We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Wedding Venue”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
graham j
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Large spacious house In beautiful countryside but not as luxurious as website claims”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Ormidale house as part of a family group of 27 in August 2017. This is the eleventh year that we have been away as a family group and have generally stayed in large houses like Ormidale . Ormidale was one of the more expensive properties we have stayed in.
Positives
The surrounding countryside is truly stunning with beautiful lochs and hills
The house is large and spacious
The house is well equipped.
The gardens are also large and provide space for the children to run around
There is an onsite swimming pool and games room.
Negatives
Whilst the website claims it is a "stunning , luxurious house" I'm afraid it isn't and in fact in the predeparture information supplied by the owner he admits it is "work in progress" . Some of the bathrooms are in serious need of updating and some of the decoration ( the front entrance hall for example) needs urgent attention.
At the time of the visit we were unable to drink the water from the taps as it had been deemed unsafe ( a large supply of bottled water was provided free ) - this is not really something you would expect when staying in a luxurious property.
The tennis court is in a very poor state of repair and the games room is also very poorly maintained . The swimming pool is also looking very tired and in need of updating.
The nearest village with a small supermarket is a seven mile drive away ( as is the nearest pub) and the nearest town with a reasonable sized supermarket is 15 miles away along single track roads with passing places so it is in a very remote location.
We paid extra to have a hot tub which the children enjoyed using but unfortunately two of them developed hot tub folliculitis which is caused by a bacteria in the hot tub. We did raise this with the onsite managers but they didn't seem overly concerned.
Despite all of the above we had a good time at Ormidale and I am sure others will although if you are expecting a "luxurious" house and facilities it might not quite come up to expectations and compared to other houses we have stayed in it wasn't as good value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Well this is certainly a very disappointing review to receive. I am glad you had a good time but I am very sorry that you found so much to criticise. We don't claim to be perfect, and indeed we have always described the house as a "work in progress" and been frank about it. We talk about our scruffy old games cottage and scabby tennis court, but people enjoy playing in both. We have recently repaired the swimming pool. Most guests love the house as they find it.

We have been told that "hot tub folliculitis" is NOT to do with bacteria, but is a condition to which some children are prone. The issue with our drinking water is frustrating; in fact Ormidale passed its most recent test, but because neighbouring properties failed theirs and share the supply, we decided to offer free bottled water to all parties. We do take health and safety seriously. I am sorry if the estate managers - since departed - didn't seem to.

On value for money, at any time of the year, we charge less per night per person than the caravan park down the road does for a static caravan. There are cheaper big houses in Scotland but not many equipped with a billiard room, swimming pool, separate games cottage, football pitch, tennis court, and hot tub, free bikes and golf clubs. We are full all year, and the vast majority of our parties rate us as worth 5 out 5 for value for money. Obviously I am sorry that your party didn't. Thank you anyway for coming, and for taking the time to post the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi F
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful wedding here. The rooms are so spacious and the house had everything that we could have wanted for a relaxing weekend with close friends and family. The kids loved the hot tub!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
I am so pleased you chose us. And thank you very much for taking the time to review us !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahfba...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very lovely house with great facilities.”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed there for a wedding and it was perfect for our needs. Most of the rooms were filled and the house had oodles of space for us all. Great games room to keep the kids (big and small) entertained.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was lovely hosting the wedding, and we hope you will come back and see us another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie L
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What an incredible place set in a stunning location. We got married here. It couldn't have been better. The house is full of character and has everything you could possibly need. Highly highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for choosing us for your special occasion. It was a pleasure to deal with your party and we would have you back like a shot - not something we have been able to say to every single wedding party we have ever hosted !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndrain
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Massive Party House”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic public rooms and loads of space means large parties can spread out. We sat 22 at the dining table with ease. Do mot expect a spa experience although there are hot tubs a sauna and small swimming pool. Bedrooms are spacious but basic. Surroundings are stunning and it's a fairly easy place to get to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thanks for taking the time to publish a review. I am sure people will find it helpful - especially if they were expecting a better spa experience than we can provide with just the small swimming pool, hot tub and sauna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueronhow...
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect House for Reunion!”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed in Ormidale House for 2 nights as part of a large group for our 25 year reunion. The house was perfect for such a get together. Our bedroom was light & airy with open aspects and a huge, comfortable bed. Large kitchen for some communal cooking and plenty of other rooms for socialising including a large, light and comfy lounge, TV room & huge games room. The dining room was perfect with a huge dining table and seating for us all to enjoy our dinner together. Hot tubs, sauna & pool all an added bonus. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of areas to sit outside. The 2 estate managers were​ welcoming and friendly, and were on hand throughout our stay. We cannot fault this place and hope to return for our 30th.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for choosing Ormidale for your big weekend - and also for taking the time to publish such a lovely review which helps other people evaluate us and rewards my staff for their great work. We look forward to seeing you in 5 years if not before!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“An impressive estate just perfect for those big celebrations.”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were a large group of friends so the main house was ideal. What's great about it is there are some huge rooms for socialising and super views out of the gardens (along with a large terrace to sit out on which we loved on the first evening in warm temps). Plenty to explore in the grounds and nearby if you can drag yourself away from the pool, hot tub, sauna or games room (a proper games room!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed the week and appreciated the facilities. We do try to have something for everyone... thank you for taking the time to post a positive review; it is helpful for other potential guests and really good for our staff team to get positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing