We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
314
80
18
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
314
80
18
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews langoustines black pudding warm welcome booked a table short break two night stay cooked to perfection local area stunning views main course bute ferry labrador sheep dunoon clare scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

Loved our 2 night stay here. Beautiful part of the country and new owner of the hotel Claire was really friendly and helpful and nothing was any bother. Great breakfast and good food in the bar/restaurant in the evening. Room was really comfortable with great views across the water. Highly recommend and will definitely be back

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FionaC1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

My wife and I had a lovely two day stay at the Colintraive. As with all hotels there are positives and negatives so I will look at both to give a balanced review of the hotel.

Negatives:
1: the building is very old and in a style that absolutely suits its location but may not be to everyones taste. I love traditional and this historic building is all that.
2: Some rooms have been well upgraded and the one we were in needs a couple of minor tweaks.
3: Modern essentials like wi-fi were problematic but what do you expect when you’re in the middle of nowhere?
4: The dining room at breakfast is deathly quiet ( with the odd exception of chef Joe singing, very well it must be said) and it is slightly off putting hearing other guests eating. Perhaps a bit of light background music would not go a miss.

Positives:
1: the owners. This young couple have only had the hotel for two and a half weeks so please cut them some slack. There focus on getting things right is apparent and the honest and frank questions asked of customers is to be admired. Given time, they will undoubtedly get things right.
2: the quality of the food was exceptional. Local produce well prepared, what is there not to like. Whilst the menu is limited, this is a good thing when using local products unlike the chains massive menus containing frozen or processed foods.
3: the location. Right off the beaten track and great to switch off. One minute away from the ferry if you want to nip over to Bute.
4: As number 1, the owners and staff. The young lady, who I think was named Clare, should be so proud of herself. She had the courage to ask guests what they really felt about their stay, and I would hope that people would be honest with her rather than saying everything was fine and then go back and write very negative reviews. Also, nothing was to much trouble for the staff. We were really looked after by everyone.

In summary, a great stay with very hospitable staff, excellent owners on a journey and one that I wish them the very best of luck with.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 3gakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Thanks so much for taking time to review. We read it last night and put music on at breakfast this morning - so much better than Joe's singing! We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again. Best, Clare and Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

I don't often moan about places - but this really wasn't a great experience. We arrived at around half past one on a Sunday, hoping to get some lunch.

Looking through the window we could see that there were several people eating in the bar and outside was a sign which said they served food.

When we went in a gentleman came out into the hallway and snapped, 'Can I help you?' When we said we would like some lunch he tutted and peered into the bar and then said, 'You'll have to sit in the snug,' which was fine by us - we were hungry and happy to wait - although nothing about his demeanour suggested he was keen for us to have lunch or sit in the snug, which was tired, grubby and a little grim.

We both understand places can be busy and often understaffed but he was barely civil and didn't say, 'Oh we're busy it might take a while,' or 'Would you like a drink, or would you like to look at a menu, while you wait,' Or even, 'Sorry lunch service is over .' Or anything that implied he would like us our custom. Having sat in the snug for 15 minutes without being served or shown a menu we left.

Room tip: I have no experience of staying here so can't comment
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

We are horrified that you had such a bad experience and do hope you will try us again. Please book in and we would be delighted to welcome you. Saturday was terribly busy but you really shouldn't have felt mistreated and we are sincerely sorry for that. We are trying to get more staff so that our team are under less pressure and we can ensure all customers have the experience we endeavor to serve.

The snug is very dimly lit and less inviting for lunch so we plan to update it as soon as we can.

Again I'm so sorry for your bad experience and do hope you will book in with us again as we really don't want to give such bad service as you received.

Best regards
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed great food and service from very friendly and enthusiastic new owners who deserve to succeed.
Everything is served fresh, sourced locally and is reasonably priced.

Thanks Claire; we’ll definitely be back soon.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wansb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3-night stay at the Colintraive Hotel. Everything about our stay was wonderful. The food was locally sourced and delicious and the room was so comfortable. The Colintraive Hotel is a gem in Argyll's 'Secret Coast' .

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank timdsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews