We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great success!”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Patricia and her team did a fantastic job of my husband's 50th birthday celebrations. The additional accommodation in the newly completed Eilean Dhu was nothing short of stunning and our reception there before dinner was a huge success. Dinner in the Hotel was to Patricia's usual high standards and the disco was a blast! Many of our guests who had never been to Colintraive before vowed to return to the Hotel or to rent Eilean Dhu.

Room Tip: Although not officially part of the Hotel the accommodation in Eilean Dhu which is adjacent to the H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Warmest of welcomes, delicious food, excellent service and lovely bedroom with gorgeous, comfortable bed (and linen) to fall asleep in. Open the curtains in the morning to the most beautiful of views. Scottish hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were staying nearby to the Colintraive Hotel & were recommended to go there to spend a few hours having have lunch. I had been hoping to find a hidden gem with great local produce & super food however I didn't hold out much hope...how wrong I was!! We were welcomed by friendly & courteous staff into a lovely bar area with a wood burning stove. The blackboard in the bar displayed an excellent menu which promised much & I am glad to say delivered on every level. We had the scallops, langoustines & rib eye & all were delicious. By the way, make sure to read all of the blackboard as it is a mine of information about The Colintraive & all it has to offer, & more, as well as being reassuringly quirky! The owner Patricia came over for a chat with us & by the end of the conversation it was evident that she is committed serving the best quality local produce, properly cooked in a lovely country hotel. I would wholeheartedly recommend you visit Patricia & the Colintraive.....you would be foolish to miss out! John, Belfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I organised a hen weekend in the area and the Colintraive Hotel had been recommended. I emailed owner Patricia to arrange a meal for 12 of us. She was very helpful throughout the lead up to our meal.
The meal itself was lovely - I've never seen scallops so big! Hearty portions all locally sourced, washed down with well selected wine, made for happy hens.
What I hope for when i visit any idyllic Scottish place, is to meet the local characters. The Colintraive Hotel didn't disappoint and we were all delighted to be given an impromptu bagpipe performance from the local fireman/DJ/piper! Of course, we were lucky and this cannot be guaranteed for all visitors, but i am confident that what all visitors will receive is a warm welcome, very satisfying fresh food and a venue with a soul.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank VikandLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with friends while visiting the area. Superb food and service. Lovely fresh seafood. Had langoustines and scallops to start. Beautiful and fresh. Luxury seafood salad was enormous with salmon, prawns and crayfish. The rest of us had the fish pie, which has to be the tastiest I have ever eaten. Would highly recommend this restaurant

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Redsue1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the Colintraive Hotel for a weekend away a few months ago and we had an absolutely fantastic time.

When we arrived on the first day the weather wasn't that great, but that wasn't a problem as we were warmly greeted by Patricia and were soon relaxing next to the open fire with a drink in our hand.

The menu is varied and has something for everyone, wonderful Scallops with Stornoway Black Pudding, King prawns and lovely langoustines. Delicious, juicy steaks, Isle of Bute Lamb as well as warming comfort food such as beer battered fish & chips.

The food was absolutely amazing and would rival anything that you would get a top restaurant. I particularly enjoyed the seafood, especially the langoustines and I requested if I could have an extra large bowl of them for the following days dinner, Particia was happy to do this and bought extra the following morning from a local fisherman, that night I ate like a king!

Another dish worth trying is the Linguini pasta pescatori with mussels, crayfish tails, king prawns and garlicky tomato sauce. This dish was absolutely delicious and I've not been able to find a restaurant since visiting there that makes it as nice.


The surroundings are absolutely amazing(ask the owner the best places to go) and the locals are very friendly.

Patricia, who owns the hotel, is extremely professional and looks after her guests but she is also very laid back and nothing is too much trouble.

All in all it was a wonderful trip. The rooms were spotless, hospitality was perfect and the food was top notch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This small hotel has lots of character. It is an old building that is kept clean and cosy. The furnishing in the public rooms is an eclectic mix of tastefully chosen, individual pieces and not the standard array from hotel suppliers’ warehouses – even the pictures on the walls are real art and not those ghastly furnishing reproductions found in most hotels. The bed was very comfortable, whilst the room had all the facilities we could want. We lunched out but ate breakfasts and evening meals in the hotel. The food was outstanding – ample portions of top quality, local ingredients superbly cooked with great skill and care. The owner and staff are exceptionally welcoming and obliging. This hotel cannot be bettered for a short break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
478 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
977 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
280 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
262 reviews
11.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range: £117 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colintraive Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing