We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food warm welcome idiotic surroundings”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food warm welcome idiotic surroundings”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I have visited the Colintraive Hotel on many occasions usually by boat, there are free moorings available to patrons of the hotel. There is always a warm welcome the food is excellent and there is a huge choice much of which is local produce. We have stayed in the hotel once the rooms are very comfortable with great views.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pirateski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    63
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
63
173
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a Saturday night prior to a trip to Bute. We were warmly welcomed, enjoyed a very comfortable room, had a tasty dinner in the bar selected from an interesting blackboard menu, real ale, super atmosphere, great location, exceptional staff. Just our kind of place and highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've just spent a couple of wonderful nights in this great wee hotel. There are only 4 rooms so you have to book early. All the rooms are different, all tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. Two of the rooms have beautiful views over the sea to the Island of Bute.

You can eat in the bar or restaurant and the food is all locally sourced and delicious. I am a great lover of seafood so I wasn't disappointed. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and again lots of choice and appetising.

The hotel is dog friendly (rooms and the bar).

There is a pretty beer garden and as we were blessed with the weather we were able to sit outside. Next door there is a shop and Post Office.

The views from the hotel are spectacular. It really is a beautiful part of the world. Bute is worth a visit but we didn't like Rothesay.

Patricia is a marvellous host and immediately makes her guests feel at home. We can't wait to return.

PS Patricia also let us look round her stunning self-catering house next door which sleeps up to 10 people. This is the website http://www.eileandhu.com

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband booked two nights at this hotel for my birthday treat. Everything was wonderful including the beautiful room, the delicious food, extremely attentive and friendly staff and Patricia made us feel very welcome. The hotel is set in a picturesque corner of Scotland with great walks and activities nearby. We found the local people to be extremely friendly, warm and welcoming who we met out walking and also in the restaurant/bar. We found the selection of seafood on offer to be absolutely delicious and we gorged ourselves for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We cannot thank Patricia enough for the making my birthday weekend very special and we will definitely be returning again whenever we get the opportunity. It is our new favourite escape from city life!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Colintraive Hotel for one night in 2nd week May 2014, whilst visiting Dununs Castle approx. 12 miles away. This I believe is the only "local" within that type of radius.
There is no doubting the beautiful location of the hotel and we were warmly greeted by the Prorietrix on arrival.
We had booked the Cala Room at £90 B&B.
The room was described in the hotel web site as cosy and containing a double bed, and we began to wonder how small was "cosy".
However the room was actually of a good size , tastefully decorated and quite well furnished with widescreen tv, drawers , wardrobe etc, usual tea /coffee tray etc and a very comfortable en-suite bathroom. All were spotlessly clean and the bed and bedding a delight to sleep in.
There was not much of a view from the window , as being of "dormer" type the rain guttering cut right across the window and looking out were the slate roofs of adjoining buildings and the steep rise of a grassy field, nearby
However, overall very confortable accommodation and reasonably priced.
We then went down to the bar / restaurant for dinner, and despite the imaginative description of each dish , found the reality to be disappointing.
Fish dishes are generally the speciality of the hotel and their menu is outlined on the hotel website.
For starter my wife chose what was described as King Sized Scallops on Black Pudding with salad garnish.
What arrived was 2 large scallops on a single slice of black pudding with a modest tossed side salad. Although apparently delicious it didn't look much and at £10.95 seemed just a tad dear.
Our mains were described as Linguini Pasta Prescatora being pasta with Mussels , crayfish tails and Prawns in a rich Italian Sauce.
What arrived ( surprisingly served in tin foil apparently to keep it warm ) on a plate was basically thin strips of tagliatelle with a very thin runny sauce , some small cooking prawns which were rubbery and a single mussel on top ( £15.95 )
We had ordered a bottle of white wine with the meal , which was a "reasonable" Pinot Grigio, charged to our account at £22.95.
Overall , a disappointing dining experience.
The mains was not enjoyable and neither of us ate much of it, choosing in the end to return to the car and finish off the sandwiches which were left over from a pre-prepared picnic, we had enjoyed earlier.
OK, so we were only there for one night and maybe we were unfortunate in the choice we made from the menu, but the Hotel has 4 letting bedrooms and is open to residents and non-residents alike, but the restaurant was empty apart from one other couple who had arrive that night..(hmm)
Breakfast in the morning was the usual fruit juice, choice of cereals and cooked breakfast, and that was all quite good.
On the plus side this Hotel is in a beautiful location ( although quite isolated ) , we were warmly welcomed and the accommodation is comfortable and spotless and reasonably priced. Meals I would imagine are cooked to order since there is no "queue of people waiting for food", but in our experience and despite the previous reviews ( well most of them anyway, ) we found the dinner disappointing, falling well short of menu aspirations and pitched at a price which is not merited by the quality rendered.
So if you do decide to stay here, you might like to pack a few sandwiches just in case !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Great to hear you really liked your room, staff and location. We are very proud of what the hotel and Colintraive has to offer.
I was rather surprised at your summary of your dinning experience. Your wife ordered a starter portion of "king scallops on Stornoway black pudding". Which as you mentioned is exactly what she received, so if it wasnt enough, perhaps a main course should have been ordered as it is a starter and is what it says on the label..and .As you said it was tasty. What else would you expect from a starter.
Re the linguini, tagliatelle is wide ribbon strips of pasta and linguini, which is what we serve is the skinnier variety, thats what the menu states and that is what we offer. Everyone, except yourselves, raves about our pescatore dish. It contains our special sauce, made by Italians, containing prawns of 2 types, crayfish tails and large mussels. That you said nothing to our staff that you didnt enjoy the meal, and then said nothing on departure when I asked if all was to your satisfaction, I find it very hard to believe that some sandwiches out in the car would be favorable to dinning in an award winning hotel. In fact for your information, we won 2 more awards last week. One for the Chef and the other for Rural Hotel excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stopped here on a misty Bank Holiday Sunday miorning. Welcomed with an open fire and a bit early for lunch we had a coffee and read the papers. Later we had lunch which was very good. My partner had the seafood salad which looked spectacular and was delicious.. (I know because it was too much for her to finish so I obliged.) There were langoustine tails, prawns and hot smoked salmon with a tasty salad. I had the seafood linguine which arrived in a foil parcel. When the parcel was opened the aroma was fantastic. Good menu, excellent cooking and ample portions mean we will definitely return. We will try to stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursus-Maritimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us in Colintraive. I do remember you and your fabulous car. Look forward to you revisiting us in the future. Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was my first A/L after a long hard shift at work. First of all , it has one of my favourite craft beers on tap - a good start.
But it's the food... Wow!
I have eaten at the best in Oban "The seafood capital of Scotland" but have not experienced anything nearly as tasty as this. It's like it has has had a sprinkling of magic dust.
I have never been compelled to post before and I am loath to, because next time YOU might get the last room before me!
Thankfully my wife and I are booked in again for the Kayak Ways, Greenland rolling tuition being held in the vicinity in July so will be back then.
So, if you appreciate the best, this is the hotel for you. Stay and you will be enchanted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swelkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
265 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
113 reviews
21.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Property: Colintraive Hotel
Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colintraive Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing