We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for large groups”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
120 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HAMZA A
2 reviews
“Great house for large groups”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house was very spacious, with plenty of room for the 16 people in our group to all be comfortable. The house was also well equipped with enough towels, bedding and kitchen utensils to go around. The house was ideally located with lots of things to do in the immediate area, as well as other attractions only a short drive away. Overall it was a very successful week and I would definitely recommend it, especially for large parties.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jan9965
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house for large groups”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent my 50th birthday celebrations with 14 female friends at the Mill House.
We were there for a weekend and couldn't have asked for a better place. Ruled out hotel/spa early on due to lack of privacy for socialising and decided self catering was the way to go. So glad we came here. Pool, hot tub and sauna were well used, and despite the weather (wet!) we managed some pretty walks and even some cycling thanks to the abundance of bikes provided in the shed....one for every age and size I'd guess!
The on site staff popped over the first evening to check we were ok and answered any questions. After that they left us alone, but told us how to contact them for anything. I did! And they returned my call within the hour as promised. I actually wanted to know if we could delay our departure time on the Sunday. It was a yes, they were so laid back and said take as long as you want! Perfect for a slightly hungover Sunday morning!
The bedrooms are on the small side, but if you go with the intention of socialising then you're hardly in them except to close your eyes! But very comfortable beds and clean throughout.
The large open plan living/dining/kitchen was perfect for our group, but with two other reception rooms, I guess family groups could spread out more with kids/teens taking over the others. We didn't need to but it's a good option to have.
Everyone in our group said how much they enjoyed the weekend, and spreading the cost between a large group makes it a very reasonable place to stay.
Think it'll be a repeat booking for my 60th!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thanks so much for the positive review; we generally respond when we get marked at less than 5 out of 5, to try and see what we did wrong or assure guests that we do set high standards and pay attention to any areas of weakness.

I can see you had a great time and had no reservations so I am comforted by that. Sometimes by the end of a summer season the houses can get a little tired, and you were with us mid-September. I am glad we still came up to snuff. I am also really glad the staff were attentive as well and merited high marks from you. They work very hard to make our guests experience the best it can be (even though they probably get tired by mid-September as well).

You will be very welcome back, whatever the occasion. Thanks for taking the time to post - lots of our satisfied customers do not bother going through the registration hoops to leave a review here, even though they say nice things to us. As a result our average rating looks quite low because of the very occasional disgruntled person venting spleen and trashing us!!! We are always relieved when some of the many people who have a lovely time in The Mill House bother to leave a review here and say so. It helps other potential guests to judge us fairly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Mill House”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My stay at the Mill House was a great experience. Really spacious living space, and it was great to have a hot tub as well.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wends65
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far from as described 'on the tin'. Not recommended.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was described 'on the tin' as a 4 star "WOW factory. In actual fact it was extremely tired, badly maintained and in serious need of a 'face lift'. The information given on the website vastly inflates the quality of the property, which after our first 24 hours, led to those expectations tumbling. We were poorly greeted, not informed of a room or bathroom out of action, exposed to consistently poor fixtures & fittings and equipment which was shabby and broken. The main sofa was shredded and was covered with a blanket, sinks and baths throughout were not draining properly and there were only limited channels on the much vaunted Sky TV. The list was endless. This property was definitely not a WOW factory, more a graveyard of dreams. I would recommend this property for Stag and Hen parties only.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Quality of the entire contents of house and shoebox bedrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
We have had happy family groups in the Mill House all summer, most of them giving us four or five out of five. The messages from this group of six families were confusingly mixed throughout their stay - some were extremely happy and told my staff everything was fine. Others were apparently constantly finding fault.

I was given a chance to solve this situation by giving them £1,000 as compensation; this I declined to do, as there really wasn't anything wrong with the house or the facility, and it appeared to me that there were some members of the group who had a purely financial motivation for cataloguing our faults and turning really quite small mole-hills into major mountains.

The main problem was that they arrived over an hour early having driven from the South of England; my cleaning team didn't have the chance to finish their cleaning and checking tasks properly as carfuls of tired children and stressed parents unpacked themselves into the house.

Perhaps we should have told them they couldn't come in, but we preferred to let them in to start their holiday. It then seemed to us that they had a pretty good time in hot tub, sauna, and pool, in games cottage and on football pitch and tennis court. We had a problem with one bedroom and gave them the next door two bedroom cottage usually costing an extra £995.

I am sorry that their review doesn't reflect the quality of holiday that it looked as if most of them had. We tried our best to make them all happy, but clearly we didn't succeed. I wish I could have pleased all of these people all of this time. I am glad most of our reviews are more complimentary - and, in our view, fairer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marydoll7...
Alexandria, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Girly Weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights, 22 females from 20's to 60's. Had a brilliant time. The staff were very helpful and explained everything we needed to know. The rooms although not too big were substantial for a weekend trip away. We also got to use the cottage because of the amount of us staying. We hired the hot tub for our stay and must say was the best part of the weekend lying there in the snow and rain but roasting. Some of the girls used the pool, some went for walks and some went into Dunoon. The taxi cost £40 there and £40 back it did seat 7 people. What a great way for a group of friends/family to spend time together having fun and making great memories. Thinking of going back again later in the year it was that enjoyable. Just make sure you take plenty of food etc with you as there is no shops nearby :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
You were a fun group to have and I am glad it went well for you. The hot tub is meant to have a capacity of 7 but it seemed there were sometimes a few more than that in it!!! I am not sure what we could have done to merit 5 star reviews, but maybe you are just very hard to please ladies. Maybe Dunoon wasn't up to coping with you??? Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for coming.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miasmummy
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house-clean, warm, spacious & very well equipped-Great for a big crowd.”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

17 of us stayed at The Mill House at the weekend for a girls weekend away. All the girls were blown away by how beautiful the house was when we first arrived. Ian who looks after the house met us within a couple hours of arriving & made us all feel welcome & safe. We cooked the first night & everything we needed was there including 2 fridges, freezers, dishwashers & ovens. There was loads of room for everyone to chill out & relax. The hot tub was great, was very well maintained & stayed warm all weekend. Well worth the £70 extra charge. The bedrooms were all clean with towels & robes. Some of the beds were bunks which were cosy but this is well documented in the house description & like it says-the bedrooms are for sleeping only. The rest of the house has plenty of room for everyone to spread out if they want to. The surrounding area is beautiful and the house is surrounded by trees & a stream. The only thing to be aware of is there are no shops or takeaways within walking or delivery distance so if you plan to be there for the whole weekend you really need to have everything with you. We finished off the weekend with a very relaxed late check out and didn't have to leave until 1pm, which was great for the drivers.
I've already highly recommended this house to several people & would love to come back here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing