We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy place.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Cigaloun Hotel

Lou Cigaloun Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Antonin-du-Var
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lou Cigaloun Hotel
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
372 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Lousy place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Staying in Lorgues, a town in Provence, we found this hotel and restaurant nearby on the internet. As the website was very beautiful, giving the impression that this was allmost a gourmet-restaurant, we decided to go there for lunch on a Saturday. On the website it was adverticed, that they were open Saturdays.They adverticed their menu and plat de jour. It looked very nice.
We went there on bikes, through a fairytale of a landscape. A trip of 8 kilometers. The place is situated in a small village, Saint-Antonin-du-Var, and was easily found. A sign outside told us that the restaurant was open, and the menu was written all over. Very delicious. Our expectations grew rather high.
As there was nobody in the restaurant, we stepped into the bar, greeting the waitress. She didn't even look at us. Having been ignored for some time, we expressed, that we wanted to have something to eat. This was not possible, she said. We pointed out, that there was a sign outside, telling that the restaurant was open. But, no, we couldn't get anything to eat. The chef was busy elsewhere, we were told.
We could, however, get something to drink. While we were enjoying our drinks, we saw that 10 people at the terrasse, just in front of the bar, were served with sandwiches. Even the guy sitting right next to us, was able to buy a sandwich.
I have never, ever experienced such a lack of hospitality and service. It is hard to believe. Especially when you have their website in mind.
Furthermore the bar was very dirty. Who knows. Maybe it was a great luck, that we did not get anything to eat here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have a house nearby that we visit regularly and in the last year or so, since they changed owners, have been to "the Cigaloun" many times. First advice, disregard any comment before the summer of 2011 when the new owners took over, it has nothing to do with the old place.

This is a very, very pleasant restaurant and bar, the food is fresh, lovingly home made, seasonal and made as much as possible with local ingredients, unpretentious and very nice. We have been there by ourselves, with friends, with children and everybody have been pleased. The owners are friendly, flexible and acomodating, speak excellent English and will make you feel welcome.

If you are around and want to go to a proper, non touristy French village with an excellent local restaurant this is a place worth going.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank London-E-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Antonin-du-Var, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel offers a good quality restaurant with a family-run feel. There is a nicely decorated interior and a simple terrace to choose from - given the warm summer temperatures we chose the terrace (like everyone else). The service was friendly (the waiter speaks excellent English if you need help) and the 'challenge' of two vegetarians was well met by a very co-operative attitude. I was particularly impressed (and relieved) when one of our group's request for 'a nice bottle of wine' resulted in the arrival of a good local wine and at a reasonable price (in some restaurants, simply asking for a 'a nice bottle of wine' can be considered rather brave and might leave one's wallet in a state of shock). The dishes were well presented and greatly enjoyed (you know everyone is happy when they start offering you tastes of their dishes). This restaurant had been shut down for some time a couple of years ago and the current establishment has only the building in common with the previous incarnation - so you can safely ignore older reviews. This is a restaurant worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCPauloD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have been to this place about 5 times since the new owners took over. And everything has changed for the better. The new owners are a young couple. They speak perfect english (and french of course) and the wife is an excellent cook. The food is french style, and the wine is local.
If you want try a place with food made with great passion, its really worth a visit.

The new owners has done a fantastic job. Go there, instead off the more touristic places.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Provence cycling holiday. The dinners were good, breakfast is sparse and we had to track down owner in bar chatting to his pals both mornings to get it! No fans or air con and heat stifling, you can't open patio doors as mozzies are rife from pool in park behind hotel where local youth congregate and make noise also. A booked a twin room which consisted of a double bed and a tiny childs bed up against a wall. Not ideal for an adult trying to sleep comforably in it.Our waitress and her pals took over the small hotel pool divebombing it from road level above of 5M appox. height so you can imagine the noise/ splashes that creates. We thought she or owner would cop on and appreciate its inappropriate for that sort of behaviour whilst hotel guests are present and wishing to use pool after long days cycle but no!! There are no pool loungers only cheap half-broken garden chairs round pool so guess it would not have been that relaxing without the divebombing, wet books etc. Male owners attitude was very indifferent to point of rude even though we made effort to always speak French best we could. We even tried to soften him by offering to walk the lovely hotel dog to no avail. Tip- keys are kept beside open front desk right beside front door which is rarely manned don't hand your room keys in. They also wanted to store our bags pre-collection by this desk in full view of passers by- this is a sleepy village but don't think your insurance would accept that as a defence should their be an opportunistic thief on the go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wee_Minx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Antonin-du-Var
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Esparrus
3.9 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Petite Auberge
Hotel La Petite Auberge
#2 of 4 in Tourtour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Domaine du Lac
Hotel Domaine du Lac
#1 of 1 in Flassans-sur-Issole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lou Cigaloun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lou Cigaloun Hotel

Property: Lou Cigaloun Hotel
Address: 93 Chemin de la Caravane, 83510 Saint-Antonin-du-Var, France
Region: France > Provence > Var > Saint-Antonin-du-Var
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Antonin-du-Var
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Lou Cigaloun is a charming hotel well located in Provence Verte. You will be welcome by Marine, Françoise, Alain and Damien who will take good care of you.You will find a swimming pool, a tennis court and a big PARC with activities for children.Appreciate spacious rooms with terrace, TV and air conditioning. Enjoy a traditional and local food in the restaurant with products from the Var and Wine from the village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing