We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible Venue”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joshnandw...
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible Venue”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed in the Mill House for our friend Cameron's Hen party.

Firstly, the house itself is awesome. The kitchen was really well equipped for cooking for 25 people.

The rooms are all super comfy, complete with a robe each, which was a lovely touch.

Hot tub and sauna are great additions to the house!

Best til last, the gardens! Nothing better than a walk in nature at 6am, even if the weather wasn't up to it and neither were the rest of the party! Great place for exploring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves so much. Thanks for taking the time to review us so nicely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gideon L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible stay, incredible location, incredible experience!”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Ormidale was an enormous success! One of the best few short holidays i've had. The area is gobsmackingly beautiful and only outdone by the class of the people who manage it, and the incredibly comfortable and impressive accommodation. Who could expect such a first class house in such a remote and stunning location. Of all my times traveling around in Scotland, this left its mark as one of the best. Don't forget to visit the loch and climb the water stream path behind the estate!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thanks for coming. And thanks so much for the kind remarks. We really enjoyed having you and it was a pleasure to find the house so well looked after by you. Full return of good housekeeping deposit as usual!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed here for a friend's birthday, the house is nice, great having a private hot tub and the house was spacious. That is about all I have to say that is good about this property.

It took us 2 weeks after returning and for my friend to get in contact about our deposit before we were told there had been damage done to the pool area. To which we were then accused of being in the pool area on our first night (Wednesday). We were no where near the pool as in the handbook we knew it wasn't open once we had arrived and settled. So we spent our night in the hot tub/sauna and having a catch up with friends we hadn't seen in a while. on the Thursday morning a few members wandered along to see what allocated time we had in the pool, we weren't sure if others were staying on the estate so thought we best check first. We only stayed about half an hour of our allocated hour as the pool was freezing cold. The claimed damages were present in some photos we had of the area, which in our photos you can clearly see there is mould around this area - clearly hadn't happened over night.

We never once saw ANY member of staff anywhere on site. If the staff had heard any noise coming from the pool area why didn't they investigate this at the time and check straight away what had happened.

I've read another review on here from October 2016 where someone mentioned the pool area had mould etc, the owner replied that it 'was a victim of a bashy bunch of destructive guests'. (Sounding a bit familiar about the way we have been spoken about by the owner) Seems like it's needed an upgrade for a while.

I have seen the emails between my friend and the owner and I am disgusted at the way in which he has spoken to her and about the rest of the party, calling us liars and all sorts of awful names.

Very disappointing to what was, a nice getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
We take 180 bookings every year - and we take good housekeeping deposits from about 2,500 guests every year.

I hope people can work out that if we were in the habit of withholding deposits without justifications, there would be a lot of noise and a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor mentioning it. The vast majority of the groups who book with us behave very well, and they get 100% of their deposits back.

This is an entirely expected review from a party that did £2,000 worth of damage to our recently renovated swimming pool shower area - and then repeatedly denied having been in the swimming pool at the time the damage was done. They were a large party celebrating a 21st birthday party, and they were the only group staying on the estate! . They did extensive damage to the floor. We have photos of the damaged floor, taken the morning after.

Their response has been "If you don't have time-stamped photographs of us in the pool that night, then you cant prove we were there" and "if you don't have photographs of the floor tiles NOT damaged, time-stamped for the day that we arrived, then you cant prove it was us."

This has been an extremely unpleasant experience and time-consuming business. My staff members bedroom is next to the area of the swimming pool in question. The youngsters - the only guests on the estate - were jumping up and down and hammering on the wall that separates the pool shower area from the headboard of their bed.

There wasn't an ounce of doubt about who was in the pool and what they were doing.

We could clearly have refused to refund anything at all to the party, but I felt sorry for the few party members who we assumed probably weren't involved in the vandalism. In order to demonstrate goodwill and a sense of fairness, I actually offered to refund the whole deposit against damage of every individual who was not in the pool at the time, provided those who were in it admitted the damage they had done and apologised.

I thought that was an extremely generous offer. They decided not to even respond to it. We are now taking higher deposits from groups where we perceive a higher risk, in order to ensure that our property is respected. This will lose us some bookings, but that is fine. We are always full, and we just need to ensure that we have groups of guests who take responsibility for their behaviour, for our properties, and for each other.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian M
1 review
“Fab house in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here for my daughters hen weekend. We had a fab time. The house was lovely, with a nice spacious open living and dining area which was perfect for 22 guests.

Situated in a lovely setting not far from Tighnabruich which is also worth a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed the visit and had a fab time - even though you were right at our capacity of 22 guests!!! We really do appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thanks for coming to Ormidale and thanks for the lovely comments. Good luck with the wedding!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
1 review
“Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a great weekend with the girls for my friends Hen weekend. A lot of space in the living area and kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
This Spring was hen weekend season in the Mill House; I think we had five or six extremely well-behaved and responsible groups in between March and May. I am glad you enjoyed yours as well....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here for the weekend. Spacious livingroom and kitchen all open plan which is great for large parties.Also smaller games room off the livingroom and utility room with extra fridge freezer. Hot tub and extensive gardens were a bonus for warm summer evenings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thankyou so much for taking the time to publish a positive review. Not all of our satisfied customers do take the take the time, and we appreciate the fact that you have chosen to do so!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoë A
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house and the facilities were fantastic, absolutelt ideallic setting and the onsight staff couldn't have been more helpful! Although the bedrooms are small the beds are extremely comfy and the downstairs kitchen and living areas were perfect for our party of 22. Had a wonderful hen weekend, biggest downside were the midges, definitely bring bug repellent if you plan on coming in the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Thanks for coming. Sorry we couldn't expel the midges in time for your arrival. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing