We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Home Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendaruel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Home Farm Cottages
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in the Stables cottage. This was undoubtedly the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. Classified as 4 star, should be 5. Attention to detail is superb. The furnishings are of high quality and your comfort is assured with two comfy leather sofas, an armchair, log burner (all fuel included), and all mod cons in the kitchen. They even provide washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets so no need to take these. High end 'products' are supplied in the bathroom and the main bedroom is large and comfortable. Location is great as long as you like walking and incredible scenery. Good walks from the door. There is no mobile phone signal (which we loved!) but wifi is available in the games room. We had a lovely relaxing week.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank beachstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Stables cottage and thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Where to begin..........
The Coach House at Glendaruel is beyond stunning and such a tranquil relaxing get away, that we cannot wait to go back.

The quality of the refurbishments is exceptional and it is lovely to see such a perfect mix of modern convenience and design in a development whilst being respectful of its origins.
The condition the estates are kept in is a credit to the staff and the level of cleanliness was also above exceptional, so much so we questioned if we were the first people to ever stay!

I would have no hesitation in recommending your beautiful lodges, the added bonus is that we can bring along our little four legged member of the family and he had an absolute ball.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeyv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad that you, your family and your four legged friend enjoyed your stay in The Coach House and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This is our first visit to Home Farm Cottages. We were so impressed with the standard of the accommodation, facilities and walks. All walks are well maintained and of varying levels. Walked to the top of the mountain where the views were amazing reaching past Bute and on to the
Mull of Kintyre. The waterfalls across the road are beautiful. The games room in the "Cow Shed" has fantastic facilities; full size snooker table, table tennis and a darts board. There is a caretaker on site to make sure that all properties are kept to the standard expected. Loads to see and do around; Otter Ferry (not a ferry!), Portavadie, Tarbet, Byte, and our favourite beach at Kilbride Bay. I would highly recommend Home Farm Cottages for small or large parties of people wanting to enjoy the peace and quiet, as well as a great base to expeience the beauty of Argyll.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Beefy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in The Dairy last October and had a brilliant time. What a beautiful setting, very well kept accommodation. Plenty to see in the surrounding area, went to Loch Fyne Oyster Bar and Restaurant and had a lovely meal, great walks on the doorstep. I can't wait to go back, we were very lucky with the weather and took some fantastic photos.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed in Highland Cottage on a weekend break with a group of friends. The facilities within the cottage were of the highest standard and we all had a very enjoyable and comfortable break.
The games room which has a free wi-fi connection was a real bonus in the evenings. It has a full size snooker table along with table tennis and darts facilities. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent an idyllic week in Glendaruel Lodge. The accommodation was wonderful and deserving of its 5 stars. The Lodge was immaculate and very cosy. The rooms were very spacious and light. We have stayed in many holiday cottages and this is the best we have experienced. Everything was provided including kitchen roll, toilet roll, shampoo and shower gel, washing powder and dishwasher tablets - you really only needed to take your food. It is about half an hour to the nearest supermarket in Dunoon, so take plenty of supplies with you (it's a lovely run though). There are country walks from the front door and a great woodburning stove to come home to. It was such a delight to stay here that we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our 2nd visit to Glendaruel with Home Farm Cottages, staying in the Lodge. It is definitely 6* accommodation and Alan & Linda the caretakers are amazing. We had a brilliant time, visited the beach in Tighnabruaich which was wonderful and the wonderful walks in Glendaruel itself & come home to a log fire and wee dram. Great to get fresh eggs every morning from the little farm house a 100 yards down the road. Wonderful.
The Tullochs & The Youngs

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tullychinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Home Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Farm Cottages

Address: Glendaruel, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Glendaruel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glendaruel
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Home Farm Cottages Glendaruel, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing