We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“21st Weekend”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
120 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adventure...
1 review
“21st Weekend”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful weekend at Ormindale House! The house was fantastic and in the most beautiful location. The ground floor is a huge space and can be used for a large dinner party and makes a very good dance floor! The bedrooms were all very clean ranging from nice double bed rooms to fun dorms. There were also bicycles, a jacuzzi, a swimming pool, tennis court and a games room so plenty of things to do at the house if some people were to hungover to go on walks to the plentiful lochs and rivers! Overall a top weekend, would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for the positive review, and for choosing Ormidale. Glad you had such a good weekend - see you another time, I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggiebak...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“A wonderful holiday in a comfortable house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We all loved our week's stay in The Mill House. We were warmly greeted by the support team who helped with all our enquiries. They were on hand at all times during our stay should we have needed anything. Although it rained a lot there was no shortage of things to do. The children really enjoyed being able to run freely outside, to go swimming and to have enough space to play inside too. We all appreciated the amount of room downstairs where we could all relax and enjoy each others' company with ample facilities to cook and eat if we were staying at the house for the day. However, we also went on several day-long trips visiting Mount Stuart, Inverary Castle and the surrounding countryside which is spectacular. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and we'd all love to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post a review. Glad you had a great time despite the awful weather! Thanks for choosing Ormidale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eambo1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous few days of family bliss”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

For the school holiday week in October, a group consisting of my family and friends (20 in total!) spent the mon-fri at the mill house. It was fantastic! The kids and adults all had a ball! There was so much to do from gorge walking, football outside on the very slippery marsh! (this is a must the kids are still talking about it!) and the swimming pool. There's also the option to head into Tighnabruaich 10mins by car to spend the day. We had the hot tub this is also something I'd recommend as I found this a god send the morning after the marathon pie face challenge we all had! Oh the memories just keep coming back to me or should I say flash backs!!!!!
Anyway I would definitely recommend this to any large group wanting a very enjoyable and memorable few days away!
Eamonn T

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
What a lovely enthusiastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to post it....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Mill House at Ormidale”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

30 of us went to Ormidale for the weekend. We had a ball. Would recommend this place and would go back. John, Adele and Gavin were helpful with all our queries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
I am glad you had a good time, and that you appreciated the staff's efforts to facilitate that. They work their whatsits off .....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Week”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We staying in Mill House in October 2016. There was a mix of adults teenages and children, all of which throughly enjoyed the break. The surroundings are very scenic and we enjoyed some walks, there is also a river beside the house which the kids ventured into despite the cool. There is swimming pool, hot tub, tennis courts, football pitch, games room and snug with paystation and toys to keep the kids busy.

The house was also lovely, well presented and comfortable. We enjoyed a log fire most days. When we arrived we were advised we could not use water for cooking and drinking but were provided with bottled water FOC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thanks, Katie I am glad you enjoyed the house and beautiful surroundings and facilities. Brave kids going into that river in October!! We like to think we have the right set up for mixed generation parties and we do our best to provide resources for all to enjoy. I appreciate you taking the time to review us, as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

THis was our second visit to this stunning property with a large group of family and friends. The kids all loved the quirky bedrooms which are all very comfortable. THe ground floor is ideal for socializing and the games room meant that the adults and kids were all happy and each had there own individual space. The hot tub is a must and there is nothing better than relaxing in front of the huge roaring fire. We would recommend this property to anyone and are hoping to return in the near future. 5 stars!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: No phone signal
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
We are so pleased you liked it - thanks for taking the time to post the review. Most of our guests do give us five / five in our satisfaction surveys but not many go on Tripadviser to leave a review. Appreciate your help in doing so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelab...
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Attention to detail required”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This property is brilliant for big parties, a big open space. A hot tub which was well used and very much enjoyed. The sauna however set the smoke alarms off when the door was opened! There are many other issues which reqiure attention. The pictures on the web site could perhaps be updated as they seem different than what greets you as you walk in the door. The sofa's are uncomfortable and tired and very low. The cleanliness in the house was very poor, dusty and dirty. One of our party spilt a drink under the dining table. After wiping it up, the cloth was black. Both ovens had pools of grease in the bottom. When we pre-heated the oven on opening the door a cloud of acrid smoke hit me in the face causing my eyes to sting even with my glasses on. The pool is in a very poor state, my stepson and daughter found old plasters and hair floating in there and got out quickly and went to the hot tub. The jacuzzi bath near the largest bedroom had a scum ring around the top, it appeared not to have been cleaned at all. As a family we filled in rhe feebback form and perhaps the owner needs to revisit this. We gave 4/5 for the size and setting of the house and just 2/5 for cleanliness. As to the previous negative feedback being given because we tried to cancel is at best a stretch. The only reason to cancel was because we wanted to be nearer to Inverary and we appreciated your efforts in trying to re let the property. The house is in need of attention it's tired, and it needs a really good clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Than you for taking the time to review us, as did your fellow party members. Sincere apologies if we didn't hit the required standards on cleanliness on this occasion - very unusual for us as previous feedback attests. We set high standards and we usually hit them to the satisfaction of all concerned. Genuinely 90% of our guests give us 5/5 and part of the reason for that is that we get the housekeeping standards right. We will investigate further. It wont happen again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing