We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
120 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stef0487
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great weekend. The house is very spacious and had plenty of room for us all.

The house is very impressive in it's size and the layout. The downstairs is great for gatherings and the decor is lovely. Its very comfortable. The bedrooms were also great, although they are small it doesn't really matter as there is enough room to sleep and get dressed. Beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of pillows. The bedding etc was clean. The upstairs sitting area, games and utility rooms and the sauna are also good additions.

Would definitely book again for a group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you for such a positive review. Most guests really appreciate the space and the way we look after them. You looked after the property very nicely and we would love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimfwhite
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

On our recent visit to the Ormidale Estate we stayed at the Mill House. We paid £5400 for 2 nights, which we all understand is a premium time, but still expected a bit of quality . It was nothing short of student accommodation, which had been split into too many bedrooms that there was not even room for a small set of drawers in any of them. As there was no heating you would expect a small heater in the bedrooms, but I gave mine to my nephew who had a young baby and needed to keep his room at a minimum temp. Light bulbs not replaced, lack of any mirrors , so shared a shaving mirror to apply make-up. We made the best of our stay and had a laugh, but would never return to the Millhouse. Christine White

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Most of our guests give us 5/5. It is obviously very disappointing to get a review at this level. And I am very sorry we have disappointed these guests. We don't agree that we don't supply quality, and we don't accept the description of student accommodation. We are frank in the website about the bedrooms being small. This is the second review from the same New Year party, and we are taking it on board and on the chin. I don't think we should charge £5,400 for two nights at New Year again - although did include the Garden Cottage and it was therefore for a party of nearly 30, I think. My main response to this review is to quote verbatim from our latest review, giving us 5 stars, as most of our guests do, from guests staying the same month in the same property -

"This is our second year of visiting Ormidale, although last year we stayed in the big hoose. Slightly small party this year so we decided to give The Mill House a try and we were certainly pleased that we did so. The open plan kitchen/dinning/lounge was brilliant - it keep all the party in the same area, although there are still a couple of smaller lounges if you need to get away from the large group. Loved this open plan - especially if you were a cook!! Although the bedrooms were smaller than the big house they were still fine for us OH and did I say that the bedrooms were warm, in fact the whole house was very comfortable - underfloor heating in the downstairs area, which made the place very cozy. Hot tub ready for us when we arrive and I must say nothing can beat sitting in the hot tub at -2 degrees with a glass of wine, good company and the stars shinning. Loved it all so much we have already booked it for next year."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doreen H
Broxburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic venue in a great location and ideal for a family and friends short break”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is our second year of visiting Ormidale, although last year we stayed in the big hoose. Slightly small party this year so we decided to give The Mill House a try and we were certainly pleased that we did so. The open plan kitchen/dinning/lounge was brilliant - it keep all the party in the same area, although there are still a couple of smaller lounges if you need to get away from the large group. Loved this open plan - especially if you were a cook!!
Although the bedrooms were smaller than the big house they were still fine for us OH and did I say that the bedrooms were warm, in fact the whole house was very comfortable - underfloor heating in the downstairs area, which made the place very cozy.
Hot tub ready for us when we arrive and I must say nothing can beat sitting in the hot tub at -2 degrees with a glass of wine, good company and the stars shinning.
Loved it all so much we have already booked it for next year.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the stay and appreciated the house - we have almost a 100% satisfaction rate from guests but sadly some of those we don't satisfy are the most likely to post on Tripadviser so it is a relief when some of our happiest customers do so, also! Thanks for the kind words and see you later in the year...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fgdunn
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location But Poor Quality Overpriced Accommodation”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent two days over New Year with family at the Mill House and Garden Cottage. It is a stunning setting, with lovely surrounds and
opportunities for outdoor activities. In particular, we all enjoyed a long
walk on New Year's morning.
In general the kitchen facilities were satisfactory. The dining area was a good size, and the fireplace was a nice feature.

And now for the bad news. There was agreement from all of us that the cost (£110 per head per night self catering ) was excessive. The bedrooms(bunk rooms) were very cramped some sleeping up to 5 people. One of the children fell down the stairs from his bunk. There was effectively no storage space for clothes.The bathrooms were also disappointing. Several had non functioning locks, and were poorly lit. There was water lying permanently on the floor of one of the bathrooms. There was no soap at the baths or showers, variable hot water and a shortage of toilet rolls. In fact we had to purchase some ourselves! The windows in some of the bedrooms were mouldy. The hot tub was never hot, and appeared to leak. The couches in the lounge area were rapidly approaching the end of their lives!

The games room was unattractive, not easy to access, and poorly furnished! There were a number of refuse bags lying partially opened on the ground in the bin area and it came as no surprise when a large rat was seen running in this vicinity.

It is the view of our group that this facility, while having potential, is in need of extensive refurbishment and is considerably over priced.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
I am very sorry that you didn't feel you had a positive experience. Christmas and New Year premium pricing is a problematic issue we need to look at - at other times of the year the price per night can be under £20 per head. We charge a significant premium for these holiday dates and still get two enquiries per day throughout the year for Christmas and New Year at the prices we charge. But I agree that we can't really claim to offer the usual exceptional value for money at the premium rates. This is the first review to mention them as a problem, but we have ordered replacement sofas, already.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelarus...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Christmas stay!”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Beautiful and well presented house, grounds and location! Very clean with all amenities and home comforts. Staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to ensure a great stay. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2016
Thank you do much for the review. Glad you had such a great time.

Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
“21st Weekend”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful weekend at Ormindale House! The house was fantastic and in the most beautiful location. The ground floor is a huge space and can be used for a large dinner party and makes a very good dance floor! The bedrooms were all very clean ranging from nice double bed rooms to fun dorms. There were also bicycles, a jacuzzi, a swimming pool, tennis court and a games room so plenty of things to do at the house if some people were to hungover to go on walks to the plentiful lochs and rivers! Overall a top weekend, would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for the positive review, and for choosing Ormidale. Glad you had such a good weekend - see you another time, I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggiebak...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“A wonderful holiday in a comfortable house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We all loved our week's stay in The Mill House. We were warmly greeted by the support team who helped with all our enquiries. They were on hand at all times during our stay should we have needed anything. Although it rained a lot there was no shortage of things to do. The children really enjoyed being able to run freely outside, to go swimming and to have enough space to play inside too. We all appreciated the amount of room downstairs where we could all relax and enjoy each others' company with ample facilities to cook and eat if we were staying at the house for the day. However, we also went on several day-long trips visiting Mount Stuart, Inverary Castle and the surrounding countryside which is spectacular. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and we'd all love to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post a review. Glad you had a great time despite the awful weather! Thanks for choosing Ormidale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing