We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large family gathering and celebration for one...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
120 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FlameLily...
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large family gathering and celebration for one week in the Easter holidays”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous setting, very comfortable beds that could be moved and adapted to suit the group, fabulously well equipped and spacious kitchen and larder area, a dining room table that could be extended to seat 26 people, the open fire, the hot tub in the snow, the sauna, the large TV, the brook running through the garden and the warmth and comfort of underfloor heating. Not to mention the glorious landscapes all around especially for walking, cycling and painting, the delightful and very hospitable Rob and Debbie who took care of our every need and the charming and immensely friendly local people. And there was much more besides. This week went above and beyond my expectations and was a holiday that we will be talking about for a long time to come.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and share your positive experience of Ormidale. We were desparately hoping you would write a public review because you said such nice stuff in our private feedback forms. We get a lot of 5/5 ratings from customers on those guest satisfaction surveys, but you were the first person who ever decided to give us 6/5. So, thank you!!! We look forward to seeing you again soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauraprin...
Millport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amy’s hen”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful big house with stunning scenery, very well equipped kitchen with plenty of space for all our party to sit round tables play games and just have a great time. The hot tub was brilliant even though it was so cold outside, beds were comfy, as it says on the site some of the rooms are small but they are only for sleeping in. Would love to come back in the future, the on-site staff were very friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thanks so much for the kind words about the staff and the facility. We always do our best and it is very nice to be appreciated. Freezing cold weather still, but open fire, the sauna, the swimming pool, and the hot tub make up for it!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hubbys 40th birthday weekend”
Reviewed 23 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the mill house at ormidale for my husbands 40th birthday in january it was a amazing time of year to book after all the festivities and new year antics!! A totally chilled out weekend (well one fab party on the sat the birthday bash)! The mill house was a wonderfull size and was well maintained inside and out. Great sized kitchen with all the equipment you need for a large amount of people, kids little sitting room downstairs was fab with lots or board games toys tv etc.. i would say tho the pool was small and a bitty cold but still nice for a wee swim once in! The games cottage was in a bad way, but im sure it is scheduled for a refurb soon, all in all it was a great weekend and we would all return again to stay at ormidale!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review us - and for choosing us for the party weekend. We mostly get complemented on the size of the pool as people expect it to be smaller but I guess 30 sq meters isn't all that big. A well-used facility all year round, nonetheless. Thanks for the booking, the business and the kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jules0505...
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hogmanay”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Ormidale was perfect for what we were looking for. We stayed in the Mill House and there were 16adults and 4 children for Hogmanay, ages between 2years old and 32!

The Mill House was beautiful and so warm, especially given that it was December and it's a large house to heat, we only had the fire on once.

Swimming pool is a bit on the cold side but didnt actually bother us as we used the private hot tub more.

The on site staff couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was a problem for them, very accommodating to any of our needs.

The "scruffy" games room is exactly what it says and the boys in our group loved it!! The girls had to drag them out of it!!!

The bedrooms are a bit on the small side but this is noted on their website so wasn't any surprise. We literally only slept in them, most of our time was spent out walking in the grounds, in the hot tub or sat around the fire or the large dining table. Kitchen is well equipt for large groups and there were more than enough pots, pans utensils.

I would definitely recommend Ormidale for any family/friends groups looking to get away. We will certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for giving us full marks. I am so glad you had a great time, and that you appreciated my great new management team's efforts. Rob and Debbie are a great addition to the estate. We talk about small bedrooms and a scruffy games cottage so that we can be sure we wont disappoint people. We look forward to seeing you again another time and hope you have a great year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_William1...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights and it was great, place was in mint condition and the housekeeping staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
I am glad you had such a good time. I hope you can come for longer next time. Thanks for taking the time to review us, and for commenting on my excellent staff team. Rob and Debbie are a great asset to Ormidale and guests have been universal in praising their efforts and the housekeeping standards since they took over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmurphy19...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review for mill house Ormidale”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Had a great few days at this fantastic property. The space and amenities were exactly what we needed. It is a stunning house but just needs a bit of housekeeping done in the downstairs toilet. Staff were very helpful and resolved any issues right away. Would recommend this retreat to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and for giving us 5 / 5. I am very sorry there were any issues at all on the housekeeping side - even if it was just one downstairs toilet that was affected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaM3...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for the hen party!”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend at The Mill House at Ormidale for my sisters hen party! There were 15 of us so plenty of bedroom space. The bedrooms are a little on the small side but we hardly spent any time in them so it was not an issue for our party.
The communal kitchen and living room area was the perfect size for all of us to sit around and eat, drink and play games.
The Hot Tub was a highlight for our party and we spent most of the weekend dipping in and out and wandering around in our robes.
On the Saturday evening we had a murder mystery party and used the recommended caterers - the starter and main were delicious, however the dessert was a little disappointing. The staff were great though and it was great to have someone else there to cook our dinner!
On site staff and management were great and very helpful - the estate manager even gave us a carton of milk when we ran out.
Although there was another party in the house right next door we never had any issues with sound - which is great when there were 2 huge groups on site!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2017
I am really glad that you had such a good time. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you another time. Sorry to hear you only got two good courses out of three - we generally hear very good things about the caterers!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing