We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairytale Wedding Setting”
Review of Forter Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenisla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forter Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Yelverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Fairytale Wedding Setting”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We got married at Forter Castle in August this year and were truly blown away by the experience! Living in Devon and not having visited Forter Castle prior to our big day, we were a lightly apprehensive about what to expect but we certainly need not have been as everything was perfect! The castle is in a truly stunning location with breathtaking views. The interior of the castle is equally impressive with beautiful furnishings in every room. Lairds room with its exquisite four poster bed and roll top bath was just amazing to get ready in prior to the wedding. The small chapel creates an incredibly intimate wedding atmosphere which is hard to describe until you experience it for yourself. We would also highly recommend John Ramsay, a local chef who came in to cook for us on the wedding day - all of our guests commented on the seasonal and perfectly cooked food. Furthermore, I cannot thank Katherine Pooley and her team enough who were always on hand prior to our stay with any queries I had and who were more than helpful. All in all we had a fairytale wedding day and truly relaxing holiday with our close family in the most beautiful setting!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanVoyce, Manager at Forter Castle, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your review some time ago we apologies for the late late response. We are delighted you had a fantastic wedding and do hope you return some day perhaps for a wedding anniversary.

Kind regards
Forter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

12 of us stayed there for a week and couldn't have loved it more. breathtaking views. all the rooms are beautifully decorated in keeping with a property like this. The only downside was the overbearing amount of family photos.
on one day, to celebrate my father-in-laws 70th birthday we had a chef come to the castle and cook for us (John Ramsey) all i can say is wow. the food was locally sourced and cooked to perfection.
I can whole heartedly recommend staying at this castle for its character and location.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GaryStockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanVoyce, Manager at Forter Castle, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your review some time ago we apologies for the late late response. Apologies for the over load of family photos - we have since taken down many of the photos but kept enough for it to remain warm and friendly but not overbearing.

Kind regards
Forter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Forter Castle gave me and 11 friends the most magnificent, relaxing and magical holiday we have ever been on. The owners of the castle have clearly thought about every little detail in the castle and provided us with anything we could hope for.
Each bedroom had its own character, with something to suit everyone and all the quirks that you would hope for in a castle. The Great Hall provided us with the perfect setting for relaxing evenings with board games in front of the fire, grand banquets for birthdays and grand breakfasts!
The bathrooms and kitchen were fully equipped with again, everything you could ever dream of needing - it was better than my own home!
We went on lots of long walks up mountains which were just a stone's throw away, met friendly neighbours along the way and even saw lambs being born!
The views from each bedroom are truly spectacular, giving you a tough decision whether to spend more time in the fantastic castle, or go out and see the scenery!

I have to strongly disagree with "Dave C" who clearly was not prepared for staying in a castle - the winding staircases and low lighting was part of the character of the place; bright spotlights and a straight staircase would have been out of place and more suited to a country house hotel!
I also have to say that something that comes up in our group time and time again, was how nice it was to have no internet and no phone signal in the castle - we really got away from our work, spent good quality time together and almost forgot about what was happening 'back home'. It was perfect.

I can't thank the Pooley family enough for letting us stay in their beautiful castle, and the remarkable job done on the interiors made it the most comfortable holiday we've ever had.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucindaB399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanVoyce, Manager at Forter Castle, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Dear Lucy

Thank you for your review some time ago we apologies for the late late response. The owners appreciate your eye for detail and how much time and effort has gone into keeping the castle authentic yet comfortable for a modern day break/holiday.

We do hope that you might visit again some day.

Kind regards
Forter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Pooley family and in particular Katharine for a once in a lifetime opportunity to stay in their magnificent residence. The long weekend we spent in Forter Castle offered our group an experience that I doubt we could get anywhere else in Europe, and certainly not here in the United States.

Our stay in this magnificent Scottish castle (actually called a "keep" we learned) formed only a small part of our month-long vacation in Europe, but it was undoubtedly the most special part.
The rooms and furnishings were plush and grandiose, yet comfortable and welcoming. Just to touch the walls and you can literally feel them resonate with their centuries of history. The bedrooms were without doubt the most comfortable we have stayed. My girlfriend and I stayed in "Sebastian's Room" and I can't be sure, perhaps it was the pure Highland air, but I don't think I have EVER slept so well in my life.

We deliberately chose the castle for its remote location to escape the intrusions of modern life, cell phones, internet etc, and that's exactly what we did. If necessary it was only a short drive to the nearest town where we could plug back into the 21st century, and there was a pay phone inside the castle if needed, but thankfully it wasn't.

The arresting scenery of the Scottish Highlands simply took our breath away. It gave us chills to think of the history to take place on these magical lands. As we had hired a car in Edinburgh, we were able to visit many of the surrounding areas of the castle and take advantage of a little fishing in the local lochs. We didn't catch anything but we didn't at all care. We loved every minute of just being there.

It is our dream to return to Forter Castle one day, but if that never happens we are all so very grateful to have been able to do it even just that once. I cannot recommend the Scottish Highlands and, especially, Forter Castle, highly enough. All I can say in the end is, go see it for yourself, I promise you won't be sorry.

Thanks again

N&A Rowntree

Shreveport LA

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nickrowntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanVoyce, Manager at Forter Castle, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your review some time ago we apologies for the late late response.

We do hope that you might visit again some day.

Kind regards
Forter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had our wedding here as we were after something small and intimate. It was perfect and just what we were looking for. A proper fairytale castle, with turrets, winding staircase, grand fireplace and impressive views! Very pleased with our choice! The family owners and housekeeper are both lovely.

Proper place to get away from it all - obviously no internet or mobile signal (we expected that and it is to be expected as the castle is very rural.) It was great to leave the outside world behind!

It's very in keeping with the original castle, and it wasn't until I looked very closely, that I realised just how much effort has gone into furnishing the place. Everything is designer (and I mean everything) and really adds a special touch. Although, the individual cost of every item in the castle is kept in one of the albums, which we did think was a little showy. It's quite clear that it wasn't exactly cheap to renovate.

Loved the kitchen, the Lairds room and the Grand hall. Perfect big fireplace to socialise in the evenings, although some noise can be heard from the Great Hall in the Lairds room. Lovely underfloor heating in the Grand Hall made it very toasty. The floors are pretty much stone (except the bedrooms) so beware if you have very young children as we did. Although they were fine, we did take a travel stairgate just in case & extra care is best taken up the spiral staircase.

We were married in the chapel - probably the smallest ever but so worth it! Just made it so intimate and we wouldn't change a thing.
We had a lovely time! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Eternal_Sunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanVoyce, Manager at Forter Castle, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your review some time ago we apologies for the late late response. We are so pleased you enjoyed your wedding day at Forter. We do hope that you come back again perhaps for a wedding anniversary as you will see some significant changes.

Kind regards
Forter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire,scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Fabulous cosy castle,we were actually too warm for the first 2 nights until we grew acustomed to the heat from the underfloor heating .We didnt need all those winter woolies at all.The towel rails were great in every bathroom for keeping the towels toasty and the water was always piping hot.
The most beautiful surroundings and the castle was just amazing.The beds must be the most comfortable in the world.
Chef,John Ramsays food was just to die for.
Plenty of rooms for all the family,too many in fact for our little family,we didnt even use the 4 bed attic dormitory room at all.
There is no cleaning or linen changing services included in the price but this can very easily be arranged with the housekeeper who can even do breakfast duty if you want her to.I would recommend getting the housekeeper to do your grocery shopping for your arrival as it takes up a bit of you time to drive into blairgowrie for shopping.
The castle is a real home from home and our every need was catered for.The bathrooms all have lovely luxurious handwash and liquid soaps but do take bar soaps for your guests or ask the housekeeper to add those,we had to go out and buy some.
If you are using a string quartet then there is plenty of space in the great hall and if you leave the doors between hall and chapel open via the spiral starcase you can hear them clearly from the chapel.We didnt discover that until later and our poor quartet had to move between the corridor for the chapel and the great hall for the reception and set up again.
For evening entertainment George Rennie was fab on his accordian,we had a mini ceilidh,we all danced all night.
If you need and contacts for hair and make-up or musicians please contact me.
One thing is that the water to the castle is not mains and is via a well.There was plenty of it and it was fine for washing and cooking etc but I would definately take bottled water for drinking.Some of our family found it dried up their throats a little just because of the high mineral content of it,so bottled water definately recommended for drinking.
If you have dogs they will love running free in the grounds and there is even a doggie toilet behind the piggery for cleaning up after them easily.They really have thought of everything.
I would recommend for family gathering,parties,experience and pamper weeks or weekends and most of all for weddings.
We were married on the 5th Novemebr midway through our stay.Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scottishrainbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanVoyce, Manager at Forter Castle, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your review some time ago we apologies for the late late response. It sounds like you had a wonderful wedding and as such we are delighted for you.

We do hope that you might visit again some day perhaps for your wedding anniversary.

Kind regards
Forter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

We spent our fairytale wedding, and whole week in a fairytale castle.
Stunning castle, stunning scenery, perfect setting for a close personal wedding.

Stayed at Forter castle with close friends for a week, married in the small chapel, and later in the week spent Burns night in the perfect scottish setting.

Not an imposing castle, but warm, homely and friendly. The housekeeper was most welcoming, and the booking service from the Pooley family was wonderful - nothing was to much trouble.

Nothing will ever take away the memory of our first view of Forter castle as we rounded the bend - stunning, and quite litteraly breath taking!

Highly recommend for anyone wanting to either just get away from it all, or to spend quality time with those people that you love most.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rayaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanVoyce, Manager at Forter Castle, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you for your review some time ago we apologies for the late late response. We are delighted you had such a wonderful wedding.

We do hope that you might visit again some day - perhaps for a wedding anniversary.

Kind regards
Forter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenisla
6.9 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Glenisla Hotel
Glenisla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkton of Glenisla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Strathardle Inn
The Strathardle Inn
#1 of 1 in Kirkmichael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gulabin Lodge Hostel
Gulabin Lodge Hostel
#2 of 2 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forter Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forter Castle

Property: Forter Castle
Address: Folda, Glenisla PH11 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Glenisla
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Glenisla
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Scottish castle is available for long or short breaks in the highlands of Scotland. Ideally situated for all types of holidays. A magnificent setting for a wedding, Forter also has its own chapel. The Pooley family home is convenient for Mount Blair, Glen Isla and Glen Shee. Available for Summer, Winter, Spring and Autumn breaks. Local activities include walking, hunting, shooting, fishing, skiiing and flying. Forter Castle is also perfect for romantic luxury breaks.Surrounded by Glenisla's stunning scenery, Forter Castle was originally built in 1560 and enjoys a history as rich as the countryside in which it sits. Destroyed by the Duke of Argyll in 1640, it has been completely restored using traditional materials.Interior Designer Katharine Pooley has transformed the interior into one of luxury and comfort. Forter boasts all modern amenities and occupies five floors, each reached by a stone spiral staircase. There are 6 luxurious bedroms sleeping 12-16 comfortably. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forter Castle Hotel Glenisla
Forter Castle Glenisla, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing