We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The weekend was great! We had the best time ever there for a family 50th and we were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of the stay, the only reason I didn't mark everything as a '5' is because I feel quite frankly nothing is 5 out of 5 in life. We loved the house so much and we will definitely be back. The scenery was fantastic, and we had so much fun in the big sitting room but also the games cottage, swimming pool and hot tub. Overall everything was great at Ormidale despite a very few, very minor problems which the on-site staff did their best to resolve for us; again we have preached to others since getting home of how good it was, and we will definitely book again and be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thanks do much for making and taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojodewis
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Xmas magic”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had the most magical Xmas ever,the location the house and the owners were all amazing . My dog Walter was spoilt rotten and enjoyed his long walks and a cosy barn to come back to. There was loads to do with the kids the barn had loads of board games and there was an amazing separate games area as well as a pool. The adults loved relaxing in the hot tub after a long walk in beautiful countryside. We will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thanks so much for reviewing us so nicely. Walter was a joy and I am so pleased your party are coming back. We will never achieve perfection, but we will always keep trying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a lovely weekend away with a group of friends, house was lovely and very clean. Loads of things to do throughout the day so was never bored! Gavin and Adele were a great help and will definitely be booking the old barn again for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
THANKS SO MUCH FOR TAKING THE TIME TO REVIEW US. GLAD YOU HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaCunn...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Luxury!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here over New Year with a group of friends/family. Unfortunately we were disappointed with many aspects of the Old Barn - terrible showers, leaking bathroom sink, chipped and dirty dishes, kitchen equipment past its best, tiny dining room with only a bench and cushions to sit on - I could go on ...

We were particularly interested in using the games room as there were 5 teenagers in our group - however, none of them would go in it as the equipment was in a terrible condition and walls covered in mould - I would not call that "scruffy and characterful" - I would call it neglected!

On the plus side, the property was lovely and warm, and the beds were comfortable enough.

Think the photographs on the website were taken some time ago - feel that at one time it was probably lovely, but needs work.

I should add that we made a mistake with our departure date, and the owner, John, very kindly offered to let us stay another night - free or charge - a very generous gesture. However, in all honesty, we were glad to leave.

Very disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
We are very sorry that you were in any way disappointed. We had a problem with our hot water (since addressed) and you are quite right to point that out. We got a plumber out to sort the sink out and do his best to remedy the showers, during your stay. Most of our guests love the house and the family immediately before you (in at Christmas) have already rebooked for next year. There should never be any chipped plates in the cupboards - but sometimes guests chip them and sneak them back in and there isn't time to check that and ensure the last party's washing up was to standard, during every change over. We always have plenty of brandnew spare crockery, glassware, and kitchen equipment available. We do publish photos of the dining room - with bench seating that allows bigger parties to all eat together - on the website, and none of our other photography is out of date. I am sorry that describing the games cottage as scruffy didn't prepare you for it being as scruffy as it is - it is a well-used facility all year round with table tennis, darts and a pool table, but we don't pretend it is nicer than it is. Its like having the facilities in a garage or outbuilding, popular with teenagers and blokes, primarily. Sorry your teenagers didn't like it. We do have lots of indoor games, full SKY tv, and the heated hot tub and pool and sauna to amuse them as well. All in all, I am very disappointed that you were disappointed and sorry that you didn't take better memories away. I am very relieved that we don't get many parties with the same sort of view!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aledj2
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb ”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights just before Christmas and we had a great time. The old barn has a stunning living area and a lovely large kitchen which was perfect for our party.
We had a great time hanging out there and in the hot tub and sauna. The surrounding grounds and facilities kept everyone entertained and the views and scenery is incredible.
All rooms are very well finished and beds large and comfortable.
We would love to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to review. We look forward to your return. Best wishes for 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mroddiex
1 review
“Great weekend had by all!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Recently stayed here for a hen weekend and it was exactly what we were looking for - service was great and the quiet location was perfect for us! Couldnt thank John and Adele enough for all they did!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review us. And thank you for treating the house and the area so respectfully. Good luck with the wedding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjac88
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent large group venue”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at the Old Barn with a large group of guys on a stag. Very comfortable and would recommend to anybody looking to relax in the amazing surroundings of Argyll.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for looking after the house so well; thank you for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing