We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great few days away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendaruel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Home Farm Cottages
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great few days away from it all”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were given a weekend break here as a Christmas present..what a fabulous gift. We stayed in the Dairy and the cottage was perfect. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The surrounding area is truly beautiful with some gorgeous scenery. It gave us an opportunity to visit a part of Scotland we haven't been before. Mount Stuart on the Isle of Bute and Pucks Glen, just outside Dunoon, well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are glad you had a good time at our cottages and exploring the surrounding area. We hope you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have been stopping at Home Farm Cottages for several years now. We like to stay in either the Lodge or Coach House because there is so much room - you will not want to stop anywhere else. Linda and Neil are always on hand in case you need anything. Even had a surprise phone call from David the owner to see how we were getting on.
12/10!

Room Tip: Lodge or Coach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1110juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thankyou for returning to Home Farm cottages and we are glad that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Set in a tranquil valley and away from it all, Home Farm Cottages are 5 star accommodation. Immaculate and furnished to a high, but comfortable standard. On siteHome comforts such as sky and a DVD player are a bonus.
The area is remote but places are easily accessible, and views in the local area are unbelievable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thankyou for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We've been to these cottages twice and the problem we now have is that if we try and find anywhere else that compares to the quality of any of these cottages, we will always be disappointed.

The level of service, price, location and quality of any of the accommodation within the complex is unbeatable. Trust me I have tried and failed to find anything that compares to the service that Home Farm offers.

The only negative that I can find is that you will be lucky to get any availability, they go fast. Understandably!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thankyou very much for your review. We are happy that we continue to meet your expectations and we hope that we can welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What an experience!

We stayed in Cottage with a perfect garden and lovely conservatory. The accommodation itself was the highest standard you can only think of. From the furniture to the cutlery there was a high end stuff with the labels that could be found only at George St in Edinburgh. Everything tastefully decorated. I need to admit that the Cottage, despite the modern conversion, still had a lot of traditional details making this place very charming. We loved the conservatory with breath taking views onto the mountains. You were going sleep everyday with nice sound of the waterfall just across the road. The real fire place with unlimited wood was an fantastic addition to the cosy living area. Watching the Game of Thrones with the noise of burning wood, dull light and the warm from fireplace was amazing. You could easily say it is Game of Thrones themed cottage. Outside there is fully enclosed garden with access either from kitchen or the main doors. There is lots of space inside, we had a toddler with us and all his "equipment" was easily stored in the wardrobe. Place is vary warm with heated floor in bathroom. All together we think that the Cottage is the best accommodation in Home Farm Cottage complex. The local area is beautiful. The Home Farm has a great history dated back to 16th century. There is nice walk up the waterfall, it is well maintained with steps and rails. You could also walk along the road to see the stone gate, watermill and abandoned wall garden.

We had a really enjoyable stay in Home Farm Cottgaes, after couple hours you fell there like at home. The care takers Linda and Neil were very helpful. If you need internet it is available in games room, but trust me you hardly find time to go there, as the Cowal Penisula is very interesting part of West Coast.

Thank you very much Home Farm Cottages for a great family holidays!

Room Tip: Chose the Cottage as the enclosed garden and conservatory are very practical. This is the only one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thankyou for your review and we are glad we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The internet photos for these cottages barely do them justice! The location is relatively isolated, but very beautiful, the fixtures and fittings in the cottages are amazing - nothing has been forgotten! We stayed in Marjorie's cottage (4 star, sleeps 2), but also looked around the Coach House (5 star, sleeps 4) which certainly deserves its 5 star rating and has a real wow factor! The location is ideal for exploring Argyll and Bute, we visited Inverary, Dunoon, Rothesay. Had some great walks straight from the cottage, and had a surprise free tour of Dunans Castle which is just up the road. The on-site caretakers are most helpful and keep the whole site immaculate. We could not have had a better week's holiday and this cottage is undoubtedly the best SC cottage we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thankyou for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Glendaruel is certainly a beautiful part of the country and we are happy that you found our cottages a great base for exploring. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in the Stables cottage. This was undoubtedly the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. Classified as 4 star, should be 5. Attention to detail is superb. The furnishings are of high quality and your comfort is assured with two comfy leather sofas, an armchair, log burner (all fuel included), and all mod cons in the kitchen. They even provide washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets so no need to take these. High end 'products' are supplied in the bathroom and the main bedroom is large and comfortable. Location is great as long as you like walking and incredible scenery. Good walks from the door. There is no mobile phone signal (which we loved!) but wifi is available in the games room. We had a lovely relaxing week.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank beachstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Stables cottage and thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendaruel
0.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portavadie
Portavadie
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendaruel Caravan Park
Glendaruel Caravan Park
#2 of 3 in Glendaruel
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Farm Cottages

Property: Home Farm Cottages
Address: Glendaruel, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Glendaruel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glendaruel
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Home Farm Cottages Glendaruel, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing