We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Argyll Hidden Gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StuartRWi...
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Argyll Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Nestled in the Argyll hills, Ormidale is a hidden gem and the perfect place to get away from it all.

We stayed in the stunning Ormidale House and found it to be everything we wanted - and more. The house has everything you would need for a holiday and boasts large bedrooms, public areas and even a huge games room with a full size snooker table, darts board and lots of other games. Look out for all the amazing celebrity signed pictures and framed sports shirts - including one from Scotland's favourite son - Andy Murray. There are TV rooms with Sky TV on hand, a large dining room or lounges with real fires to cosy up beside on cold nights.

Ormidale is perfectly placed to explore Argyll but if you fancy staying put you will find a swimming pool, hot tub, tennis court, football pitch or just relax around the vast grounds.

The owners have spent a lot of time and effort making sure Ormidale offers the perfect experience.

We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for the positive review, and appreciation of the effort that the team put into making Ormidale the best place it can be. The majority of our satisfied guests don't take the time to post a positive review, so we are grateful when some do. Andy Murray came to stay a few weeks ago and we have a photo of him in front of his signed shirt!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e0ghainn
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a tonic for the January blues.”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is not our first stay at Ormidale and will hopefully not be our last. I've stayed here without the kids in tow and have had a whale of a time, this time with the kids, two little ones and a teenager, and we had a wonderful time. Such a child friendly place with plenty to keep them occupied no matter the weather. The house is a grand old home oozing with character, clean and tidy with sumptous beds, and a pleasure to explore and relax in. I can't think of a similar location in Scotland which offers you this opportunity to gather together with so many friends and family under one roof in such enjoyable surroundings. We will certainly be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
Was great to see your group back, and thank you for the kind comments as well as the continuing business. We will look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully with the delightful wee boys as part of the party!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rblu5
2 reviews
“Beautiful Location, Excellent Facilities”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had an excellent 3 days in this beautiful location. Stayed in the barn which was spacious and brilliantly equipped and attended a wedding in the main house. There was everything you need and things you didnt know you needed. We used the hot tubs despite the cold outside weather and the games room in the main house.

The wedding was beautiful held in the main room of the main house and had plenty of space for the 30 odd guests. The meal was held in the dining room. It is a perfect space and location for anyone considering getting married here.

I would recommend anyone to visit here for a holiday or an event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed the trip and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aledj2
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Winter wedding ”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We got married at ormidale house a week before Christmas. We had a party of 28 and rented three of the four houses in the estate.

In the build up to the wedding John, the owner, and Adele and Gavin, the estate managers were unbelievable. They were incredibly patient and helpful answering all of our questions, signing for parcels we had delivered to the house and recommending local caterers and services. The wedding was a great success with a lot of the success down to the help and hospitality of John and Co.

Ormidale House is a huge impressive house, many of the rooms are grand and spacious with large beds and great views. Even the smaller rooms are very spacious and really comfortable.

There is a range of decorations around the house, with signed sport and film memorabilia and painters. There are also vintage /antique typewriters and children's toys.

The billiards room was a huge hit, with many rounds of darts and snooker keeping people of all ages entertained.

We got married in the drawing room, with the large bay windows, fireplace and the piano it was a perfect backdrop. The rest of the stay it was also the main focal point with plenty of sofas and light, cozy atmosphere.

The dining room easily accommodates 24, and John kindly sourced some additional tables to cater for the extra people in our party so we easily sat 28.

The kitchen consists of an aga and a conventional oven when allowed us to cook for 20+ easily. There is a lot of counter space and storage space, with 3 fridges and an entire extra room for food storage. There was only one dishwasher but there was a second one which we could have used if we needed. There is plenty of cutlery plates and glasses including some lovely silver and crystalware. As with many areas of the house it was extremely well stocked with many pans, dishes, utensils and slow cookers etc.

There was also a TV room and breakfast room which were also popular for smaller groups to hang out in.

The hot tubs and saunas were also very popular, the hot tubs were perfect, with a lovely view into the gardens and the sauna easily sat 8.

We didn't really use the gardens directly outside the house due to the time of year but I can imagine these being perfect in warmer weather. We were lucky enough that it stayed dry and bright for our wedding photos and the views of the garden and surrounding hills formed a perfect backdrop.

The old barn had a different feel but was just as lovely. Upstairs there was 7 (I think) rooms,each smaller than Ormidale but big enough with very large beds.

The downstairs was amazing, with a lovely living room with stone wall and large sofas and a large kitchen which could easily feed 20! A little snug was full of games and the dining room had everyone around a large table.

Outside another hot tub which was also very popular and back inside a sauna for four. It was too cold to use the terrace but I can imagine the terrace hosting an excellent BBQ!

We also had the garden cottage, which has a lot of beds, but few rooms. The bedroom has a double and a single, and the corridor between the bedroom and the living room also has a single bed. The living room had a futon and little kitchen /dining area and another double bed behind a little screen in the corner. This cottage backed onto a river so had the amazing, sound of running water.

The estate also has a pool and games cottage which were well used but we didn't get a chance to use the bikes or have a full explore of the grounds. We had an hour or so walk up the hill to a lake/pond, which I believe supplies the water to the houses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
It was such a pleasure to host your special day and lovely family. Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review. Happy New Year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulaM557...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent location for large groups”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I have stayed twice at Ormidale house both for hen dos. The accommodation is absolutely brilliant for large groups. Recent stay was with 20 ladies the size of the house allowed some ladies to have their own room which was great for those that wanted some more privacy! Facilities are great, plenty of things to do whilst being in such a secluded area. Communication between us and the owner was excellent constant communication assured us all was fine with our booking. We hired a caterer for the Saturday night Sara from Nosh cartering we could not recommend her enough, amazing value for money and superb service on the night. For a fairly rowdy group of hens they treated us like VIP's adding that extra special experience for our bride to be. Would highly recommend Ormidale for a fun filled weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
Well, we didn't think you were rowdy - and you left the house perfect. we would give you 5 / 5 .

x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C
Thorold, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Masterson reunion”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Awesome place. Clean. Comfortable beds. Beautiful rooms. Plenty of supplies for everything needed. Couldn't want for anything!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Short review. Accurate. Succint phrases. Covers the bases. Clearly a busy man.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna Y
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic, met all our needs!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful time at ormidale estate. We were a large group of over 50. We were given the freedom to do our own thing and enjoy ourselves, which we loved! Estate managers and staff were fantastic. We loved our stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review us - you were a lovely party and welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing