We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graet Lodges and Location - Shame about the staff!”
Review of Glen Clova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Clova Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Graet Lodges and Location - Shame about the staff!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed a long weekend here recently for a birthday with friends. The location is perfect for a get away - to escape the world. It is so peaceful and the lodges are perfectly equipped and the hot tub was well maintained with daily cleaning and temperature checks.

The food was tasty when eating in the nearby hotel, only problem was when requested sweets we ordered and order never arrived, after waiting half an hour we asked where they were and were informed the kitchen had closed and the chef had gone home! Not great news after we had order sweets, we should have been told the kitchen was closed before we were allowed to order.

Also, not being from the area, we requested information about the area, the staff had no idea where the nearest shop was we asked whether Kirriemuir or Forfar was closer and we received the answer 'yes, I think so'. It seemed all weekend anything we asked was answered with 'I think so' which is frustrating when they work there and we are the tourists!

Apart from this the rest of the weekend was great and the fantastic lodges made up for the very unhelpful staff!

Room Tip: The Lodges are fantastic! Would recommend these over actually staying in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABZ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Clova H, General Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear ABZ90

Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our lodges. We have an excellent product in terms of the standard of facilities and furnishings in our ever popular lodges.
Unfortunately it would appear that we have not performed well enough in terms of the Customer Service experience that we offered you in the hotel. Your comments are valid and I have to say this is simply not good enough from my team here at the hotel. You may have gathered both from your visit and also perhaps from recent ‘Trip Advisor’ postings that we are trying to make significant improvements. The feedback that we receive both directly from customers as well as on social media/internet show that overall customer experience is first class. What I have learned from your posting is that the next big hurdle that my young team need to overcome is one of consistency! It’s no good having 95% of our customers satisfied with their experience, we would like a 100%!
We have now made some adjustments to staffing and to try and ensure situations like this don’t occur in future.
Regarding the series of ‘I think so’ responses that you received this is also not what I would expect. For me a simple ‘I’m sorry that I don’t really know that sir/madam but give me a moment and I will go and find out for you’. Like most businesses in the hospitality sector we have a number of staff who are not from the Kirriemuir/Forfar area and we will sharpen up a little on staff training in relation to this. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
The only part of your posting that I would actually disagree with are your remarks in the ‘Room Tips’ section. They may be slightly misleading. Our small 10 bedroomed hotel has an excellent reputation. It’s a small, charming hotel offering (for the most part!) a great welcome, excellent highland hospitality and tasty, well presented food. The hotel also represents excellent value for money. Our lodge customers take advantage of the hotel facilities frequently, some even returning to stay in the hotel as well as do many repeat customers who prefer what the hotel offers over the lodges. They are two different products but both offer their own brand of welcoming hospitality. Your ‘Room Tip’ statement is just a little unfair to be posted on the internet in my view.
However, many thanks for taking the time to write your overall constructive review. Your comments have been taken on board and we will pay a little more attention to consistency in terms of customer service. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back sometime in the near future.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
5th June 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    93
    29
    18
    12
See reviews for
90
164
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oohsun
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a quality hot tasty plentiful meal on Saturday night 31 May. Could not fault anything. Thank you all at the Glenclova hotel. Recent management change has improved an already great service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank oohsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed one night at the Glen Clova hotel. The location is just wonderful. There are some nice walking trails. It’s a charming little hotel with friendly staff. Our room (nr. 2) was small and quite basic. The bathroom was very tiny (1x2 meter for a toilet and shower) and really could use some updating and new tiles. Dinner and breakfast was good. There’s also a nice bar where you can relax after exploring the surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask if you can see a couple of rooms or stay in one of the self catering lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl4577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for a v important wedding anniversary in one of the lodges. Quiet, peaceful and a relaxing weekend walking and relaxing in the hot-tub and sauna provided. Both were fantastic, the hot-tub outdoors benefits from a slight overhang of the roof, so okay if there's a bit of drizzle or rain. Plastic wine glasses provided, so that's always a plus point. The sauna heated up to a good temperature, in a spacious bathroom with a large shower unit. The bedroom was large, occupying the whole of the far end of the lodge - fantastic bed and bedding, slept really well each night.
There is a well kitted out kitchen with mini dishwasher, washer and all the detergents needed, good selection of cooking equipment and a good oven (not always to be found in a lodge) to boot! All the furnishings were in good condition, underfloor heating kept us cosy when necessary.
The hotel has a bar and restaurant if you don't want to self-cater, but we only ventured there for a drink in the 'walkers bar' which was pleasant.
Our only 'complaint' was the lack of bathrobes, but that hardly spoiled the weekend. In fact it was more amusing to hear that someone had accidentally gotten rid of them, which explained why housekeeping couldn't find them! Staff were polite, pleasant and very welcoming, with a courtesy visit up to the lodge on our first night to check everything was okay, which was much appreciated.
Highly recommended and would definitely come back!

Room Tip: The lodge 'at the top of the hill' is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twokidsonepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I recently visited Glen Clova with my elderly mother on a day trip to have lunch at the hotel. The staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. The setting is stunningly beautiful and provided a perfect backdrop for a wholesome friendly Scottish welcome with fantastic food. The fish in a box was to die for. I have never tasted such well cooked deep fried fish, with batter so light and crisp that it melted in the mouth to reveal perfectly cooked fish accompanied with beautifully flavoured peas, a small side salad and chips - all stylishly presented. My Mother loved her Chicken Kiev. It was so good to see traditional dishes on the menu and to have them delivered to perfection. It is clear that the chef shows great care with the dishes presented.

A truly wonderful meal, at a hotel located in one of Scotland's hidden gems.

Thank you. I look forward to returning with the rest of the family. The drive to the hotel is down a long narrow road (about 6 miles) but the welcome and catering is worth every yard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
520 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Warm welcome on entering the dining room, nice table at the window overlooking the countryside, order promptly taken and served, food very good as was the whole experience, Comprehensive menu with blackboard specials, the dining room and furniture has recently been refurbished to provide a pleasant place to enjoy your food.
Large car park, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Following a walk around Glen Doll my husband and I stopped at the Glen Clova hotel for lunch. The location is beautiful and with the restaurant having large picture windows you are able to enjoy watching all the wildlife while eating your meal.

We both ordered the sirloin steak which was as beautifully presented as it was delicious.

The staff were very friendly and attentive but without being intrusive.

We are visiting the area and have found it difficult to find places that look as though they serve good food outside the main towns so after the Glen Clova was recommended to us we were more than happy to try it out and were far from disappointed, it really made our visit to the Cairngorm National Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCC911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Clova
17.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
17.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
15.7 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Clova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Clova Hotel

Property: Glen Clova Hotel
Address: Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Milton of Clova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Clova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic serenity of the Angus glens, Glen Clova Hotel is the perfect get away. Our historic country hotel dates back to the Drovers Inn of the 1850's. The charm and allure of the hotel has been carefully preserved and we have exactly what you need to relax and escape. Our hotel provides the utmost pleasures of modern day living combined with a feeling of history. This is the ultimate Scottish get away. 10 en-suite rooms, bunkhouse that sleeps 32 with en-suite facilities & eight luxury lodges that sleep between 2 & 6 people and each have their own hot tub and sauna (prices vary depending on time of year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Clova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Clova
Glen Clova Hotel Angus, Scotland - Milton Of Clova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing