We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Peace, tranquillity, scenery and wildlife - lots...”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife! Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife!
Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Rear Gardens
Relax in the beautiful gardens
Rear Gardens
COZY UP BY THE LOGBURNER or watch the birds through the windows on the feeders
Open Plan Living area
Kitchen/dining area
DoubleBedroom
Twin room  Bright comfy & cozy
One of our gorgeous Kits in the Sawmill
Double Room Red Stag WITH MEMORY MATTRESS
Hallway with map and info
Utility with Large washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, freezer
Kitty at the table
White tailed Eagle see by our guests
Mummy enjoying her scones
Garden Bridge
Slow Worm basking in the garden sunshine
Stags to FRONT of cottage rutting and roaring in the Autumn
Daily visits from our Pine Martens
Views down Loch Sunart to Mull from Glenborrodale Bay
The bay  great for fishing, watching Otters and Birds. Deer seen swimming in the Loch too !!
Glenborrodale Bay , cottge on right side
Our Pine MartenMummy  in the garden
Ardnamurchan Sunset
Aerial view of Glenborrodale Sawmill in centre
Local Stag adjacent to cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glenbeg, Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sueant08
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Peace, tranquillity, scenery and wildlife - lots of wildlife"”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Put the kettle on and make yourself comfortable - this may take a while. Being keen photographers, we wanted peace, tranquillity, scenery and wildlife - lots of wildlife. The Old Sawmill info suggested a chance to see the regular pine marten visitors and this was the main reason for choosing this cottage. What we got was all of the above and the most perfect place to call our home for a week.
The cottage is beautiful, inside and out. I fell in love instantly. It is fully equipped with everything you could need and things you didn't even know you needed until you came across them. The log burning stove and the most comfy bed ever are among the highlights. On our arrival there was a wonderful welcome basket of goodies, a christmas tree and a roaring fire - just what we needed after battling through Storm Barbara for 430 miles. Jane and her family are lovely and so helpful. Their passion and enthusiasm for the area and the wildlife is infectious. There are binoculars, books and bird feeders dotted all over the place. Joe pointed out which direction the pine marten comes from and what it's likely to eat. Sure enough, we had nightly visitations and fantastic photo opportunities from the most beautiful pine marten eating the jam and peanut butter we'd put out. We also may have seen the elusive Scottish Wildcat - twice!! Once, in the garden, stealing a sausage we'd put out for the Pine Marten and another time it was crossing the road in front of us whilst we were driving over to Salen. Owing to the lack of domestic cats in this area we are claiming our sightings as real but obviously we can't be sure. We also managed to tick a total of seven golden eagles, one white tailed sea eagle, one otter and tons of deer off of our wildlife watching list. Now onto the scenery. We've toured most of Scotland in our motorhome and thought we'd seen it all but this area is truly magical. I was mesmerised every time we left the cottage to go exploring. From white beaches and turquoise sea to bronzed hills meeting rocky shores, Ardnamurchan has it all. The lighthouse was breathtaking in the storm and paddling in the sea on Christmas day (obviously in my wellies) in Sanna bay was a real delight. Another highlight for me was standing in the cottage garden, in the pitch dark, looking up at the stars or across the bay and appreciating the fact that there's no light or noise pollution. It's like you're in a different world - a world you never want to leave. Unfortunately, work beckoned and we had to return to reality but we really hope to repeat our perfect Christmas in the Old Sawmill someday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
We really are so pleased that you had such an amazing time and enjoyed Ardnamurchan and The Old Sawmill, it is so truly aweinspiring and so special.Nothing is to much trouble for our guests so we are genuinely so happy that you had such a wonderful time here .
We would love to welcome you back and look forward to seeing your photos of the Pine Marten and Wildcat xxxxxx
Thanks again for the super review, Janex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in fantastic location for Ardnamurchan & all its wildlife”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed at The Old Sawmill with my boyfriend and a few friends in November 2016. I had been to Ardnamurchan before but they hadn't so I wanted to pick the best possible cottage to stay in not too far from the cake shop in Acharacle (sadly closed in November!)! The Old Sawmill looked fantastic in picures and we were not disappointed. We brought a camera trap with us in case we didn't see the pine marten in person but we need not have worried as we saw one every single night (twice one night or possibly 2 martens?). We saw red deer and fallow deer (hinds, stags and juveniles) almost every day from the cottage and a plethora of garden birds. During the holiday in general we also saw golden eagles several times and otters several times, including a whole family (female, 2 cubs and a male). One of the otter sightings was in the bay right opposite the cottage.

The cottage itself is very cosy with very warm duvets so staying in November was no problem at all. In fact you could almost sunbathe in the garden on some days! The log fire is a real treat and part of the reason we chose this cottage. The facilities/items provided are well beyond any holiday cottage any of us has stayed in and the welcome we got from the owner and her son was beyond compare.

In summary I cannot recommend this cottage enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & welcome
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
Thanks guys for taking time to review our cottage :) we are so glad that our cottage was everything you wished for and that you saw all the wildlife that lives at the Sawmill !! The otters have been quite bold lately as we have seen them several times and also a pair of Sea Eagles over the bay.WE look forward to seeing you all again for more live wildlife encounters !!! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L
Lauder
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A super well equipped and comfortable cottage in a stunning location. A warm welcome from the owners and a lovely hamper started our holiday on a positive note. The cottage has everything you could need, the gardens are beautiful and a truly peaceful location. Not one thing to complain about and we hope to return again next year,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super comfy beds
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for taking time to review our cosy cottage, we are so glad that you both enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming all of you next year xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennieB19...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely stunning location. Wonderful heartfelt welcome. Cottage and gardens beautiful and peaceful. A great base to explore the whole Ardnamurchan peninsula and further .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thanks for your lovely review , so glad you had such an enjoyable stay ! Looking forward to welcoming you both again xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissyinth...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is beautiful it is ideal for relaxing and enjoying the wildlife that is right on the doorstep. Or for exploring this stunning peninsula.

If you choose to stay at the cottage there is plenty to see from; pine marten, frogs and bats at night to bees busy during the day enjoying the beautiful gardens, the many different birds, the elusive otter down at the bay or watching for deer camouflaged in the land immediately outside the garden. Also we think the 'pine marten' is actually a pine marten family, as we were lucky enough to spot them every night eating the bread and jam we left out on the bird table and there was definitely a baby in the group.

Even if you don't spot the wild life, 10 minutes sitting at the bay eases all your troubles away.

Should you wish to leave the cottage, it's centrally located, perfectly to explore the peninsula in all directions, weather you turn left or right out of the cottage you wont be disappointed!

Inside the cottage is clean, and cosy and much bigger than the pictures suggest. Although it feels big, with lots of natural light and picturesque views,it still feels cosy. It is so well equipped you literally need to pack, clothes and food and that's it. Throughout the cottage has been carefully stocked with all you need, there is loads of storage for all your things, there is lots of information about the area provided by the owners, there is lots of wild life books and informative pictures in most rooms to help you identify what you see.The beds are comfy, the decor is lovely and very fitting. There is loads of activities for both you and the kids, books, games and much more that's if you can get them in from outside to explore (good for any rainy days). We went with 3 kids and they all thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Finally, the owners are genuine and lovely people. We were given a warm welcome from Joe and later by Jane to ensure we were happy when we arrived. And not forgetting the yummy welcome treats which were greatly appreciated by all!

We have already booked again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Well ! Thank you Kathy for your very kind words and we are really pleased that you all had a great holiday. Yes the Pine Martens are now a family and have been very busy showing off their new addition :) We have set up cameras to discreetly record their progress. The otters have also been putting in an appearance in the burn too this week !
We all look forward to seeing you all next year in August and if there is anything at all we can do for you please do not hesitate to let us know - Thank youxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPL5751
Stockport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing find!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

An excellent property in a superb location.
The cottage is everything you could wish for. Spacious, spotless and well equipped to a high standard. The garden(s) are beautifully kept and very pretty, with plenty of places to sit and admire the views. A very warm welcome was extend to my family and a generous welcome basket added to our delight as we settled in after our long journey.
There is plenty to do in and around the area, from bird,deer and pine marten watching in the garden to walking on the beautiful beaches, taking a trip on the West Highland railway, climbing up the lighthouse and visiting the local distillery .... and so much more.
This cottage is an absolute gem and the owners are so friendly too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
It is always a genuine pleasure to greet our guests and ensure they have the best possible stay with everything they need. The evening Pine Marten visits have been well received by everyone and hopefully they will continue to entertain our visitors for many years !!
It was lovely to meet you all and thank you for your kind words and hope to see you all again soon xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calalex
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break in Glenborrodale”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cottage was fabulous! We travelled with our two wee boys who are nearly 6 and 2, and we were made most welcome from the moment we arrived. The cottage really does sit in an amazing setting, and is beautiful on any day but the day we arrived was sunny and it just looked idyllic. Jane had left a welcome basket with some home baking and a much needed pint of milk in the fridge - this was very much appreciated and was full of goodies for the boys and some lovely coffee (which we put in the thermos from one of the well stocked cupboards and took with us every day!). We were truly amazed with how well equipped the cottage was, definitely the best equipped SC cottage we've stayed in.
As there were only four of us we occupied only two of the bedrooms, but all 3 bedrooms were made up and decorated beautifully, with lovely curtains to block out the light in the early morning. (This may not bother many people but our boys are early birds so heavy curtains are a must especially as it stayed light most nights until the back of 10). They slept beautifully so all round we can say the beds are super comfy!
The highlight from the cottage window is literally spending ages staring out the window, fighting over the binoculars (provided!) to see the birds! We did see the Pine Marten on a few nights and were entertained as he swiftly ran about.
In terms of location, if you want to truly get away from it all and want some peace and quiet, this is the place. There are plenty of things to see and do if you want to get out and about and we found that actually we could have stayed longer. If we had older kids there are so many outdoor activities particularly back towards FW but even nearby there seemed to be some easier cycle routes that would have been great, or shorter walks. Overall it made a fabulous change from Bristol, coming across a roundabout with traffic lights on the way back into Glasgow kind of surpised me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time here, we have tried to make sure that there is everything you could need for your stay here and yes, everyone had said how super comfy the beds are and how well equipped the cottage is.
Thank you so much for taking time to do such a lovely review and its was really lovely to meet you and the boys , we look forward to seeing you again - maybe at our new cottage on the beach ?? keep in touch xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing