We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic fabulous long weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Luxury open plan living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Luxury open plan living room
Cosy wood burning stove
Spectacular viewsd from balcony.
Open plan dining for 10 guests
Entrance hall
Luxury king bedroom with ensuite
Luxury king bedroom with ensuite
King bedroom
Twin bedroom
Lovely enclosed gardens with views
Outside enclosed gardens
The famopus Colintraive pub within easy walking distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Colintraive, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oldfogeys
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic fabulous long weekend ”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Seven old school pals now in their 50s for a long weekend. House was absolutely perfect in every way, location, quality, furnishings, and we really couldn’t have asked for anything more. Lots of helpful and thoughtful extras in the house, like dishwasher tabs, washing powder, all the things you think you’ll have to bring to a self catering weekend away- Don’t, they’ve thought of everything!! Brilliant warm comfortable house, fab bathrooms and beds and lovely food -and staff- in the hotel next door. Get it booked, you won’t regret it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house with great views!”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed for a week in Eilean Dhu for New Year. A very comfortable house next door but one to a very comfortable pub! Great food and friendly staff in a very cosy atmosphere. 5 of the 6 strong party were ill but that didn't stop our fun. Our third visit to the area but won't be our last, this really is a truly wonderful place.
I would highly recommend this house, it is very well decorated and provides a very cosy retreat.
Thank you Patricia!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for a week in July with family - the location is idyllic but remote so make sure to stock up on groceries and necessities ahead of time or early in the day at the shop next door!

The layout of the house is fantastic with a grand open plan kitchen/dining/living space complete with exposed wood beams and lush leather couches. I thoroughly enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and lounging around in the evenings. A fireplace also is the cherry on top!

I would recommend a few items to really take this house up to luxury status:
- For it to be considered true self catering, I think that certain items should have been provided. We did not have any extra bin bags, scissors, or oven mitts. We were able to get this at the hotel next door where the people were very helpful.
- The house was not entirely clean when we arrived.
- The lighting in the master bathroom was insufficient.
- Beds were not overly comfortable (although this was personal preference).
- There was never enough hot water for 8 people so we always had to put the booster on.

Overall, I very thoroughly enjoyed my stay (as did all other members of the party!) and with a few minor tweaks, the property would be absolutely perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EddyNico
La Thuile
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place to live life”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It's not often that one finds a self catering property that is so superbly furnished and so comfortable to stay in that you could decide to live there forever. Eilean Dhu is such a place. Don't hesitate to book long or short stays at this wonderful house. There are a million beautiful places to visit close by and Patricia who also runs the nearby Colin Traive Hotel is the perfect host having had many years of experience as a tour guide all over the world. She can arrange every activity you desire and knows every secret corner of this paradise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
"Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We have passed your comments to the owner. We hope you book again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays.""""""""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandi_10
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Easter Break”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I booked this self catering property for a weeks Easter break with trepidation as it was to be our first holiday away with another family and I suggested this property.............. it couldn't have gone better!

This property is absolutely fabulous for what we have just done. So there was our little family with one daughter aged 5. Then the other family with two daughters aged 5 and 7 and a Labrador. We took the front two bedrooms, the one to the right of the front door has an ensuite and our daughter had the one opposite and the other family took the back two in the same mirror effect with another family bathroom. There is a hallway area at the back of the property which was big enough for them to put the dog crate so everyone was happy. In their girls bedroom there was a futon thing so on some nights all the girls slept in the same bedroom which they loved!!

Upstairs is just amazing with sea views across to bute that had you just sitting and staring....................Its is all open plan with lends itself to being very sociable where you can have people cooking, while someone is sitting on the L shaped leather couch and the kids were doing their thing at the large dinning table. There is also the master suit but we decided not to flip a coin for it although after seeing it it did seem such a waste. It has a large bed with walk in robe then a large bathroom.

We were very lucky that we had a couple of sunny days so we opened up the bi folding doors onto the large balcony where we sat and ate out! yes in Scotland! with the gorgeous sea views behind us.

The interior is lovely with wood floors, large L shaped leather couch and pieces of local artwork dotted here and there. The cooker is a large Belling very easy to use and a Bosch dishwasher that is very quiet. The beds are very comfy with heavy duvets, I was so toasty I had to open the windows on a night time.

The location of this property is absolutely perfect as well, there is the hotel right next door which serves the most delicious food if you cant be bothered to cook. We all went twice and had the most amazing food where nothing was too much trouble even with 3 littlies. You have the ferry across to bute just a stones throw away. Then if you want to walk or cycle there is a single track road off to the left where we took the girls on cycles to the beaches, where they had great fun finding creatures and the most beautiful stones that were green, pink and white almost like quartz.

This was our friends first time in Scotland AND away with another family. I can honestly say that this house and its location made our holiday. The house is big enough that we weren't on top of each other and our friends absolutely loved it.

I am going to recommend it to a friend who goes away with family I loved it so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
"Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We have passed your comments to the owner. We hope you book again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays.""""""""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammy08
lisburn
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great house decorated with style. Everything you ever need is provided and lots more. The owner also owns the Colintraive Hotel which serves great food and has a very friendly armosphere. The food at the hotel is excellent and features lots of local produce. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots to do locally
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
""Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Eilean Dhu Country House and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M B
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect House”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

10 of us stayed for a long weekend in November. Eilean Dhu is such a lovely house. It is well furnished, very comfortable and dog friendly.

All the decor, furniture and beds are new and of good quality. Because the living area upstairs is open-plan it means that everyone is together. For example if someone is preparing a meal, they are not left out as they are still amongst what's going on. The living area has a balcony which has a stunning view over to the Kyles of Bute.

As I organised the trip, our friends said we should have the beautiful master bedroom upstairs. It was huge and the en suite even had a heated floor. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the fresh white, good quality bedding.

On the Saturday evening we had dinner in Patricia's (the owner) hotel next door. Everyone enjoyed that and then we were all invited to a local ceilidh, just up the road, near the house.

Even though the weather was dreadful everyone enjoyed the weekend and loved the house. It's a beautiful part of the world and I hope to persuade my husband that we really have to return to the hotel next summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open-plan living area overlooking the Kyles of Bute
Liked least: The weather but it was Scotland in November!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing