We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch ”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch ”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped off here for our first meal in Scotland and will hopefully return before we leave! We only had sandwiches and chips but it was all delicious! The chips were clearly handmade and the best we have had in a long time! The staff were very friendly and helpful - ans gave us a map of the region and advised us on places to visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bittis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    64
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
64
174
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Highly recommend this hotel; lovely rooms, very comfortable and with beautiful view. A really good restaurant serving fresh fish, seafood and homemade puddings. Fab pub too! One of the nicest stay in Scotland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with stunning sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a delightful short break at this charming traditional Scottish hotel, beautifully situated and taking full advantage of the excellent views overlooking the Kyles of Bute. Restful, yet stimulating.
From the start the very warm welcome we received from the proprietor and her staff set the tone for what was to be a memorable stay. The bedroom was really comfortable and spacious with a good large bed, and we were entertained watching the small ferry plying the crossing to Bute. Miles away from the hectic city life,
The quality of the food certainly lived up to expectations, with the variety of very fresh seafood being particularly delicious. Good Scottish breakfasts set us up for the day ahead, so we were very happy bunnies.
Having felt great benefit from our break we are sure that we will return before too long.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get one of the rooms overlooking the Kyles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nestled among the natural beauty of the kyles of bute. As soon as we arrived we found the stove roaring away in the bar and we were welcomed by a lovely girl who showed us up to our very cosy room. The rooms are impressively well equipped and had a delightfully comfy bed in which I had the best nights sleep of our little trip up the west coast. We dined in the restaurant on both of our nights, where we had a fab meal on both occasions. My favorite was definitely the huge stake which was cooked to perfection and my girlfriend loved the rather large scallops and langoudtines. The area around the hotel is perfect for a quiet wekekend away from the city. My girlfriend an avid art enthusiast was amazed to find the intriguing sculpture park located just up the road which is a must see, especially their collection of work by Helen Denerley. We were lucky enough to smple the west coast during a dry spell which allowed us to make full use of the bikes we had taken. The road through the village is perfect for cycling and quiet enough to allow you to take on the full beauty of the area. The favourite part of my days there were the evenings. On both nights we walked along the beach to take in the ever changing colours of the sun set. With regards to the breakfast I was very happy to find a real traditional Scottish breakfast full of all the goodies you could ever want. We had such a good time that I booked a couple of rooms to take my girlfriends parents up in early December. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to discover their new favorite hideaway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This proved to be an ideal spot for a short break. Relaxing location, comfortable room and food absolutely fabulous. Well done to Patricia and her staff for making the stay so enjoyable....we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnMaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stopping with my Partner we decided to have some lunch here at the Colintraive Hotel which does look lovely and inviting from the outside, We never had a full look round but from the bar it all looked quite nice, We were going to have a bottle of house white but it was only done by the glass??? We opted for the Sancerre and unfortunately like most places now Sancerre is overpriced and under achieving. The food was very average which was a shame as everything else was nice.

My biggest and just outright shock was the free rain the (I am assuming) owners Dog had of the bar as we sat eating our lunch, 3 times the dog licked my hand as I sat eating lunch and it scurried around looking for its tennis ball and the Waitress just stood there shouting the dogs name but made no other effort to remove it from our table until it went wandering away of it's own accord, despite being a dog lover this is shocking hospitality and we couldn't believe it.

Spoiled an otherwise fine lunch,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dtlaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
First of all I am glad you had a "fine lunch" With reference to the wine there was obviously some misunderstanding as we have house wine by the glass and by the bottle. Strange you were not impressed by our Sancerre as it is a particularly fine one, however the price was on the wine list and there were cheaper wines available considering you originally only wanted a house wine.
Where I do agree with you is the behavior of one naughty black lab. Licking hands isnt usually his thing so yours must have been particularly tasty. Any how it shouldnt have happend. So, sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked a short break at the Colintraive Hotel in Spring of this year. We had intended to do a Tripadvisor review at the time however due to our experience we lacked any enthusiasm to put pen to paper until now.

We chose this Hotel as it was in a beautiful location, it was a independent hotel promoting local produce and, beacause it was dog friendly.

From the outside our first impression of the hotel was good however upon entering the hallway the kerb appeal died. The entrance hallway has grubby; there were storm candles which would have looked great if dusted, polished and lit; there was a strange wicker receptacle bearing an even stranger arrangement of not so fresh onions and dried out apples and monkey nuts. We were not quite sure what that was all about! A spruce and tidy up would not go amiss in the entrance vestibule!! The room was very spacious and nice enough in decoration but a bit chilly despite the radiators being on full. The electric fire (who still thinks an electrical fire is acceptable?) had seen better days and like some of the articles in the entrance vestibule, could have done with a bit of a dust. The 1970's electric fire did not quite match up to the open fire description on the website! Shower performance was patchy......one minute it could be pleasantly warm and next it would turn to icy cold and in the modestly sized shower unit this proved a challenge!!!

You will see from this Hotels website that it trades on its food reputation. The menu was scribed on a blackboard which puzzled us as this woud suggest that it changed daily or at least regularly however this was not the case. My guess is that the menu stays fairly static all year round. My partner opted for the seafood dishes throughout our weekend and reported that they were perfectly pallatable but not outstanding. We were however perturbed that mostly all of the seafood dishes attracted supplements of £3-4 each for starter and main courses. My vegetarian food was dull at very best. There were the usual dishes on the main menu which were not particulary enticing. The owner in her defence, did offer additional choices however none of them were to standard for an establishement trading on a foodie repuation. This was also true of the breakfasts which were poultry and lacking in quantity and quality. The cheapest and nastiest of white bread was served as toast.

At the end of our 2 night stay we departed having spent over £400 on the whole Colintraive Hotel experience which was expensive in our eyes for such an underwhelming experience. We would have gone for dinner elsewhere after the first evenings experience however due to the remote location of the hotel, there was little or no option that did not involve a significant drive.

We were left feeling that it was not good value for money and that the whole experience could have been a whole lot better. We won't be choosing this establishment again. There are many better places to chose from which present better choice, better quality and better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fifi1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
I am amazed at what details you manage to recall, 7 months after visiting us.
Having read your other reviews on other hotels, you indeed like to go into detail. My only comment really is regarding food, and prior to visiting the hotel I am sure you checked out our menu on our website. You knew what we offered and what the prices were. We do not have supplements as you mentioned and I dont actually offer any white toast at all. We use delicious multiseeded brown bread which is delivered daily from Campbeltown. I did offer you a few other variations for vegetarian food, most people would have appreciated that considering there is usually only one vegetarian option. We are after all a 3 star hotel and everyone always comments on what a super collection of dishes we offer. I am regularly asked for my recipes. Indeed we have won a Gold Medal for offering great food and recently Visit Scotland awarded us with Scottish Quality Assured.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
937 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
251 reviews
21.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,451 reviews
11.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Property: Colintraive Hotel
Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colintraive Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing