We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
112 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michaelab...
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Attention to detail required”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This property is brilliant for big parties, a big open space. A hot tub which was well used and very much enjoyed. The sauna however set the smoke alarms off when the door was opened! There are many other issues which reqiure attention. The pictures on the web site could perhaps be updated as they seem different than what greets you as you walk in the door. The sofa's are uncomfortable and tired and very low. The cleanliness in the house was very poor, dusty and dirty. One of our party spilt a drink under the dining table. After wiping it up, the cloth was black. Both ovens had pools of grease in the bottom. When we pre-heated the oven on opening the door a cloud of acrid smoke hit me in the face causing my eyes to sting even with my glasses on. The pool is in a very poor state, my stepson and daughter found old plasters and hair floating in there and got out quickly and went to the hot tub. The jacuzzi bath near the largest bedroom had a scum ring around the top, it appeared not to have been cleaned at all. As a family we filled in rhe feebback form and perhaps the owner needs to revisit this. We gave 4/5 for the size and setting of the house and just 2/5 for cleanliness. As to the previous negative feedback being given because we tried to cancel is at best a stretch. The only reason to cancel was because we wanted to be nearer to Inverary and we appreciated your efforts in trying to re let the property. The house is in need of attention it's tired, and it needs a really good clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Than you for taking the time to review us, as did your fellow party members. Sincere apologies if we didn't hit the required standards on cleanliness on this occasion - very unusual for us as previous feedback attests. We set high standards and we usually hit them to the satisfaction of all concerned. Genuinely 90% of our guests give us 5/5 and part of the reason for that is that we get the housekeeping standards right. We will investigate further. It wont happen again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bibs28
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Good things about this property - the size. It fulfilled our needs as a big group. The hot tub was much enjoyed - but the house is expensive to rent - and we felt strongly about a number of issues.
It was truly, deeply dirty. It needs a proper clean - this is a build up. The ovens were so full of dried on grease and food, that they fill with acrid smoke when used.
A couple of the rooms were really cold and the bedding felt damp.
The starter pack of logs was tiny, wet - with no kindling, firefighters or matches provided.
The pool was disgustingly dirty. Mould and peeling paint on the walls - a line of scum at water level. Hair and plasters on the bottom. Rusty showers. Really unsavoury.
The entrance sign is unlit and dark - and we all drove past in the dark.
As you drive to the properties there is a household tip with lampshades, old furniture, a broken mirror etc.
So, in spite of the very friendly welcome book - I feel that the owners need to know that this place is scruffy, dirty and needs some TLC. Urgently!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
This is an interesting and surprising review to receive - and a disturbing one. We monitor all our guests and we generally get 5/5 for housekeeping as well as for almost everything else. But we aren't complacent, and we did have a couple of new members on the cleaning team for this changeover, which was done in a single day after the previous guests departed, so it maybe is the case that the standards we normally set were not met. I am very sorry if that is the case.

I wonder if the negative tone of this review is connected to the fact that the party tried to cancel their booking a few weeks before coming and we weren't able to re-let the property for them, although we tried? Our guest feedback received from the party host, who was charming and a great guest, was much more positive, giving us 4/5. This seems like a very, very low score. I am disappointed if there was any aspect of our performance that merited it.

The swimming pool has had hard use during the season and was the victim of a bashy bunch of rather destructive guests a couple of weeks ago. It is is due a restorative decorative upgrade, but we felt it better to keep it open for guest use in the interim. It certainly isn't filthy and there is no scum.

The vast majority of our reviews have been 5 star this year; I am genuinely sorry that these members of this party couldn't rate us as highly, but I hope this response is at least partial comfort to other potential bookers of our most popular property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraStua...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked the Mill House for my dads 60th Birthday over the September weekend. All the family under one roof ages from 4 months to 63 years old and we all had a brilliant time. It rained all weekend in typical Scottish weather style but it didn't stop the kids going out to play in the grounds even having a dip in the river with the rope swing. The house itself is great for a large party, the rooms are all adequate with really comfy beds and the upstairs certainly deserves a higher rating than 2.5 stars. Downstairs is a great big space for entertaining everyone with a seperate kids room full of books and toys to play with.
We pretty much tried out everything, the games cottage is a bit grotty but absolutely fine for its purpose, few games of ping pong and pool. The swimming pool looked good however was too cold for the younger children so they were a bit dissapointed as they couldn't go swimming. (I did mention this to John who apologised and said the temperature Is normally higher), we used the hot tub and the BBQ. A canapy or gazebo over the hot tub would be a welcoming addition especially with the rain otherwise we could not fault the place.
Communication from start to finish was great with John the owner and although there wasn't any issues or much we needed Adele was very quick at communicating, bringing over extra towels, coal for the BBQ and water as soon as we asked.
Overall I would definitely book the Mill House again for a friends or family get together.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you for the review and the 5/5 (despite the weather and the slightly cooler pool than usual). We loved having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag L
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ormidale mill house 80th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a wonderful time at Ormidale lots to keep large family entertained and surroundings were simply gorgeous. Would recommend and would definitely pay a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you. We would definitely welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal2511
1 review
“Really really disappointing..”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here with my family last October.. One of our bedroom floors was black with mould, could of been cleaner and we had only one small working fridge!! Kitchen utensils were dirty in the drawer.. The kids were really looking forward to playing football, which they couldn't as was unkept as were the tennis courts!! Will not be back and would definitely not recommend..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
We are always very sorry when anyone is disappointed. Most of our guests love the house. We never hit our 100% mark but we get very high customer satisfaction marks. Sometimes we make mistakes. And sometimes bits of kit will go wrong. A few parties arrive and seem to be keen to find fault from the start and look to negotiate discounts based on problems they identify - we don't know these particular guests well and our impression of them doing that may well have been an unfair one, but that seemed to us to be what was maybe happening. We have certainly improved our estate management team and housekeeping performance since October, but we still don't agree with everything said here - we have always made it clear that sheep graze on the football field and that hasn't stopped anybody else playing. The party had a working fridge (large) and freezer during their stay, but unfortunately the second fridge wasn't working during it. These two issues, the client felt, should have generated a refund from us to bring down the cost of their 5 night half-term holiday to £17.59 per bedroom per night. The normal rate is a little bit over £55 per night. We really didn't and don't agree with their view that these problems should have entitled them to a massive refund, and so we didn't pay it. So, we are sorry that they weren't satisfied, but not surprised!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mairi4416
Kilmun, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Large house in a fabulous location.”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I just spent 3 fabulous days at the Mill House on the Ormidale Estate with my husband and family celebrating our recent retirement.
We used all 9 bedrooms and as described they are quite small (2 are actually very small, my burly brother and nephew struggled a bit but they would be perfect for children). We all found them perfectly functional though and we all agreed that the beds were really comfortable.
The kitchen is great and we had everything we needed to cater for 17 adults. We moved the kitchen table and joined it to the dining table and this gave us a great space for eating and socialising.
The downstairs area is fabulous for a party with loads of space for entertaining.
There are two further sitting rooms with access on two levels to the amazing outside areas. The land attached to the Mill house is stunning. We spent a lot of time outside and there's an adequate amount of garden furniture to cope with a big group.
We decided to take the hot tub and a real treat for me was to sit in the tub in the early morning enjoying the silence before everyone woke up and chaos reigned again.
Adele and Gavin the managers were absolutely delightful and any small issues we took to them were sorted with speed and charm.
We didn't use the pool and had only a brief game of table tennis in the games cottage so can't really comment but everything looked great.
The owner visited us when we arrived to check if we were happy with everything and we spoke to him again as we were leaving and he was friendly and interested in our experience at Ormidale. I would be happy to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and outside areas
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
We are very grateful to you for taking the time to review the Mill House so positively. We don't think we are perfect, but we do out best. Thank you for treating the place so nicely - we will look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing relaxing weekend in a stunning location”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The mill was all my large party were expecting and more. The house was beautiful and was equipped with everything we needed for our stay.

the facilities such as the swimming pool, hot tub and games room gave our plenty of options to keep ourselves busy

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The large kitchen and sitting area was great for getting the party all together to socialise

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, and for your kind words. I hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;