We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sons Wedding”
Review of Glen Clova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Clova Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Sons Wedding”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just spent a week in a Clova Lodge,the week ending with our son's wedding at Clova Kirk and reception in the Glen Clova Hotel. Many thanks to David and Lynn and their staff who made the occasion unforgettable. The reception meal and evening buffet were really delicious

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    98
    29
    19
    13
See reviews for
96
170
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for weekend for my nephews wedding hotel was great food excellent staff could not do enough for you this must all be because dave and lynn have a great team would not hesitate a return forgot to mention the veiws were exceptional all and all fantastic stay thanks to all staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhouse24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stopped here for a snack on the way to glen doll. Ordered drinks & sandwiches at the bar which we could consume at the outside tables. No problem with the drinks, & the sandwiches were tasty enough. However, the bread was hard, having been left out in the sun too long, so therefore just an average score.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and me had a drive up Glen Clova last Saturday and thought we had nothing better to do than just waltz into the dining room grab a table but we were wrong... the pace really was going a fair and had a great buzz about it. It was very busy. That said the staff were all very good and on approaching the bar to order food in the bar area, the girl took our drinks order but not before letting us know that if we were ordering food there would be a little wait due to it being so busy. I thought this was very honest and up front. We chose to wait and a little time later the same girl appeared and took our order. We only ordered Scampi but it was very well presented, piping hot and delicious ! best scampi and chips Ive had !
The hotel has a great location and as far as scenary is concerned - its a six out of five.... a real asset to Angus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinegarhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent 4 Days in 3 bed lodge with family and as always lodges excellent, well equipped and spacious. Great location and wonderful views, good walking trails and information from Ranger station. However., having stayed on a few occasions under previous management, I feel that the friendliness is not the same.ie. if rooms were cleaned we were allowed access before 4 o'clock which was much appreciated. On this occasion, we were not allowed access until exactly 4 o'clock, receptionist saying housekeeping not finished but I know this was not the case having seen them finish as I arrived outside the lodge. We were also asked for a housekeeping deposit of £100 which I refused to pay, not having to do this on previous occasions although witnessed other guests paying between £100-£150.

The bar and kitchen have been refurbished, with new leather seating which was really comfortable. Although not so sure about the new Bar menu which I feel was a bit restricting, no vegetarian, no chicken , no snacks , but pizzas very good and real chips.

Apart from the above! All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed a long weekend here recently for a birthday with friends. The location is perfect for a get away - to escape the world. It is so peaceful and the lodges are perfectly equipped and the hot tub was well maintained with daily cleaning and temperature checks.

The food was tasty when eating in the nearby hotel, only problem was when requested sweets we ordered and order never arrived, after waiting half an hour we asked where they were and were informed the kitchen had closed and the chef had gone home! Not great news after we had order sweets, we should have been told the kitchen was closed before we were allowed to order.

Also, not being from the area, we requested information about the area, the staff had no idea where the nearest shop was we asked whether Kirriemuir or Forfar was closer and we received the answer 'yes, I think so'. It seemed all weekend anything we asked was answered with 'I think so' which is frustrating when they work there and we are the tourists!

Apart from this the rest of the weekend was great and the fantastic lodges made up for the very unhelpful staff!

Room Tip: The Lodges are fantastic! Would recommend these over actually staying in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABZ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Clova H, General Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear ABZ90

Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our lodges. We have an excellent product in terms of the standard of facilities and furnishings in our ever popular lodges.
Unfortunately it would appear that we have not performed well enough in terms of the Customer Service experience that we offered you in the hotel. Your comments are valid and I have to say this is simply not good enough from my team here at the hotel. You may have gathered both from your visit and also perhaps from recent ‘Trip Advisor’ postings that we are trying to make significant improvements. The feedback that we receive both directly from customers as well as on social media/internet show that overall customer experience is first class. What I have learned from your posting is that the next big hurdle that my young team need to overcome is one of consistency! It’s no good having 95% of our customers satisfied with their experience, we would like a 100%!
We have now made some adjustments to staffing and to try and ensure situations like this don’t occur in future.
Regarding the series of ‘I think so’ responses that you received this is also not what I would expect. For me a simple ‘I’m sorry that I don’t really know that sir/madam but give me a moment and I will go and find out for you’. Like most businesses in the hospitality sector we have a number of staff who are not from the Kirriemuir/Forfar area and we will sharpen up a little on staff training in relation to this. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
The only part of your posting that I would actually disagree with are your remarks in the ‘Room Tips’ section. They may be slightly misleading. Our small 10 bedroomed hotel has an excellent reputation. It’s a small, charming hotel offering (for the most part!) a great welcome, excellent highland hospitality and tasty, well presented food. The hotel also represents excellent value for money. Our lodge customers take advantage of the hotel facilities frequently, some even returning to stay in the hotel as well as do many repeat customers who prefer what the hotel offers over the lodges. They are two different products but both offer their own brand of welcoming hospitality. Your ‘Room Tip’ statement is just a little unfair to be posted on the internet in my view.
However, many thanks for taking the time to write your overall constructive review. Your comments have been taken on board and we will pay a little more attention to consistency in terms of customer service. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back sometime in the near future.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
5th June 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oohsun
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a quality hot tasty plentiful meal on Saturday night 31 May. Could not fault anything. Thank you all at the Glenclova hotel. Recent management change has improved an already great service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank oohsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Clova
14.8 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
369 reviews
17.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
542 reviews
17.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
187 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
22.4 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Clova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Clova Hotel

Property: Glen Clova Hotel
Address: Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Milton of Clova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Clova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic serenity of the Angus glens, Glen Clova Hotel is the perfect get away. Our historic country hotel dates back to the Drovers Inn of the 1850's. The charm and allure of the hotel has been carefully preserved and we have exactly what you need to relax and escape. Our hotel provides the utmost pleasures of modern day living combined with a feeling of history. This is the ultimate Scottish get away. 10 en-suite rooms, bunkhouse that sleeps 32 with en-suite facilities & eight luxury lodges that sleep between 2 & 6 people and each have their own hot tub and sauna (prices vary depending on time of year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Clova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Clova
Glen Clova Hotel Angus, Scotland - Milton Of Clova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing