We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
MGallery
US$50
View deal
Expedia.com
US$51
View deal
Booking.com
US$52
View deal
PricelineUS$51
Hotels.comUS$51
TravelocityUS$51
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,222)
Filter reviews
4,222 results
Traveller rating
2,576
1,229
313
62
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,576
1,229
313
62
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage building swimming pool executive room jalan malioboro balcony indonesia history architecture ambience accor jogjakarta tugu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 4,222 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2019

at that time when i stay with my wife, we are celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary, and i really hoping that our stay at The Phoenix will make my wife happy.
from check in until check out we are having our amazing time, greeted by Mrs. Mira from Accounting (as a fellow accounting team) we feel like meeting an old friend, having lot of happy talk, and she took us on hotel little tour.
the room are clean and perfect, the balcony are great with flowers. we receive surprise from the Guest Experience team, my wife love the surprise!
AC is cool, bathroom is great, amenities are on the spot.
on the check out we are greeted by the lovely ladies using Batik (i forgot her name, sorry) make sure our stay is memorable, and it is! right after that Mr Stephane (the GM) talk to me, it make me feel honorable to spoke with the GM, we love the moment!
the only flaw, is only for the legendary Phoenix Bakpia that currently unavailable at that time, we are big fans of your Bakpia btw
anyhow, keep up the good work, we will come back when we are in Jogja next time

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RanggaSuryoputro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhoenixYogyakarta, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2019

Dear RanggaSuryoputro,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for choosing The Phoenix Yogyakarta Hotel, as your preference stay recently, and highly appreciated, because of excellent customer service demonstrated by the whole family, and you voluntarily to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Indeed a pleasure that you have had a truly magnificent experience, during your stay here at our hotel, with all comforts that you have had and service offered to make your stay a memorable one.
I am proud that my team have done and made your experience exceptional.

On behalf of the entire team, I am most definitely looking forward onto welcoming you back to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Hotel in the future.

Atur Kinurmatan Kulo (Javanese Greetings),
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. We stayed for three nights on a trip to Java. While we found the city somewhat chaotic, it was always lovely to return to the Phoenix, which was calm and peaceful.

Situated at the northern end of the main shopping street Malioboro (about 25 minutes walk to the Kraton) and adjacent to the Tugu monument the streets around are very busy, but the sprawling hotel complex was cool and quiet. There is a lovely courtyard dining area with a fountain where the buffet breakfast and dinner are served and (as it turned out this was the highlight for us) a cocktail bar! Given how difficult it is to buy any sort of alcohol in Yogyakarta (even restaurants serving beer are hard to come by) this was a real surprise. Even better, at happy hour all drinks were buy one get one free! As it was our son’s birthday while we were there, and we’d travelled from the UK to meet him and his girlfriend in Yogyakarta, we had a great celebration, drinking cocktails and playing pool. On Fridays there is live music and the band played happy birthday to him, which was a nice touch. The bar staff deserve a special mention as they really knew how to make cocktails, producing some of the nicest we have ever tasted, all in interesting glasses, and all for less than £7 each. Even more amazing value at happy hour! Sadly, we have not been able to find any that live up to those standards on our travels through Indonesia since then (Bali has been particularly disappointing).

We had a couple of lunches (one by the pool) and one buffet breakfast at the hotel during our stay which were good but relatively expensive compared to meals outside (the breakfast provided a great way to try some of the local dishes such as Gudeg). We didn’t try dinner. There are plenty of local restaurants nearby, serving really cheap food, but not in surroundings which can compete with the Phoenix.

Our room was very spacious and luxurious, on the second (non smoking) floor. We loved the Phoenix shaped teapot! We had a basic room so the balcony had a rather unspectacular but fascinating view of a petrol station ( always a queue of motorbikes, even in the small hours!), but more expensive rooms overlook the pool. The only downside is that there is only one lift which was a fair distance from our room, so we ended up going up and down the fire exit to save time.

The pool is lovely, and there are sun beds and umbrellas and a waiter service so can be a great way to relax after a busy morning sightseeing.

The staff are always friendly and keen to help, despite sometimes limited English.

All in all, a great place to stay if you find yourself in this fascinating part of the world but want a bit of luxury too.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PEHSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixYogya, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailled review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our Vino bar in particular. Pak Rifky and the bar team are very proud and happy to read your comments.
We hope to welcoming you and the family back to Jogjakarta soon.
Atur Kinurmatan Kulo (Javanese greetings),
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Room met all our expectations. Comfortable, spacious, clean and well serviced. Good wifi etc. Gym was best I experienced out of the 4 cities I visited. Very good swimming pool in dedicated courtyard. Foyer of the hotel with superb original Dutch stained glass, is the original mansion where the first President Sukarno lived and worked during the early days of Indonesian independence. The dining area has one of the most relaxed vibes I’ve ever experienced. Indoor and outdoor seating surrounding a French fountain with mesmerising gentle gamelan playing at breakfast. Staff are wonderful. Location is reasonably central for City attractions and tours for Borobudur and Prambanan easily organised. A gem.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixYogya, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Dear Roger H,
we are delighted to read your kind words. It makes us proud and happy to know you had a nice experience with us.
We hope to welcoming you again in the future.
Atur Kinurmatan Kulo (Javanese greetings),
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

I had a late check in , simple words should be natural and no simply PASSAPORTS!!!, no welcoming !!! The check in took a long time ,and the room arranged was so far from the lobby (room 567 ) although my disabilities , as a ACCOR MEMBER , I do not have any facility , no e-mail answer , neither someone to improve my stay , unfortunately is a hotel that I will not come back

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alexandreonici
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixYogya, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Dear Sir,
Please accept our apologies for the disappointing experience while staying with us. Your experience is not typical of the level of service we usually pride ourselves to deliver.
We shall certainly learn from this and improve further our internal follow-up of guest requests and answering emails in a timely manner. Our guest service agent tried to meet you to address your concerns but omitted to simply reply your email.
We hope to get a chance to welcoming you back to serve you better.
Atur Kinurmatan Kulo (Javanese greetings)
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Lovely tranquil hotel in the heart of Yogyakarta. Pool, spa and gym were lovely, as was the restaurant and bar. The rooms and bathrooms are quite basic, but are clean and cool.

Would definitely recommend staying here for a couple of nights if you are passing through Yogyakarta.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca_5432111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhoenixYogyakarta, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Dear Rebecca_5432111,

We are delighted to receive your very kind comments in regards to your stay.

And will be our pleasure knowing our guests left our hotel happy and satisfied with our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we are really excited to welcome you back here some day.

Atur Kinurmatan Kulo (Javanese Greetings),
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews