership and refurbishing all the way through. We were both have hotel management degrees and lots of experience in running other hotels before we took the plunge and bought this old place. Lots of challenges but we have a small but great team here and they all know how to look after our guests - I am glad it shows!

I hope you can return again soon

Kind regards

Andrew & Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We had a lovely time at the Loch Kinord Hotel where staff and service was of the highest standard. A friendly, relaxed atmosphere perfectly complimented by the wonderful Deeside countryside, our family had a superb weekend break away from the hustle and bustle of the south east. A special mention for the hearty breakfasts....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochkinord, Owner at Loch Kinord Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Thank you pjkdle

I am glad you had a relaxing stay with us.

We cater for families and I think you had our Master Room with whirlpool bath tub and a seperate lounge to sleep the 2 kids. Its great to be able to shut the door between the kids and your bedroom at night!

Hope you can return soon

Regards

Andrew & Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were made welcome by the owners who were very helpful with information about the area.Our room was extremely comfortable.The food was totally delicious and we were served by very efficient staff,which made for a great dining experience.It is in a very beautiful part of Scotland with easy access to Braemar and Balmoral.We would not hesitate to visit again when next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIDER59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel last week whilst touring the area. The hotel is lovely, the staff very friendly and Jenny and Andrew the owners are great hosts, hospitality at it's best!

Hotel is in a good location to explore the area with Ballater and Braemar close by. The drive from Grantown to Dinnet was awesome, great scenery!

We stayed for dinner which was excellent and breakfast one of the best I had.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeysideLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

lovely, welcome, great food,good base for exploring the area would stay again anytime

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
267 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
185 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Property: Loch Kinord Hotel
Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet
Loch Kinord Hotel Dinnet, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing