We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colintraive is lucky to have you”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Well well...what a fabulous wee hotel!! Two nights at this fabulous venue was just the tonic we needed. Delicious food, a fabulous setting, attractive rooms a million miles away from the standard stuff you get in larger establishments and attentive but fun staff. Crowned by good Scottish hospitality and interesting company from both a local and a yachting clientele. Patricia the owner works her socks off to ensure that guests go away happy and is cheery and engaging company after a hard day having fun in the area. It doesn't get much better.! I wish you were my local!. We will definitely be back. Ed and Fiona

Room Tip: front rooms overlooking the ferry and the Island of Bute and have the most amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

My wife, twin girls and myself just came off the ferry from a visit to the isle of bute for the day when we came across the colintraive inn, the staff could not be more helpful, the food was exceptional, I had the seafood linguine and wish I had asked patricia for the receipe so that I could make this at home, it was fab after we had a bad experience the day before at the loch fine oyster bar restaraunt, we will be back at the colintraive inn next time we are in the area for the delicious food and relaxed atmosphere. (Can you send me the receipe for the seafood linguine)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Goldwing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A small informal hotel which also serves as the local pub, shop and post office adjacent to the mainland end of the lesser of the two CalMac Bute ferry routes. An easy-going air pervades.

The very few rooms (there are only four) err towards the homely rather than the luxurious. The two rooms at the front offer a wonderful view across the Kyle of Bute. There is a walk-in shower (whose doors are very difficult to open from inside) but no bath and no shaver point. Rooms for two people have only one chair. I can never understand hotels that do this; which person do they expect to stand all the time? A small piece of nonsense is the kettle lead that is so short that the kettle can only be used on the floor. Come on guys; how much is four feet of thirteen amp flex going to cost you? The wi-fi fails to reach even the room directly above the bar, where the router is located, which leads me to conclude that it must be very old and feeble. An investment of no more than £ 40.00 would procure a modern WAP that would reach all corners of this small building; why would anyone not do this?

The restaurant offers rather more than might be expected of a four-room hotel. The menu, shared with the bar, offers a fairly wide choice with seafoods strongly represented. Some guile & imagination has been used and dishes are substantial and well presented. Prices are not cheap but represent reasonable value. Breakfasts, which have to be pre-ordered the previous evening, are excellent.

As we left the owner drew attention to the various points of interest in the neighbourhood that we did not have time to visit. She has a point; next time will spend a little longer here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is an all too seldom chance to combine the experience of luxury with locality. This is not a chain hotel run by a salaried manager. This is a genuine heart and hub of a community owned and shared with all by the owner herself who exudes warmth and welcome to her locals in the bar and her patrons stepping in. The menu, which can be enjoyed in the restaurant or bar; the guest's choice, offers a real taste of local produce and character with a personal panache which betrays the owner's respect and thoughtfulness for her guests whom she recognises and greets immediately yet quietly, inspiring a calm familiarity. The food is simply delicious. The views from the fine accommodation are stunning.
A visit to this hotel is an absolute necessity for anyone wishing to experience the Argyll, Scotland, and indeed Britain.
Thank you Patricia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel after dinner, so unfortunately didn't have chance to try the king scallops on black pudding which had been highly recommended by friends that had visited previously, but instead we enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar- great atmosphere and the lady working behind the bar was very friendly and gave us great advice on what we could do while we were in the area!
I had the luxury seafood salad for lunch the next day which was to die for... The best salmon I have ever eaten!
We stayed in room number 2 which had beautiful views and were very well cleaned.
Patricia, the owner, was wonderful and always around to help if we needed anything.
Overall a fabulous experience in Colintraive and we are very much looking forwards to our return trip to the hotel in September!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Jane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our first day in Argyll and we headed out for a drive to see what we could see. As this was a 'bimble' we didn't bother with a map and just went off - after a lovely drive along the coast from Innellan, we headed in land and drove through the hills. Scenery is just amazing, whichever way you look.

We saw the sign: 'Colintraive Hotel - 6 miles' at the side of the road, about an hour into our drive and ready for a break (with a five year old who was getting fidgety) we headed that way. It was a good choice.

On arrival, we pulled up in the car park and were directed towards the community garden and heritage centre that sit alongside the hotel. It was nice to stretch our legs and let the little one explore the lovely gardens. The heritage centre was good - small, but full of 'real' history from Colintraive, with interesting pieces on previous inhabitants and how the community has changed over time.

After a wander around we headed inside the hotel for lunch. It was nice to see parts of the building that were relatively unchanged from the photographs in the heritage centre. The bar area, where the food is served was compact and cosy, it became full while we were there, showing how popular it can be.

There was a good range of options on the menu - with a good deal of local produce, which is what you would hope for. Food was served quickly, freshly cooked home-style, with good flavours. I had the local fish pie - fantastic, with lots of filling; my husband had the king scallops on black pudding, which were also good. Our little boy enjoyed the fresh 'fish fingers' and yummy home-made chips - great meal for a child, and nice to see nothing from a packet.

This was a great find on our random journey and our little boy has already asked if we'll be going back :) Everyone we met in the hotel and shop were very friendly, helpful and provided a nice, genuine service. Definitely worth a stop on your journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

The food and sevice and everything about the hotel is excellent would highly recommend to others.
The hotel is in a great location for walking, cycling, kayaking and sailing with lovely views and just a short hop away from Bute.
The fish and seafood dishes are very very tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail22345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you so much, was great to have sporty minded people like ourselves staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
7.2 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
730 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
286 reviews
21 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
12.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range: £115 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colintraive Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing