We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ormidale mill house 80th birthday celebration”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
112 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morag L
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ormidale mill house 80th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a wonderful time at Ormidale lots to keep large family entertained and surroundings were simply gorgeous. Would recommend and would definitely pay a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you. We would definitely welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal2511
2 reviews
“Really really disappointing..”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here with my family last October.. One of our bedroom floors was black with mould, could of been cleaner and we had only one small working fridge!! Kitchen utensils were dirty in the drawer.. The kids were really looking forward to playing football, which they couldn't as was unkept as were the tennis courts!! Will not be back and would definitely not recommend..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
We are always very sorry when anyone is disappointed. Most of our guests love the house. We never hit our 100% mark but we get very high customer satisfaction marks. Sometimes we make mistakes. And sometimes bits of kit will go wrong. A few parties arrive and seem to be keen to find fault from the start and look to negotiate discounts based on problems they identify - we don't know these particular guests well and our impression of them doing that may well have been an unfair one, but that seemed to us to be what was maybe happening. We have certainly improved our estate management team and housekeeping performance since October, but we still don't agree with everything said here - we have always made it clear that sheep graze on the football field and that hasn't stopped anybody else playing. The party had a working fridge (large) and freezer during their stay, but unfortunately the second fridge wasn't working during it. These two issues, the client felt, should have generated a refund from us to bring down the cost of their 5 night half-term holiday to £17.59 per bedroom per night. The normal rate is a little bit over £55 per night. We really didn't and don't agree with their view that these problems should have entitled them to a massive refund, and so we didn't pay it. So, we are sorry that they weren't satisfied, but not surprised!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mairi4416
Kilmun, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Large house in a fabulous location.”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I just spent 3 fabulous days at the Mill House on the Ormidale Estate with my husband and family celebrating our recent retirement.
We used all 9 bedrooms and as described they are quite small (2 are actually very small, my burly brother and nephew struggled a bit but they would be perfect for children). We all found them perfectly functional though and we all agreed that the beds were really comfortable.
The kitchen is great and we had everything we needed to cater for 17 adults. We moved the kitchen table and joined it to the dining table and this gave us a great space for eating and socialising.
The downstairs area is fabulous for a party with loads of space for entertaining.
There are two further sitting rooms with access on two levels to the amazing outside areas. The land attached to the Mill house is stunning. We spent a lot of time outside and there's an adequate amount of garden furniture to cope with a big group.
We decided to take the hot tub and a real treat for me was to sit in the tub in the early morning enjoying the silence before everyone woke up and chaos reigned again.
Adele and Gavin the managers were absolutely delightful and any small issues we took to them were sorted with speed and charm.
We didn't use the pool and had only a brief game of table tennis in the games cottage so can't really comment but everything looked great.
The owner visited us when we arrived to check if we were happy with everything and we spoke to him again as we were leaving and he was friendly and interested in our experience at Ormidale. I would be happy to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and outside areas
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
We are very grateful to you for taking the time to review the Mill House so positively. We don't think we are perfect, but we do out best. Thank you for treating the place so nicely - we will look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing relaxing weekend in a stunning location”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The mill was all my large party were expecting and more. The house was beautiful and was equipped with everything we needed for our stay.

the facilities such as the swimming pool, hot tub and games room gave our plenty of options to keep ourselves busy

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The large kitchen and sitting area was great for getting the party all together to socialise

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, and for your kind words. I hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillBT
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family celebrations - Easter weekend”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Large family gathering over Easter weekend to celebrate several milestone birthdays and two engagements. We had a fantastic time, made great use of all the facilities, laughed, sang,had some excellent food and the occasional beer or two. Lovely grounds to explore, even in the rain, and plenty room to spread out in the Mill house.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Glad it went well, despite the foul weather. Thanks for taking the time to review us - hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend ”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Visited the house a few weeks ago with a group of around 20 friends aged between 20-25. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by John.

The house it's self is absolutely stunning with the large open plan kitchen living room being the perfect place for lazing about all day and partying at night. The location is absolutely gorgeous and ideal for leisurely strolls. The onsite facilities are also generous with the swimming pool, football pitch and tennis courts, and mountain bikes all available for use.

The bedrooms were clean and tidy and the beds exceptionally comfortable! Everything we needed was provided (crockery, pots and pans, cleaning supplies, etc).

Our only gripe was running out of toilet roll on the Sunday morning, so will be bringing an extra roll when we return!

All in all a great location for a brilliant weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Glad you enjoyed yourselves and thanks for choosing us. The walls 4 feet thick and double glazing meant we didn't hear the partying. You are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry S
2 reviews
“Fantastic location and great weekend away!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I am just recently back from a weekend with friends at the ormidale mill house.

The location of the house was perfect, it was not too far from a main road but far enough away to enjoy the scenic views the house and garden has to offer.

The house was massive and very well equip with the essentials plus much more, the hot tub is a great additions as it looks out over a woodland area with a burn running through it.

Owners were very friendly and useful, would recommend to anyone looking for a weekend away with a large group!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thanks so much. Glad you had a good time. You are always welcome back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing