We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Meal Success”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I organised a hen weekend in the area and the Colintraive Hotel had been recommended. I emailed owner Patricia to arrange a meal for 12 of us. She was very helpful throughout the lead up to our meal.
The meal itself was lovely - I've never seen scallops so big! Hearty portions all locally sourced, washed down with well selected wine, made for happy hens.
What I hope for when i visit any idyllic Scottish place, is to meet the local characters. The Colintraive Hotel didn't disappoint and we were all delighted to be given an impromptu bagpipe performance from the local fireman/DJ/piper! Of course, we were lucky and this cannot be guaranteed for all visitors, but i am confident that what all visitors will receive is a warm welcome, very satisfying fresh food and a venue with a soul.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank VikandLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with friends while visiting the area. Superb food and service. Lovely fresh seafood. Had langoustines and scallops to start. Beautiful and fresh. Luxury seafood salad was enormous with salmon, prawns and crayfish. The rest of us had the fish pie, which has to be the tastiest I have ever eaten. Would highly recommend this restaurant

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Redsue1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the Colintraive Hotel for a weekend away a few months ago and we had an absolutely fantastic time.

When we arrived on the first day the weather wasn't that great, but that wasn't a problem as we were warmly greeted by Patricia and were soon relaxing next to the open fire with a drink in our hand.

The menu is varied and has something for everyone, wonderful Scallops with Stornoway Black Pudding, King prawns and lovely langoustines. Delicious, juicy steaks, Isle of Bute Lamb as well as warming comfort food such as beer battered fish & chips.

The food was absolutely amazing and would rival anything that you would get a top restaurant. I particularly enjoyed the seafood, especially the langoustines and I requested if I could have an extra large bowl of them for the following days dinner, Particia was happy to do this and bought extra the following morning from a local fisherman, that night I ate like a king!

Another dish worth trying is the Linguini pasta pescatori with mussels, crayfish tails, king prawns and garlicky tomato sauce. This dish was absolutely delicious and I've not been able to find a restaurant since visiting there that makes it as nice.


The surroundings are absolutely amazing(ask the owner the best places to go) and the locals are very friendly.

Patricia, who owns the hotel, is extremely professional and looks after her guests but she is also very laid back and nothing is too much trouble.

All in all it was a wonderful trip. The rooms were spotless, hospitality was perfect and the food was top notch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This small hotel has lots of character. It is an old building that is kept clean and cosy. The furnishing in the public rooms is an eclectic mix of tastefully chosen, individual pieces and not the standard array from hotel suppliers’ warehouses – even the pictures on the walls are real art and not those ghastly furnishing reproductions found in most hotels. The bed was very comfortable, whilst the room had all the facilities we could want. We lunched out but ate breakfasts and evening meals in the hotel. The food was outstanding – ample portions of top quality, local ingredients superbly cooked with great skill and care. The owner and staff are exceptionally welcoming and obliging. This hotel cannot be bettered for a short break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped off here for our first meal in Scotland and will hopefully return before we leave! We only had sandwiches and chips but it was all delicious! The chips were clearly handmade and the best we have had in a long time! The staff were very friendly and helpful - ans gave us a map of the region and advised us on places to visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bittis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Highly recommend this hotel; lovely rooms, very comfortable and with beautiful view. A really good restaurant serving fresh fish, seafood and homemade puddings. Fab pub too! One of the nicest stay in Scotland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with stunning sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a delightful short break at this charming traditional Scottish hotel, beautifully situated and taking full advantage of the excellent views overlooking the Kyles of Bute. Restful, yet stimulating.
From the start the very warm welcome we received from the proprietor and her staff set the tone for what was to be a memorable stay. The bedroom was really comfortable and spacious with a good large bed, and we were entertained watching the small ferry plying the crossing to Bute. Miles away from the hectic city life,
The quality of the food certainly lived up to expectations, with the variety of very fresh seafood being particularly delicious. Good Scottish breakfasts set us up for the day ahead, so we were very happy bunnies.
Having felt great benefit from our break we are sure that we will return before too long.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get one of the rooms overlooking the Kyles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
11 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
284 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
17.6 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range: £117 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colintraive Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing