We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, awesome house”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sammy V
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, awesome house”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The drive into Ormidale House takes in some breath taking country side. Once you're at the estate itself you find a real jewel in the crown of the Scottish countryside. Amazing facilities and beautiful grounds. Would suggest to anyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Thank you for bringing such a lovely group to our lovely house. I am glad you all enjoyed it so much. The area is indeed stunning, though we cant take all the credit for that ourselves!!!

I genuinely appreciate you taking the time to review us positively - not all our guests who are satisfied find the time to do so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Mill House, party aged between 10-90, a little something for all.”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fifteen of our family stayed at Ormidale House between 20-23 April this year. there are four properties within this estate to rent. We rented the Mill House which has been beautifully converted.. The Mill House sleeps far more than the 15 that we were, we had more than enough personal space for ourselves and some extra freedom too. The Mill House has been thoughtfully renovated with luxury in mind, the main room is lovely and has everything that a large party needs. The bedrooms ( i have seen that other people have said that they are a bit small), we loved their quirkiness, if you want hotel rooms...then stay at a hotel? this is a beautifully converted Mill House, simple as that.
Our family aged between 10-90 years old stayed and we all loved it here, it had a little something special and oldie worldly for all of us, there was of course the pool for the kids, beautiful small walks for the oldies, just enough time for a small sherry, but for the more adventurous of us we had a discovery of a climb/walk behind the Mill through aged forestry that was amazing, the kids were fascinated by the 4ft tall ants nests that we found and the natural beauty, freshness of the wild trees. The children aged 10-15 years made a bridge from stones and discarded bits of wood across the beautiful water fall that travelled pass the Mill....no X Box needed everyone....just a little imagination.
The house is positioned so very well for access to Loch Fyne and a few adventures to other beautiful places. we went for our father in laws 90th Birthday and we all had a lovely, relaxing time....For those that were lucky our favorites was the Owls at night...we loved to hear them in the quiet of the night.
lovey memories.
Holly Boyd

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
You wrote that so beautifully, and so personally - thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimmy2131
scotland
1 review
“Perfect wedding venue”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This secluded historic house was perfect for our wedding . The grounds are beautiful, the house itself just wonderful.Our guests were accommodated in the main house and loved their bedrooms which were large and very comfortable. Our family stayed in the mill house ,which is modern and open plan on the ground floor with cosy and comfortable bedrooms upstairs .
There was plenty of room for every one .
The owner was hugely helpful and a pleasure to deal with .Thank you John for answering all of our questions and being so obliging .Our caterers were Marc and David from Allonuscatering.They and their team were top class .Their food was fabulous and they could not have been more helpful.
All in all an unforgettable stay in a truly magical setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
That's so, so nice - relieved that you all had what you hoped for. We aren't perfect, never claimed to be, but we always do our best. I hope you and your guests will keep coming back to Ormidale - you will always be welcome. Thanks for reviewing us so nicely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisebra...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great holiday for the whole family!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful week at Ormidale last summer - 28 of us including three octogenarians. The house is magnificent - the dining room and music rooms are fabulous - the billiard room was in near constant use and the bedrooms were grand. There was no shortage of things to do with beautiful scenery, beaches nearby, a hot tub and an indoor pool - I hope we'll come back one day - many thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this. We hope you will come back, too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlevene20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A wonderful place to holiday with kids. There was so much to do on site! Games in the house, a jumping castle and a trampoline, walking through the woods - within the estate! - Plus soft play in the leisure centre in the town nearby (Dunoon?), and archery for the bigger kids. There was plenty to do, and I would have loved to explore the nearby beaches. Beautiful scenery too. Really enjoyed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
So glad you enjoyed the week - despite the variable weather. We love having people from far-flung bits of the UK and showing off our spectacular scenery to appreciative strangers. I hope we see you again soon. Cheers John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonschwab...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Half term break”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a wonderful time in this very comfortable & well equipped house. Plenty of space lots to do for adults & children of all ages! Luxurious beds, linens & plentiful towels. Somewhat erratic showers - but manageable!
Wonderful grounds & a scenic area.
Would love to come this way again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for coming and for bothering to post a positive review - we enjoyed having your group to stay and would love you to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abamberge...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely house, was really perfect for a week with extended family. Kids and adults had a fantastic half term spent in Ormidale. A few minor issues such as pool at cool temperature so only a joy for serious swimmers, but on the whole would certainly recommend. Beautiful and huge grounds - we hardly left the property all week as there was plenty on site to keep everyone busy and happy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed it. We usually keep the pool at 22 to 24 degrees which is good for active play and swimming but not "spa style" - the hot tubs are there for those who prefer to lounge in warm water. Sorry if that was cooler than you wanted. Thank you for choosing Ormidale and taking the time to place a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing