We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MairiP5
1 review
“A few disappointments...”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Upon arrival at the Old Barn, we noticed that the living area was not entirely clean. There was noticeable dog hair embedded in the carpet as well as several cobwebs around the ceiling. The general maintenance of the place itself was not great, with many signs of visible wear and tear. eg. chips in wall.

We were then informed our hot tub was not functioning. We were told an engineer would be over in the evening to try and fix it, however, nobody ever did turn up. Fortunately for our group, there was no party staying in the house next to us over this weekend, therefore, we were told we were allowed to make use of their hot tub. Despite it just being thirty seconds away, it involved walking over muddy grass and far more inconvenient than having a working one on our doorstep which we had anticipated upon booking.

Regarding other amenities, the sauna was good and fully functioning. I did not use the pool personally but during our stay there was issues with the shower area (broken from previous guests) which had not been fixed. Used tennis court and made use of rackets etc. however games room was damp.

A further point I would make is that the Old Barn is advertised as sleeping up to sixteen. Our party was originally to be sixteen adults (John was aware of this), however two unfortunately had to pull out last minute. Had they been there, they would have had to sleep on a sofa bed in the living room (open plan, right by the front door). Obviously this would not have been ideal so I believe this should be made more clear at the point of booking.

Regarding the bedrooms, beds were fine - large and comfortable enough. However, again, visible cobwebs in the room I stayed in. Running water in bathrooms appeared to be an off-yellowish colour so put off having a bath which was a shame as baths looked appealing. We were told that the tap water in the estate was not recommended for drinking so were supplied with plenty of bottled water for the duration of our stay. No issue with any of kitchen.

The setting estate and the surrounding area is stunning. I did enjoy my stay at Ormidale however had the general cleanliness/upkeep of the house been improved as well as communications regarding deposit (which was fully reimbursed, although delayed), I would have had more positive feedback. The biggest disappointment was probably not having use of our hot tub, however John agreed to reimburse ten percent of the overall price to make up for this.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for the feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We don't agree with everything that you have said, especially regarding housekeeping - but we try and learn from every guest experience. The deposit was returned eight days after your departure, rather than the usual seven days, so apologies for that. Thanks for choosing Ormidale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bren92201...
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I recently stayed the weekend in the old barn as part of a group of 14 and came across a few issues with the property.

We were told as soon as we arrived that our property’s hot tub was broken, but that we could use the vacant property’s next to us, causing us a slight inconvenience of having to cross 50 yards of muddy ground to get to it. We were also instructed by the owner not to touch the ‘temperature’ or ‘mode’ buttons for the odd reason it might confuse the engineers if the tub was to break down.

We were also informed upon arrival that the pool is only accessible at certain times of day (2 hours per property) which caused a bit of confusion and seemed pointless compared to just having it open to everyone all day.

We also found the bath tubs within the property unusable due to the yellow-ish water that comes out of the taps, whilst also facing numerous warnings not to drink the tap water. The owner did however provide us with surplus bottled water to make up for this.

The cleanliness and condition of the house came into question, with a number of cobwebs on the ceiling of the room I was staying in (Coll), whilst one of the walls in the living room (unsurprisingly not included in the photos of the property) was covered in chips and scratches, and the downstairs bathroom’s skirting board becoming detached and sticking out of the wall. In general, the house is ok to stay in for 2-3 days but of no standard where you’d live in it permanently.

The games room was also a let down, with a mediocre pool table and table tennis set up, both squeezed into a limited space, while the dart board came with one single dart to play with.

The owner did however recognise some of this and agreed to a reasonable refund.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
We describe ourselves as having a "scruffy old Games Cottage" so it is always a bit of a surprise when people complain about it being scruffy. Sometimes communication within groups in advance isn't the best - all issue like swimming pool hours are communicated to each party in advance and most of our guests are very pleased that their party receive 100 exclusivity for two hours per day in the pool. the vast majority of our reviews are 4 and 5 star and we are sorry we haven't satisfied this particular group.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaynerals...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Such a great weekend - would strongly recommend booking. The lodge itself is beautiful, spacious and extremely modern.The facilities are amazing and everyone is well catered for. There is plenty of activities to do near by with beautiful scenery. If you book you won't be left disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We cant take credit for the beautiful scenery but we will take the compliment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The weekend was great! We had the best time ever there for a family 50th and we were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of the stay, the only reason I didn't mark everything as a '5' is because I feel quite frankly nothing is 5 out of 5 in life. We loved the house so much and we will definitely be back. The scenery was fantastic, and we had so much fun in the big sitting room but also the games cottage, swimming pool and hot tub. Overall everything was great at Ormidale despite a very few, very minor problems which the on-site staff did their best to resolve for us; again we have preached to others since getting home of how good it was, and we will definitely book again and be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thanks do much for making and taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojodewis
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Xmas magic”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had the most magical Xmas ever,the location the house and the owners were all amazing . My dog Walter was spoilt rotten and enjoyed his long walks and a cosy barn to come back to. There was loads to do with the kids the barn had loads of board games and there was an amazing separate games area as well as a pool. The adults loved relaxing in the hot tub after a long walk in beautiful countryside. We will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thanks so much for reviewing us so nicely. Walter was a joy and I am so pleased your party are coming back. We will never achieve perfection, but we will always keep trying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a lovely weekend away with a group of friends, house was lovely and very clean. Loads of things to do throughout the day so was never bored! Gavin and Adele were a great help and will definitely be booking the old barn again for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
THANKS SO MUCH FOR TAKING THE TIME TO REVIEW US. GLAD YOU HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaCunn...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Luxury!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here over New Year with a group of friends/family. Unfortunately we were disappointed with many aspects of the Old Barn - terrible showers, leaking bathroom sink, chipped and dirty dishes, kitchen equipment past its best, tiny dining room with only a bench and cushions to sit on - I could go on ...

We were particularly interested in using the games room as there were 5 teenagers in our group - however, none of them would go in it as the equipment was in a terrible condition and walls covered in mould - I would not call that "scruffy and characterful" - I would call it neglected!

On the plus side, the property was lovely and warm, and the beds were comfortable enough.

Think the photographs on the website were taken some time ago - feel that at one time it was probably lovely, but needs work.

I should add that we made a mistake with our departure date, and the owner, John, very kindly offered to let us stay another night - free or charge - a very generous gesture. However, in all honesty, we were glad to leave.

Very disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
We are very sorry that you were in any way disappointed. We had a problem with our hot water (since addressed) and you are quite right to point that out. We got a plumber out to sort the sink out and do his best to remedy the showers, during your stay. Most of our guests love the house and the family immediately before you (in at Christmas) have already rebooked for next year. There should never be any chipped plates in the cupboards - but sometimes guests chip them and sneak them back in and there isn't time to check that and ensure the last party's washing up was to standard, during every change over. We always have plenty of brandnew spare crockery, glassware, and kitchen equipment available. We do publish photos of the dining room - with bench seating that allows bigger parties to all eat together - on the website, and none of our other photography is out of date. I am sorry that describing the games cottage as scruffy didn't prepare you for it being as scruffy as it is - it is a well-used facility all year round with table tennis, darts and a pool table, but we don't pretend it is nicer than it is. Its like having the facilities in a garage or outbuilding, popular with teenagers and blokes, primarily. Sorry your teenagers didn't like it. We do have lots of indoor games, full SKY tv, and the heated hot tub and pool and sauna to amuse them as well. All in all, I am very disappointed that you were disappointed and sorry that you didn't take better memories away. I am very relieved that we don't get many parties with the same sort of view!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing